We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel in New York!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 449 hotels in New York City
Heath, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel in New York!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Carvi Hotel in New York in December 2013, and loved our experience. The hotel is tucked away on a side street - you'd almost miss it if you weren't really looking for it! The people at the front desk were very kind, and after locating our room, we headed out to explore the city. We loved the location! It was within an easy walk to Grand Central Station where we lucked into finding the Vanderbilt Holiday Fair, and with only three exceptions all week, we walked everywhere. We were within one to two miles of Rockefeller Plaza, Broadway, Times Square, etc. We took the subway to Ground Zero and Soho where we saw the Blue Man Group. The walk to the Natural Museum of History (right across the street from Central Park) seemed like a marathon, but we enjoyed every moment of it. So back to the hotel... the rooms are small and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a private bathroom (also very small), so no complaints! I checked the bedbug registry before booking, and could find no comments or incidences of bedbugs at this property. There are two or three good pizzarias five minutes from the hotel that stay open late (yum!). So yes, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear DollyLamaCat,

Thank you for remembering us almost a full year later!

I am so glad to hear that we made the end of your 2012 a great one. Next time you're in the neighborhood you have to try a slice at Patsy's on 60th; it's the best!

See you next time,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    118
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
113
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best city hotel by far in manhattan! can't wait to visit NY again and experience the hospitality of Carvi. everyone we met at the front desk offered exeptional customer service. The rooms and bathrooms are incredible clean and pretty roomy for ny standards. Nice little details in the decor of the room, high quality bedding and robes added a more special feel to our stay. The rooftop was the surprise of our hotel choice! Amazing views, modern furniture, in the middle of everything yet private and quite. Walking distance to every must-see place in town, didn’t have to ride a cab or drive, boutique and department stores a few blocks down and restaurants nearby. Will definately return to Carvi!!!

Room Tip: 5th floor was pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sailors10,

From one former Bostonian to a current one, thank you for such a great review!

We're so glad that you found us and that you enjoyed the rooftop. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The Carvi proved to be a great stay in New York City. The location coupled with the excellent service and comfortable rooms at great rates will keep me coming back. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get the most out of their stay in New York City.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jpujol89,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write us a review! I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations and made your list of preferred hotels in New York. See you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Carvi Hotel in New York during a recent business trip. My experience overall was quite good - front desk agent was friendly and did a good job. The room was clean and was more than acceptable. The view was horrible (looking out to a side alley ) but no big deal as i was not really spending my time looking outside. The free wifi was actually quite good - fast and very stable. All in all great stay at a reasonable rate for downtown NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear factop,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a comment! I'm glad to hear that your needs were met and your business trip stay went well. Hopefully next time we can accommodate you with a better view! Feel free to ask one of our Front Desk agents so we can help you out.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff was always very professional, helpful and friendly. The room I stayed in, in my opinion made after staying in a few other NYC hotels, was a very nice size! I was quite surprised! The terrace on the roof is a very nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel. I am planning a return trip to the city and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Silkartist,

Thank you so much for the review! We're elated that your stay went great and can't wait to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room, albeit small, was superbly clean, well-appointed and well located. I loved the contemporary furnishings and clean lines of the room and bathroom. The staff was welcoming and provided excellent service and recommendations. All the places we wanted to visit were within comfortable walking distance -- Times Square, Central Park and the subway. Just the right combination to make for a enjoyable stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Txadmom,

Thank you for the great comments! I will surely pass them along to the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff!

See you next time!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice rooms, bigger than in other hotels in the area.
Quiet street at night.
The hotel is small but nice, new and clean.
Really well located, in walking distance from all the main attractions in Manhattan.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, T4B, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.