We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is good too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blind Tiger Ale House

Blind Tiger Ale House
281 Bleecker St, New York City, NY 10014-4106 (Manhattan)
212-462-4682
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #238 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The food is good too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Full disclosure: I did not drink any of the beer, so I really can't comment on that. But I stopped in for lunch and was pleased by how large and delicious the chicken cutlet sandwich was. I'd go back for that and to try some of the other food. The place is small (so it can get crowded) but had a good, cozy vibe. And the waiter was very friendly. If you are looking for a casual place to eat and don't mind some noise or crowds, I recommend this place. Especially if you like beer, since I hear the beer is good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great selection and good scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really nice selection of beers, the wait staff is helpful and knowledgeable. There is a really nice vibe to this place. When I was there, we saw hipsters, old couples and children and somehow all blended harmoniously, and that was before the beer!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just leave before you're drunk! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I like this place quite a bit. Blind Tiger always has a nice variety of East Coast beer, as well as representation from other parts of the country. The decor is "pubby" and welcoming, but the focus is on the beer. Definitely try and make it when the pace is a bit slower, as you can get a table or spot at the bar easily, it's nice and friendly when it fills up too.

If you're looking for a good, unassuming, casual place in the village to have a quality micro, check this place out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best craft beer bar in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great selection, knowledgeable staff and really cool atmosphere. The crowd was diverse and very friendly. Good place to come to try beers or to be introduced into the craft beer world. Great place to gather with friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great beer variety & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Friendly atmosphere, people of all ages (unlike bars in my country) and, most important of all, great beer!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blind Tiger Ale House also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blind Tiger Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blind Tiger Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.