We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete failure.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 446 hotels in New York City
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Complete failure.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I selected this hotel from many in this area based on previous reviews. When I confirmed my reservation in advance, there was a choice of a guest room with no windows for a lower rate or a standard queen for a higher rate. I chose the standard queen at the higher rate and received a confirmation for my reservation. When I checked in yesterday, I was given a guest room with no windows. I went down to the front desk with my confirmation to correct their error. I spoke with Flavia and showed her my confirmation for a standard queen. She insisted that I was confirmed for a room with no windows even though that was not what the confirmation indicted. She offered to upgrade me for an additional charge. I stated that I had already paid a higher rate to have a room with a window. I asked to speak with the Manager on Duty and was told that there was no Manager on Duty. She eventually did call someone and spoke to them in a foreign language. She told me that she had spoken to the owner and that there was nothing that they would do to correct their error. I simply wanted the standard queen that I had confirmed, and I received no customer service.

Kathleen Craig
Leisure Travel Consultant
Rovia Travel

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear 77002,

First off, I apologize for the poor stay at our Hotel. After taking a look at your reservation, and your review, you are correct in saying that you were confirmed for a Standard Queen Room. Unfortunately, the room you wanted to stay in was an Executive Queen Room. I apologize for the confusion but the confirmation was for a Standard.

As for my front desk staff there is no excuse. Your situation was not handled properly and for that we are very sorry. This predicament will not happen again with the staff here. I hope you have a good rest of 2013.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    108
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
102
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My friend and I had a room with double beds , very nice and clean a big bathroom and as my friend is a smoker we had easy acces to the terrace. The staff was very nice and helped us with everything we needed . We also had a 10% courtesy discount at the breafast diner across the street. The location is very good near the Metro and the shops. I will be back.

Room Tip: Try the room near the terrace .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear StellaMaria,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us some great comments! The staff is very happy that they were able to make your stay a great one! Hope to see you again.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first visit to New York City and a dear friend recommended the Carvi. We really enjoyed our stay. It was really centrally located to everything we wanted to do. The rooftop deck is beautiful and we spent some quality time up there. Of course now we are excited about New York and want to come back again. The Carvi will certainly be our hotel.

Room Tip: This is a very small hotel. We asked for a room off the street so it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear scottandrob,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us but even happier that you have found a second home!

See you next time,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Carvi Hotel in New York in December 2013, and loved our experience. The hotel is tucked away on a side street - you'd almost miss it if you weren't really looking for it! The people at the front desk were very kind, and after locating our room, we headed out to explore the city. We loved the location! It was within an easy walk to Grand Central Station where we lucked into finding the Vanderbilt Holiday Fair, and with only three exceptions all week, we walked everywhere. We were within one to two miles of Rockefeller Plaza, Broadway, Times Square, etc. We took the subway to Ground Zero and Soho where we saw the Blue Man Group. The walk to the Natural Museum of History (right across the street from Central Park) seemed like a marathon, but we enjoyed every moment of it. So back to the hotel... the rooms are small and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a private bathroom (also very small), so no complaints! I checked the bedbug registry before booking, and could find no comments or incidences of bedbugs at this property. There are two or three good pizzarias five minutes from the hotel that stay open late (yum!). So yes, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear DollyLamaCat,

Thank you for remembering us almost a full year later!

I am so glad to hear that we made the end of your 2012 a great one. Next time you're in the neighborhood you have to try a slice at Patsy's on 60th; it's the best!

See you next time,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best city hotel by far in manhattan! can't wait to visit NY again and experience the hospitality of Carvi. everyone we met at the front desk offered exeptional customer service. The rooms and bathrooms are incredible clean and pretty roomy for ny standards. Nice little details in the decor of the room, high quality bedding and robes added a more special feel to our stay. The rooftop was the surprise of our hotel choice! Amazing views, modern furniture, in the middle of everything yet private and quite. Walking distance to every must-see place in town, didn’t have to ride a cab or drive, boutique and department stores a few blocks down and restaurants nearby. Will definately return to Carvi!!!

Room Tip: 5th floor was pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sailors10,

From one former Bostonian to a current one, thank you for such a great review!

We're so glad that you found us and that you enjoyed the rooftop. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The Carvi proved to be a great stay in New York City. The location coupled with the excellent service and comfortable rooms at great rates will keep me coming back. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get the most out of their stay in New York City.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jpujol89,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write us a review! I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations and made your list of preferred hotels in New York. See you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Carvi Hotel in New York during a recent business trip. My experience overall was quite good - front desk agent was friendly and did a good job. The room was clean and was more than acceptable. The view was horrible (looking out to a side alley ) but no big deal as i was not really spending my time looking outside. The free wifi was actually quite good - fast and very stable. All in all great stay at a reasonable rate for downtown NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear factop,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a comment! I'm glad to hear that your needs were met and your business trip stay went well. Hopefully next time we can accommodate you with a better view! Feel free to ask one of our Front Desk agents so we can help you out.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.