We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with the 3 'Cs' - clean, comfortable and caring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with the 3 'Cs' - clean, comfortable and caring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Front desk staff (Lucy and Flavia) are so helpful, beds are very comfy, rooms are clean with step-in showers. Location is perfect. Lots of buses run up 3rd Ave and down Lexington, so the Carvi is well placed for exploring. No on-site restaurant but Midtown Restaurant opposite is great. Rooms have individually controlled air-conditioning and the TVs have a really good range of free channels inc. BBC America and HBO. I'll definitely stay here again when I visit New York.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    164
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
84
162
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I would highly recommend Hotel Carvi, NYC. The hotel staff was AWESOME! They gave us a print out of local dining places in the area and were always handy with directions. The rooms were VERY clean and the beds were comfortable. We stayed on the 4th floor and had a window with a great view. They have a beautiful roof top patio that was a nice extra. It was very quiet. Never heard anyone coming or going. It is conveniently located to rockafeller center and other locations. It is in walking distance to times square as well. Would highly recommend this hotel. Will definately stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. Had a wonderful view and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice week in this hotel, and enjoyed it's facilities. The rooms with two beds were considered noisy due to some disturbing engines in the hotel's backyard. However, the other rooms were great with good air conditioning. Nice staff - at least the females in the reception - and ok cleaning. The area aroynd the hotel was also nice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Smaller , clean en modern hotel in upper East side NY.
No restaurant but many possibilities nearby.residential feel. Great bed, beautiful linens. Spacious bathroom. Friendly staff. Good hotel for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just back from a great trip to NYC. Great hotel in an excellent location. Room clean & comfortable and an adequate size. Rooftop garden lovely and relaxing after a long, hard day shopping!!! Most of the staff friendly, except for the bald headed chap on reception, most unhelpful. But would we stay here again? yes and hopefully that chap would be on his days off when we did!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nothing superb, but a smallish clean room, comfortable bed, hot shower, free wi fi, and nice tv. Good location in midtown east, extremely adequate for a business person or couple. Not enough room for a family and no restaurant or fitness facilities, but a wise economical choice for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up and in the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

An excellent price for the location within easy walking distance if time sq and central park and two main subway stations.

Hotel was nice enough but like said in an earlier review basic rather than boutique. Good for what we needed but I did expect a bit more luxury from what we'd seen on the website. I was very impressed with the bathroom facilities, shower was amazing!

Lots of reviews say rooms were too small but I felt they were quite reasonable for two people.

Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel can arrange a car to airport for a few dollars more than a taxi which I'd handy if you have a really early flight!

Plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and salads near by. Chinese opposite was very nice but also very expensive.

I would use the hotel again due to its fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick  Manhattan
Fitzpatrick Manhattan
#85 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#135 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#189 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#275 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#126 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.