We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 449 hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The reviews of this hotel were very good on TripAdvisor, but I went in with some hesitation, having been told rooms in NYC were tiny and noisy. Let me tell you, neither is true at the Chelsea Pines Inn!

I arrived early, but my room was already clean and ready to go - Jay (the owner) spent 20 minutes going through local attractions, how to ride the subway and where useful hotel facilities were - a very nice personal touch.

Facing the back of the property, I probably missed any traffic noise that did exist, in saying that, when using the business centre on the second floor, which faces the front, I didn't notice anything.

The staff at the hotel, from Jay the owner, right through to the cleaning/maintenance staff were always looking to do more to help - each brought their own personal experiences from New York to the recommendations and advice they gave, which lead to visiting some excellent restaurants that hadn't made the one page suggested list.

Rooms at the hotel vary, but the Superior Standard Room I was in had wonderful high ceilings and space to spread out - it might have been less comfortable had I been traveling with someone else, but there's always the breakfast room, sun room or back patio areas that are quite comfortable if you want some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bussle of the the city.

The only minor issue I experienced during my stay is that the free wireless internet was sometimes flaky - a trip to the breakfast room or the business centre allowed me the access I needed though and frankly, while you're on holiday, you probably shouldn't be using your computer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,106
    220
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
159
759
158
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We read the reviews of this hotel before our trip and had fairly high expectations of this hotel. I was a little concerned that, with all the hype, I might walk away a little disappointed; I wondered if it would live up to all the positive reviews. I had nothing to worry about.

We recently stayed in NY for 19 days. This was our first time in the Big Apple. We wanted to see and do as much as we could. At the same time we wanted to have a relaxing holiday. Our stay got off to a great start when we arrived at midnight on a Saturday night. We were greeted by Rick at reception and he was so welcoming, friendly and helpful - just what we needed after a long-haul flight. This set the tone for the rest of our stay.

We had a room overlooking the street. It turned out to be very well insulated from the noise of the traffic below. It was not a large room but we expected that and, even by the third week of our stay, we were not concerned at all by its size. The room was clean when we arrived and it remained clean during our stay. Yes, the stairs are steep.

All of the staff, with absolutely no exceptions, were friendly and courteous. We had some "interesting" experiences in NY with the locals. Some were damn rude. Others were super friendly but sometimes you would walk away with a feeling that it was a little ingenuous. Not so with the staff at the Chelsea. They were genuinely friendly. They were always there to help when asked, they always welcomed and greeted us and they were not intrusive or over-bearing.

For us the hotel was in the perfect location. It is very close to 2 subway stations, so we were able to get around NY cheaply and without any fuss. Chelsea is a great area, especially if you like your food and drink. We had any number of wonderful meals in the area (this was a highlight for us). There are markets nearby, galleries and fashion stores, and loads of entertainment. The area simply throbs with activity every night of the week.

There is a certain almost quirkiness to the hotel which made it very endearing. Homage is paid to various movie actors throughout the building. Our room was blue, a bright blue, but we never tired of it. Each morning a newsletter was pushed under the door, giving details of the day's weather and providing suggestions for sightseeing, entertainment etc. We have kept all of them. Then there was Charlie Chan, the resident cat. Very cute!

By the end of our stay we got to know this place, its staff and the location very well. We would most certainly recommend it to anyone, with the exception of people who have infirmities and who would find the stairs a struggle. We have no doubt that our stay at the Chelsea Pines was integral in making our holiday a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the CPI while dropping off a first year student at NYU. The staff was always friendly and helpful, and we had a wonderful chat with the owner. The rate was quite reasonable. The room we stayed in was very large, particularly in comparison to the rooms we have stayed in at hotels in NYC. And, we loved, loved, loved the neighborhood. It was so great to be out of the hustle and bustle of mid-town. There are so many great restaurants nearby, and the High Line is a real treat. The only caveat is that there is no elevator. Otherwise, all thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

my partner and i loved staying at the chelsea pines. the staff was warm and welcoming. the rooms not only were clean, spacious, but also very charming. the back patio space was a peaceful spot to have a coffee before conquering the city. we were traveling on a dime. chelsea pines was worth every doller. i wish we could have stayed longer but they were fully booked up when we called. call in advance if you want to secure a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn for four nights. I chose this place based on reviews here on TripAdvisor, and I'm happy that I did - it certainly deserves every good written word. The location is superb if you for example come by plane from JFK - just take the A or E train from/to the airport and get off at 14th street, and you're at the hotel - perfect! And you're close to the IMHO most beautiful and interesting parts of NYC - Chelsea, Greenwich Village, Soho and Tribeca, and by taking the subway (either on the same block or one block away) you can get literally anywhere in the city. The prices are competitive, and value-wise you can't get any better. Everything's clean, a nice breakfast is included (already miss your bagels!), and it's quiet, so you will sleep well. The rooms are a bit small, but hey - I didn't come to this great city just to hang out in the room, although that too would be nice enough - fridge, tv, free wifi, clock with iPod/iPhone dock station, iron and ironing board, and so on. Above all, the friendly staff makes this place a home away from home. Can't recommend a hotel more than I can with this one - you can not go wrong in choosing this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great hotel, with great people. All staff were friendly and helpful and made our time in New York memorable.
Would visit again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We were very impressed with the staff, location and facilities at Chelsea Pines including the Business Centre and fast wi-fi. The rooms are a good size, but we could hear our neighbours through the wall and everyone's doors slamming throughout the floor due to the card access system requiring doors to be closed without handles. They were small issues though and putting some nature sounds on the ipod docking alarm clock soon covered it. Our room overlooked the lovely back garden which could also be enjoyed from the conservatory over breakfast. The breakfast is one of the best we have had anywhere with a massive choice from toast, bagels, muffins and donuts to cereal, yoghurt and fruit as well as juice, tea and coffee. Just wonderful and one of the best reasons to stay here. Thanks to all at Chelsea Pines.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.