We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well priced and friendly front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street to your Saves list
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Nassau Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #295 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, well priced and friendly front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Manhattan, the WTC site and the New York Stock Exchange are just a couple of blocks away.
The Battery Park and Brooklyn Bridge are withing a walking distance.

The New York Subway station is about 200 meters away (Fulton St) and most of the tourist attractions are within a 15 minute ride from the hotel.

The rooms are definitely small for the price that you pay but you need to remember that you are in Manhattan.

The front desk/ reception staff are extremely helpful in guiding the correct subway routes and for anything else during your stay. However, the experience with the restaurant staff might not be the same.

Room Tip: Pick a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you liked our location and the service we provided during your stay. Also, I am glad to hear that my staff was extremely helpful during your stay. They're wonderful! - Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    237
    100
    19
    22
See reviews for
98
154
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This review is long overdue. I took advantage of a great Jet Blue sale rate from Oakland to JFK to surprise my nine-year-old son with his first-ever trip to New York City over the Veterans’ Day holiday weekend in 2012. I used AmEx points for three nights and chose Holiday Inn Wall Street (51 Nassau Street) because the location was a perfect downtown hub and because reviews of other higher end hotels in our price range weren’t that great. Our trip was scheduled ten days after Hurricane Sandy hit Manhattan and we did not know what to expect. While much of lower Manhattan was still recovering from water damage, the hotel was fine. We were on a Friday night red-eye with a planned hotel arrival at 6:00 a.m. I phoned The Holiday Inn the day before our departure to let them know that, while I booked Friday night, our actual arrival would be around 6 a.m. on Saturday morning, so we’d be able to immediately check-in to our room. When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk had noted my phone call, and had our keys immediately available. And they didn't care that I had used points to pay for the room. The front desk staff was incredibly competent and friendly. We went up to our king bedroom and took a power nap. The hallways of this hotel are indeed narrow, but not a big deal. The king bed corner room itself was very spacious for a New York hotel room, and there was even room to move about the bathroom. The shower had decent water pressure. The room was clean, the bed incredibly comfortable, and we even had a view of the new Freedom Tower. The hotel is conveniently located to numerous downtown attractions and subway stations, just two blocks away. My son was excited to experience the nearby Dunkin Donuts and downtown location of Les Halles. While the hotel is tucked away on a quiet block, the lobby is tiny, and the hallways are narrow, this hotel is a perfect spot as a base location to experience all that Manhattan and Brooklyn have to offer. Although we didn’t eat at the hotel restaurant (there are too many fabulous places to dine in NYC!), I was glad to have the option available. Hotel staff was able to offer the best subway lines around the City and back to JFK. We were able to check-out but leave our luggage with the bell staff so we could do one final tour of Battery Park before returning to JFK. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of the World Trade Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. - Thanks again for your review and hope to see you soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

To he honest this hotel was fine. It was clean, in a great location and was what you'd expect of a NYC budget hotel. I can't give it anything higher than 3 stars though because of a couple things that really were an inconvenience and could have been simple to fix.

First, handles of the furniture literally pulled off in my hand when I tried to open a drawer. Second, although the drawers look to be a normal size once you can get them open, the are so shallow and short that hardly anything fits. The rooms are too small to live out of your suitcase because there is no where to put your suitcase so not being able to open or use the drawers was a pain. Third, the management must tell the housekeeping staff to be as stingy as possible with paper products because when I checked in there was maybe a quarter roll of toilet paper. Not a huge deal but the next day, they didn't even leave anymore so when I returned to my room at 11pm there were like 2 sheets of TP left. I know it sounds hilarious but imagine how awkward it is to call the front desk at 11pm and have to ask for more and sit around and wait for 20 minutes until someone brings it. I really laughed afterwards imagining what that poor delivery guy was thinking having to bring TP to my room at 11:30pm! Either this hotel values their TP so highly that they refuse to make sure you have enough or the housekeeping staff is completely inept. And lastly, And this was the worst, the showers are little corner stalls in the bathrooms and the have an "L" shaped shower curtain that is not only not wide enough to reach either wall, but are also a full inch shorter than the floor. So every time you use the shower, the entire bathroom floor ends up wet, It was disgusting. When you're done showering you have to immediately clean the floor with towels and then you can't use them again so you are wasting resources.

This hotel could make a few small adjustments like investing in better furniture that offers actual storage space and doesn't break, making sure paying guests have enough basic supplies and purchasing longer shower curtains. Until then, I wouldn't return and I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at my hotel. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have taken proper steps in the housekeeping department to ensure these issues wont happen again. Thanks again for your time and I hope to have you back anytime soon. Do not hesitate to reach out to me directly 212-227-3007 - Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

First things first, not that cheap but all relative and that is the cost of staying in NYC. The hotel staff were excellent. The comp breakfast and wifi both were excellent. Room was smallish but bathroom fine size and space at a premium in the big apple. Quiet too so an excellent sleep. Great location for subway and battery park. Recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing us! - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York - Manhatten
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

if longer in NY recommend to buy a METROCARD .Very good location for tourists and business people who dont mind using the subway.
Tourist have the major places to see on your doorstep.Plenty of restaurants of all pricelevels close by. Safe place to stay. Even at night I felt very safe walking in the streets. Also shopping places arein the vincinity..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianaSindler, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel. We are steps away from Broadway and that makes our location even more convenient as mostly all subway stations can be reached only steps away from our hotel.

I also have to agree that neighborhood is very safe.

I thank you again for your comments - they are vital to improve our service.

Have a most wondeful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a work trip. The location was great as my office is just down the street. The room itself was nice, but small (as is typical for hotels in Manhattan), but this was really small. Amenities were nice though in terms of desk, lighting etc. About the only thing that I found terrible was the food. I didn't even eat it but the breakfast menu looked of very poor quality. So I went to Starbucks down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianaSindler, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your last stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, as your comments are vital to ensure full guest satisfaction.

I want to say thank you for the positive comments regarding our location. I am sad, however, to hear you did not like the size of the rooms and the food in our Restaurant.

We have different sizes of rooms – some of them are way bigger than others. I am sure you stayed in one of the small ones. I would like to invite you to please contact me when you are planning to visit New York City again so that I may personally handle your reservation and assign you a very nice and big room for your next stay with us.

As for the Restaurant food, I am so sorry you didn’t like it and will pass on information to Restaurant Manager for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and have a most wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here during my marathon trip. Very close to ferry (10min walk) to get to the start and easily accessible by subway (to get from the Central park back). Otherwise good hotel; not tall enough to have a view from the room other than a building on the other side of a lane.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianaSindler, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your last stay with us and thanks as well for the positive comments regarding our location.

As for the view, you are correct - due to our hotel's location is in the middle of the Financial District , we are surrounded by buildings that are taller than us. I hope, however, that the great location, nice staff and comfy rooms compensated the view you did not get.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and have a most wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street

Address: 51 Nassau Street, New York City, NY 10038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#256 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street Hotel New York City
Reserve Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.