We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 451 hotels in New York City
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good stay over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Carvi Hotel in New York during a recent business trip. My experience overall was quite good - front desk agent was friendly and did a good job. The room was clean and was more than acceptable. The view was horrible (looking out to a side alley ) but no big deal as i was not really spending my time looking outside. The free wifi was actually quite good - fast and very stable. All in all great stay at a reasonable rate for downtown NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear factop,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a comment! I'm glad to hear that your needs were met and your business trip stay went well. Hopefully next time we can accommodate you with a better view! Feel free to ask one of our Front Desk agents so we can help you out.

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    117
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
114
22
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff was always very professional, helpful and friendly. The room I stayed in, in my opinion made after staying in a few other NYC hotels, was a very nice size! I was quite surprised! The terrace on the roof is a very nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel. I am planning a return trip to the city and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Silkartist,

Thank you so much for the review! We're elated that your stay went great and can't wait to see you again!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room, albeit small, was superbly clean, well-appointed and well located. I loved the contemporary furnishings and clean lines of the room and bathroom. The staff was welcoming and provided excellent service and recommendations. All the places we wanted to visit were within comfortable walking distance -- Times Square, Central Park and the subway. Just the right combination to make for a enjoyable stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Txadmom,

Thank you for the great comments! I will surely pass them along to the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff!

See you next time!
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice rooms, bigger than in other hotels in the area.
Quiet street at night.
The hotel is small but nice, new and clean.
Really well located, in walking distance from all the main attractions in Manhattan.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff was amazing and very helpful! They helped us find restaurants and sightseeing tickets. Our room was Very clean and modern. the hotel is in a great location.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, and seemed very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Storh,

Thank you for the comments and the recommendation! See you next time you are in New York!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel! Great location with easy access to the subway and all the famous mid town stores including Bloomingdales, Saks Fifth Avenue, Bergdorf Goodman and Barney's. Room was good size for a single and had a mini frig which was handy during my mid summer stay. The bathroom had a great shower and good towels. The lighting in the bathroom was a little poor, which I was aware of by reading other reviews. The roof top deck was phenomenal! Got my coffee and pastry each morning and went up to the deck to enjoy my breakfast and view!
The only negative is that since my room was facing the street, it was a bit noisy. Next time I would get a room at the back of the building. I also prefer access to an ice machine, which they did not have- I had to call for ice. Not a big deal.
Overall, an excellent experience and would definitely stay there again!!! Very happy overall!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Susanjanejewels,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property! We will be sure to accommodate you with a room in the back of the building next time!

See you next time!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We'll have to echo other positive reviews - our room was clean, comfortable, quiet and to our surprise - pretty spacious. The bathrobes are a nice touch.

Staff were always helpful and friendly.

Don't get me wrong - it's conveniently located - but after dark the area is pretty lifeless. However this is easily remedied - head to the night spots.

We booked via Hotel.com and received a discounted rate. While it's a little more pricey compared to other hotels, the room size and hotel location makes it good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive Queen room 306 was quiet and pretty spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear ASXSA,

Thank you so much for your comments! I'm very glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay. It is unfortunate that our neighborhood doesn't provide much entertainment; hopefully that changes in the near future!

Look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.