We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Located Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Carvi Hotel New York to your Saves list
Carvi Hotel New York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well-Located Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well-located, mid-priced, with a simple, chic interior - The Carvi is a great find.

The rooms are small (think European-size) but clean, modern, and comfortable. Most New York hotels in the same area will cost much more or be far less satisfactory. And what you're really paying for is the excellent location - walking distance to 5th Ave, Rockefeller Plaza, key metro stops, and numerous restaurants.

The only downside of my stay was the service - one employee in particular (Marcos, the evening receptionist.) Upon our arrival, we found our toilet did not flush. When we came down to report this incident, he was completely disinterested and said they were all booked and couldn't switch our room. We called hotels.com to report the problem, and THEY then called the hotel to demand something be done or they would find us alternate lodgings - at which point the receptionist rang our room to say "we'll send a plumber in the morning, for now just come use the restroom in the lobby." The problem was fixed (at 8 pm the following evening), and the rest of the stay was without incident.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Carvi. Aside from one employee's lack of customer service, the hotel offered clean, pleasant lodgings for a decent price point.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    134
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
129
26
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over Christmas break. Carvi hotel was clean, had rooms in great condition and a friendly staff (many spoke Portuguese and its owner is Brazilian). The beds were very comfortable (firm) and the towels were nice and soft.

The rooms were tight by American standards, but thats was expected for the Manhattan area. Everything looked fairly new, which was great.

The front desk area was clean and had a nice modern look (as did the rooms). Even the stairs were clean, well-lit and even smelled like lemon lime cleaning product.

Its located within walking distance to all major attractions in midtown manhattan (Times Square, Empire State, etc). I parked at the garage two buildings down the street, which has partnered with the hotel. If I had more time, I would have looked for a cheaper garage, as it cost $35/night with the measly $2 discount from the hotel.

I recommend it to anyone looking for something clean, in new condition, and close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Carvi Hotel a few months ago, and had an upsetting issue with the hotel manager, which was not handled properly or professionally at the time. After writing a review on Trip Advisor about our bad experience, the owner of the hotel contacted us and resolved the issue with the utmost professionalism, courtesy, and grace. The hotel is located in a great part of the city. Our room was very clean, and attractively appointed. We will stay there again, thanks to the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to New York for 4 nights on a pre Christmas break. Prior to going we chose the hotel and then checked it out on Trip Advisor. As a result of this when we arrived at the hotel we knew what to expect. The room was small compared to other rooms we have stayed in but it had a large bed, a wardrobe , bookcase, a bedside table and a set of drawers upon which the tv was on. The en-suit was fine. Both rooms were very clean and tidy. Housekeeping every day and the towels changed every day.Air conditioning in the room. The reception area was very clean and kept well. We had occasion to speak to three different receptiontists and on each time they were very helpful.
Would we stay at the Carvi again ? If we went to New York again we would consider it. Would we recommend it to other people. Again, yes but would state that just because we liked it and enjoyed our stay it does not mean they would.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JonFrancisWhite,

Good to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in New York and at Carvi. We are glad that the hotel met your expectations, and hopefully you stay with us again so that the expectations can be exceeded!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Great location! Close to 53 & Lexington subway stop. Very quiet, wonderful beds, linens, and towels. Staff was very, very helpful. Had suggestions and directions for us on travel to Giants game, restaurants, etc. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Pam C,

Wish I could write a better review myself, wow! See you next time you are in New York!

Best,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I only stayed one night for a business trip. But I thought the Carvi was solid quality. It was my first stay but they upgraded my room without an additional charge. The room itself was fairly spacious, modern and well furnished. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. It's too bad there isn't a lounge area to get a drink or a snack. But as other reviewers mentioned, the hotel's location is quite central to lots of place to eat. I did use the diner across the street for breakfast. It was delivered promptly. But the quality of the food was so-so. If I had to offer a criticism of the hotel, it's that the walls and floors are not very sound poof. So, you can hear a lot of movement and noise. Whoever was in the room above me was, unfortunately, a night owl and I could hear their pounding footsteps quite clearly. But still, overall, a nice small hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for the a mezzanine level room ( there are only two). The rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor P, Owner at Carvi Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear lfc8568,

First off, thank you for the great review of the Carvi! Sorry to hear that the noise from your neighbors bothered you, hopefully we can work on that next time you are with us, don't hesitate to mention that to our front desk staff. The desk staff is also very knowledgable about the city so feel free to ask them about any lounges or bars nearby that would suit you best! See you next time!

Regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Small little boutique hotel in midtown. Rooms are clean, bed is comfy but the rooms are small. The bathroom is half the size of the bedroom, but very nice with marble and new fixtures. They offered free wi-fi, the a 10% discount to the diner across the street which I thought was nice. The staff was friendly and accommodating and knowledgeable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, T4B, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvi Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.