We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Nassau Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #271 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Originally booked a five night stay during the week of Halloween. great location to begin with a stroll down to wall street, battery park and the WTC, along with the other surrounding neighborhoods in the lower manhattan part. Subways and bus stops are very close just a few minute walk and water taxies.

Now regarding the Hotel the lobby is small, the rooms are small even the double. but then again it's NYC rooms tend to be small. I Traveled here with family (4) on our second visit to NY. I had read mixed reviews on the hotel prior to booking so I was a bit concerned and skeptical on what to expect upon arival to the hotel. Small lobby and hallways, the rooms are small but cozy and comfortable, had Ac and heater system, flat screen t.v. Most importantly free WiFi, the bathroom was very tiny I think 5mm more and the door hits the toilet seat. Friendly and helpful staff..

The hotels restaurant is medium size with a bar, ate here only for breakfast twice, the food was ok, (personally I believe it needed more seasoning) otherwise it was good. I believe the hotel also has a gym? But not sure since there was no time.

As mention I originally had booked a 5 night stay but ended up staying an additional 3 nights due to hurricane Sandy who came along and caused some damage and shut down the airports. The hotel managed to work out our extended stay for the additional days along with giving us a discounted price which made our stay and pockets happy. "During the power blackout in lower manhattan" the hotel maintained open but with out power only generators the powered the hallways but not the rooms. This part of my review is based on how the hotel managed and how well planned are they during a natural disaster or such other event.

To continue, no power in our rooms, so nights were a very quite and boring and somewhat cold for about 4 nights, only a drizzle of cold water came out of the shower. Some rooms toilet system worked and some did not. The hotel continued to provide clean towels. The staff was very helpful and attentive during this event they allowed guest to charge cell phone batteries in the lobby using a power strip that connected to I would guess a generator. Only one elevator worked, the hotel did provide free goodies at the entrance of the lobby, fresh fruit, bottles of water, cup cakes, cookies and crackers. Great job!
Overall the hotel did a great job. However I believe they could had at least tried to power up the rooms (using the generator) that were occupied, so that guest would not be in the dark or even some hot water.

To finish, my overall experience and stay at the Holiday Inn went great, great location, walking distance to many great restaurants, rooms are small but hey who travels to NYC and stays in the room? Friendy and helpful staff, and therefore I would possible consider in staying here again if I go back to NYC. I recommend this hotel, for the price you can't ask for much.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review my hotel. As you stated, my staff did a wonderful job during the Hurricane Sandy; I am very proud of them. Thanks again for your kind review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    198
    85
    16
    17
See reviews for
80
133
44
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham / Nuneaton Uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed her 19th Oct 2012 for 2 nights in room 2001 on the 20th floor, from the moment we arrived we were treated extremely well by all of the staff on the front desk especially Leslie. The room was fine but could have done with another wardrobe. The hotel is in a quiet area of lower Manhattan. We had breakfast on both mornings in the restaurant/bar which was good and reasonably priced.
To get around the city we purchased a metro card to enable us to use the subway system. I would 100% return to this hotel and would like to say thank you to all of the amazing staff.

Room Tip: high floor 2001 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I am pleased to hear that my staff made your stay enjoyable...hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last night for one night. Got a great deal on Priceline. One block from the subway station. Room was basically a king size bed and a bathroom with a nice flat screen on the wall. I just slept in the room which served its purpose. Very clean and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review my hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Comfortable, clean and well-located. I book a room here so as to avoid higher prices in midtown. Although you have to take subway to go to most major attractions the inconvience is small. Nothing to not like about this place.

Rooms are small but you aren't in NYC to stay in your hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review; hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We checked in two days before sandy hit the city... The hotel is a 3 star, and last year we stayed in the Hilton 3.5 stars that is a few blocks away... gotta say that is a HUGE half star! In comparison the Holiday Inn had a ridiculously small lobby, only two elevators, and the whole place seemed totally outdated. We Pricelined the hotel, so got a good rate otherwise would have felt we were overcharged.

Once the hurricane hit and we lost power (even up to that point) the staff was wonderful. The on site restaurant continued to serve food up to the moment power went out, and the staff at the front desk were helpful, and kind (even though many guests were rude (for some reason people took out their frustrations with the power outtage and such on the hotel staff)). Given the situation the staff did a wonderful job accommodating its guests.

Overall? Disappointed with the hotel, but impressed with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and hope you are doing well. I appreciate your input in regards to my staff performance during the storm. We tried our best to continue providing the same level of service, and I am pleased to know that you were impressed with them. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'd like to be the first to review this place on how they manage during an emergency. Let me just say, I feel like they are family now after we've survived Hurricane Sandy together. My parents & I were evacuated to this hotel from the Water St location. The staff was unbelievably calm & positive during the entire storm & during the power outage. They literally worked non-stop since the evacuation process started - it was amazing to see the same faces night & day for 4 days straight. They opened their restaurant and served coffee, water and cereal for guests & people outside the hotel. Bottles of water would appear outside our door when we woke up. Trash was removed from the rooms every day even though it was chaos outside. They were committed to keeping all guests secure & as comfortable as possible & I am grateful to them for that. I hope all of the people on staff from that week get HUGE bonuses because they deserve it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest, I cannot thank you enough for your kind words about my staff. Despite the adverse circumstances during the storm, they continued working together as a family. Thank you very much for your review and hope to personally welcome you next time you come to New York City. Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room was well laid out, clean, comfortable bed, quiet. Small hotel with not much of a view from many room probably but a good location for Wall St., South Street Seaport and the World Trade Center, Sept. 11th memorial. The front desk staff were friendly. There were 2 computers for guest use in the (tiny) lobby and another type of kiosk. There is a restaurant and room service, neither of which we had time to use. Check in and check out were very easy. Shampoo and soap provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review. we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street

Address: 51 Nassau Street, New York City, NY 10038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street Hotel New York City
Reserve Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.