We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 449 hotels in New York City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location. Great hotel with excellent service. Desk staff was very kind and accomodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was some minor damage on the bathroom wall where it appeared a towel rack had been moved, but overall it was a great experience. Next time I'm in the city, I will definitely make plans to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    118
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
113
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The carvi hotel NYC is great value for money and is in a good location within walking distance to most New York attractions. The rooms were clean and had all amenities that you need. My only negativity came from the traffic noise it was very loud and persisted all night. My partner and I purchased some ear plugs from the convenient store across the road and then there were no problems at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The place was clean and well maintained. The room was a little small, but it's Manhattan so that's to be expected. For one person it was quite comfortable. Very good value for the price.

The room service dinner, provided by Midtown Restaurant, was average at best, so I'd avoid it. And although the concierge offered to call a car to get me to JFK airport, it was much cheaper and probably not much slower to take the subway and airtrain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well-located, mid-priced, with a simple, chic interior - The Carvi is a great find.

The rooms are small (think European-size) but clean, modern, and comfortable. Most New York hotels in the same area will cost much more or be far less satisfactory. And what you're really paying for is the excellent location - walking distance to 5th Ave, Rockefeller Plaza, key metro stops, and numerous restaurants.

The only downside of my stay was the service - one employee in particular (Marcos, the evening receptionist.) Upon our arrival, we found our toilet did not flush. When we came down to report this incident, he was completely disinterested and said they were all booked and couldn't switch our room. We called hotels.com to report the problem, and THEY then called the hotel to demand something be done or they would find us alternate lodgings - at which point the receptionist rang our room to say "we'll send a plumber in the morning, for now just come use the restroom in the lobby." The problem was fixed (at 8 pm the following evening), and the rest of the stay was without incident.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Carvi. Aside from one employee's lack of customer service, the hotel offered clean, pleasant lodgings for a decent price point.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over Christmas break. Carvi hotel was clean, had rooms in great condition and a friendly staff (many spoke Portuguese and its owner is Brazilian). The beds were very comfortable (firm) and the towels were nice and soft.

The rooms were tight by American standards, but thats was expected for the Manhattan area. Everything looked fairly new, which was great.

The front desk area was clean and had a nice modern look (as did the rooms). Even the stairs were clean, well-lit and even smelled like lemon lime cleaning product.

Its located within walking distance to all major attractions in midtown manhattan (Times Square, Empire State, etc). I parked at the garage two buildings down the street, which has partnered with the hotel. If I had more time, I would have looked for a cheaper garage, as it cost $35/night with the measly $2 discount from the hotel.

I recommend it to anyone looking for something clean, in new condition, and close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Carvi Hotel a few months ago, and had an upsetting issue with the hotel manager, which was not handled properly or professionally at the time. After writing a review on Trip Advisor about our bad experience, the owner of the hotel contacted us and resolved the issue with the utmost professionalism, courtesy, and grace. The hotel is located in a great part of the city. Our room was very clean, and attractively appointed. We will stay there again, thanks to the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to New York for 4 nights on a pre Christmas break. Prior to going we chose the hotel and then checked it out on Trip Advisor. As a result of this when we arrived at the hotel we knew what to expect. The room was small compared to other rooms we have stayed in but it had a large bed, a wardrobe , bookcase, a bedside table and a set of drawers upon which the tv was on. The en-suit was fine. Both rooms were very clean and tidy. Housekeeping every day and the towels changed every day.Air conditioning in the room. The reception area was very clean and kept well. We had occasion to speak to three different receptiontists and on each time they were very helpful.
Would we stay at the Carvi again ? If we went to New York again we would consider it. Would we recommend it to other people. Again, yes but would state that just because we liked it and enjoyed our stay it does not mean they would.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JonFrancisWhite,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in New York and at Carvi. We are glad that the hotel met your expectations, and hopefully you stay with us again so that the expectations can be exceeded!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, T4B, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.