We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Gracious Staff, Grand Overall Experience!‎” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best 2015 rates book now!
Ranked #1 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Gracious Staff, Grand Overall Experience!‎”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We checked in Friday April 9 for a long weekend of planned activities. From the moment of arrival I sensed we had made the right decision. While co-owner Jay was giving my wife, JoAnn, a first-hand review of the top dining spots within walking distance and beyond, concierge Al was informing me of the parking options. When I mentioned a preference for off street parking, Al (literally) ran to the nearby parking garage - less than a half block away - to check on space, and happily reported there were a couple of spots available! He then snatched our luggage while I parked the car and we were off and running on our 3-night adventure. I returned to the front desk as Jay was instructing JoAnn on the fine points of the NY subway system. His mini-lesson was so effective that we became subway aficionados for the first time in our many trips to NYC. The importance of this newly discovered resource is that we can now stay at Chelsea Pines for future NYC adventures, no matter where they are centered!
Upon arriving at our third floor room, which was squeaky clean and at perfect temperature, we tuned in the weather channel on the high def TVs (one in each room of our spacious 2-room suite). Each of the rooms has its own central air conditioning, which makes controlling the environment a snap. The overall feel of our suite was as if it were newly decorated and appointed, a comforting feeling indeed!
We decided to stay close by for dinner, since one of Jay's recommendations was the Crispo Restaurant (northern Italian), just a block away. Well, Crispo was delightful, from the homemade pasta to the porcini mushrooms and a nice Italian wine list, as were other places recommended by Jay in the Village, particularly those on Cornelia Street, about a ten minute walk from the Inn. I must also mention that just around the corner from the Inn is the Chelsea Market, former home of the National Biscuit Company which now offers shops, food stores and restaurants in a historical backdrop that is well worth a visit.
After two full days of tourist attractions, Broadway and the many delights of Chelsea and Greenwich Village, we were ready for some afternoon relaxation before our final evening of fun. The Inn includes an inviting outdoor garden area, which is perfect for kicking back with a glass of wine and your favorite cigar after a long day of touring. While enjoying our time in the garden we were joined for a short visit by Troy, manager of guest services at Chelsea Pines. Troy is a warm and engaging gentleman who brings a wealth of experience and expertise to keeping guests comfortable and happy. He fits perfectly into this well managed establishment, which we will definitely be visiting for years to come!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    239
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
184
851
179
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We reserved a quiet room to the back side and got it :)
Receptionists were very friendly and helpful in all matters!
We would always come back to the same place when we return to NYC.
Miau regards to Charly from our Tipsytiger ;-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Having stayed at the Chelsea Pines inn before the purpose of my recent trip to New York was for business - yet again, Chelsea Pines did not disappoint! With free wifi available in all bedrooms, and 2 pc's in the hotel business centre for when ones office provided equipment fails to work (!) it was a great base to do business from. I stayed with a colleague who just fell in love with the place and the fantastically helpful staff. Who wants to stay in a faceless hotel when you have such a place as Chelsea Pines!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Agree with fellow travellers that the location is good, although W14th is a major thoroughfare and if your room is at the front (which our's was) then it can be quite noisy - and especially so I would expect in summer months with the window open. The room was fine, although the "sofabed" turned out to be a single day couch. Two other issues: we requested a wake up call at 4:45 am as we had an early flight and it didn't happen until 5 am - and as we had a car booked at 5:15 this proved a problem. And lastly there is a lovely cat there called Charlie, but as one of our party is quite allergic he had real problems as the cat has free reign over the place. Everyone was friendly and helpful so would give it another go on balance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Had a 5 night stay in New York in March. Stayed at this hotel after looking for something affordable and in a good location. This was ideal as its in Chelsea close to Greenwich and the Meatpacking District and away (but walkable) from the madness of Times Sq. The staff are great, breakfasts are good, with a decent choice and adequately prepare you for a day's sightseeing.
The Hollywppd themed rooms may not be to everyones taste but I quite liked them They were also bigger than I expected, clean and well equipped. The breakfast room is nice and cozy and the garden is a pleasant surprise (its been lanscaped since our visit too). All in all a great little hotel in a fantastic location...will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stay in New York four or five times a year. i chose Chelsea Pines just to try something different. It's fine. But the breakfast was rubbish and the place is so in need of some fresh paint. Cleaning wasn't great either of the two nights we were there. On the upside, it's fairly quiet and has a good computer and web connection if you don't have a laptop. But you can get much better for the same price. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I work for a nonprofit, so we can't afford to stay at pricey hotels. Still, we didn't want to stay somewhere totally soul-less either. My coworker found the Chelsea Pines online, and I can't recommend it highly enough. The classic movie theme (each room is named after a different star and decorated accordingly) gives it lots of personality; the rooms are big by NY standards; and breakfast is tasty (there's chocolate at the front desk all day long).

But the best thing about the Chelsea Pines is the staff. Every person we encountered was genuine and helpful. Each morning they slip a newsletter of things to do in the area under your door, which is how I learned about the Tenement Museum, an awesome piece of history I hadn't discovered on any of my previous visits to the city. And when I say the staff is friendly, I of course include Charlie, the hotel's mustached black and white cat, who took several naps on my bed during my stay. Few things could have made me feel more at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.