We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahoy New York Food Tours

Ahoy New York Food Tours
43 W 74th Street, New York City, NY 10023
+1 212-604-1410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 808 Activities in New York City
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ahoy New York Tours and Tasting is a treasured food tour adventure for both tourists and locals. The tours, based in Little Italy and Chinatown, are an adventure of ethnic food, fun conversation, sightseeing, and trivia. A special feature, Ahoy New York Food Tours frequents restaurants and customers enjoy generous portions. In addition, each tour is held in small groups of 12-13 individuals to allow for an intimate experience.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My friend and I did the Little Italy and China Town tour with Alana, we enjoyed it immensely, the food was excellent, and the titbits of information both on history of the area and also on the evolvement of the area's cuisine was extremely interesting. Our intention to rush off and do the High Line afterwards dissolved as we found ourselves going back to explore the area - and the food - some more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    22
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Well worth the money - great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I did the Little Italy and China Town tour today with Alana. We were part of a group of 10 people. Really enjoyed the facts, stories and history our tour guide told us. The food was excellent - especially enjoyed the authentic egg rolls. We had previously 'toured' the area on our own; visiting with Alana gave us a totally new outlook on these 2 areas. Would highly recommend this tour - might even have been the highlight of our 5 days in NYC!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife, 20 year old daughter and myself decided to do this tour. It was great from start to finish. Kelsey met us immediately at the meeting spot and we were early and as it was oppressively hot told us we could go inside and walk around the grocery store to stay cool. We left promptly at 1030 as scheduled which was great, others who were late met up just down the block within 10 minutes. Be on time folks as they do leave on time! We were a group of 10. Kelsey had water for us and went right into great history of Little Italy including sites where mob hits took place, places to eat which you might not be thrilled in and others that had great history, ambiance or actually good food. Loved all the tastings and with the history and Kelsey's great command of articulation we were never bored. Same with Chinatown, all good with a nice break halfway through the 3 hour tour to rest up with a sit down tasting and bathroom break. Would recommend this if you want an excellent tour of Little Italy and Chinatown.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavalette, Wv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a fun day! Alana was a wonderful tour guide. She had so much knowledge. She blended history of Chinatown and Little Italy with each delicious bite! We had a fabulous day for a walking tour...the sun was shining and the walk was paced for age!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best tours we have ever taken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I specifically wanted the juxtaposition of Chinatown and Little Italy and found this tour the only one to accomplish that. Kelsey was fantastic. Since she is a chef she seemed to know everything about how to make the food and a lot of intricacies that made it very interesting. The day was beautiful weather and the walk was not very much. Many of us felt that the best part was we would now feel comfortable about where to eat when we are in the area. It was, as i said in the heading, one of the best tours we have ever taken.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahoy New York Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ahoy New York Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahoy New York Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.