We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best 2015 rates book now!
Ranked #1 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Malmö
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Chelsea Pines Inn was perfect for us! We loved the room and the hotel with its vintage posters- We stayed in a standard room that faced the street but we were not bothered by this, the windows took care of the sound. The AC was working fine and was not noisy. The bed and the linnens were comfortable. The bathroom felt newly renovated and very clean. You told the reception when you left for the day and when you come back the room was perfectly cleaned. ( Even the shower was cleaned thouroughly which I've noticed that they often do not clean even at more luxury hotels!). AND a big plus was the free Wifi that worked perfectly!

The included selfservice breakfast was very tasty! We had toasted bagels with peanutbutter and honey and yoghurt with fresh strawberries and blackberries every morning. mmm.

The staff was relaxed and friendly - helped you if you wanted help and left you alone if you where in that mood.
And then there was Charlie- the cat! He's the coolest cat and just bring a home away from home-feeling to the place.

This little hotel is a very nice place to stay if you are looking for a small, cozy place in a perfect location in New York! I highly recomend it and will definitely come back the next time me and my husband go to NYC!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    239
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
184
851
179
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I had a terrific time at this hotel - the staff were great and were particularly helpful when I lost my wallet and needed some assistance. Loved the rooms and decor, breakfast was good, and it was in a great location, super close to the subway! I've recommended to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed at the chelsea pinn twice this august and I so much loved it! The guys were extremely supportive and caring and so nice. And funny, too. Felt a little bit like home away from home :). The rooms are nicely decorated with attention to detail and the breakfast offered a broad range of choices, including fresh fruits every day. So, I would highly recommend the place and definitely will stay there again for my next new york trip!

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We followed the advice of reviewers on Trip Advisor as we regularly do. All the feedback was right. This hotel is well located and a really great place to stay. The staff are very friendly and more than happy to help with advice about where to go, how to get there, what to do and where to eat. We decided to upgrade to a suite and it was money well spent as it gives you a bit more room to stretch your legs. Charlie Chaplin (the cat) adds a really personal touch. Thanks to Daniel and the other staff and a special thanks to Jay with his matching glasses and ties. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn while in New York to visit NYU with my sixteen year-old daughter. Jay and his staff couldn't have been more accommodating, and the location was ideal for exploring Chelsea and Greenwich Village. The hotel itself provides comfortable, clean rooms whimsically decorated with movie posters of Hollywood stars of the past. Our room was small, but we didn't mind at all as we were out and about in the city every day and really only came "home" to put our feet up for a few minutes in the afternoon and to sleep later at night. Each morning, we found a copy of the "Chelsea Morning" newsletter under our door, telling us about selected events and sights to see in the city. The inn's continental breakfast was fresh, tasty and nutritious even for my vegan daughter. We walked to the High Line, Chelsea Market, Washington Square, the East Village, and everywhere in between. My daughter even took a drop-in yoga class at the nearby Integral Yoga center and shopped at their health food store. We used the Chelsea Inn "business center" to check email/facebook each day, an important amenity for us as we were traveling far from home. Jay very kindly held our luggage on the morning we checked out so we could visit NYU and then return to pick up our bags after our tour. He even welcomed us to sit and chat in the dining room for a short while until we had to leave to catch our train. If having a huge hotel room that you can waltz around in is your cup of tea, the Chelsea Pines Inn may not be for you, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced, safe, comfortable hotel and a hotel staff that will make you feel at home in the Big Apple, I recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was the perfect place for my daughter and I to stay during our recent trip to NYC. The staff was excellent, always willing to help (better than waiting in long concierge lines at large hotels). We were steps from the subway and easily could get uptown and downtown. Also just a 5 minute walk to Chelsea Market and great restaurants. The rooms though small were fine for us since we were out all day. They were also clean and quiet!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

As many other reviewers mentioned, the Chelsea Pines Inn is situated in a perfect location, many interesting spots in the Meatpacking District, West Village and Chelsea can be reached within a few minutes (the new High Line Park, restaurants, bars, etc.). Moreover, to the next subway station on 14th street it's only a 2 minutes walk. The rooms are offered at a very reasonable rate given the very high price level in Manhattan - even a continental breakfast is included. Staff was efficient, friendly, and helpful.
We had a quiet room facing the courtyard on the 5th floor, air-condition was working properly. Since we booked a single room for two we didn't expect a spacious room, but it proved to be large enough to be comfortable. The bathroom was sufficiently clean and high-quality toiletries are provided.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.