We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like comming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book direct and save!
Ranked #1 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Hvidovre, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just like comming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I has stayed at this hotel 3 times and every time it has gotten better, The location is perfect, the rooms are clean and comfy and the staff are the friendliest we have ever met. They really make you feel at home. From the moment you set foot in CPI you feel welcome and like a friend of the house.
We simply will not stay in another hotel in New York - EVER :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    229
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
173
802
165
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you read this, you'll want to stay here. And then when we try and book a room, it will be full. But if you did read this even though you were told not to, here is the skinny..... This is such a treasure. The location is fantastic BUT it is the people that make it. You get such warm and personal attention while you are there. The rooms are just what you need for NYC, clean and comfortable with personality. The Highline is close, the subway is close. Tons of good restaurants in walking distance. Start your day off with a good breakfast (European style) and then let the folks at CP help you plan your day. Just make sure you leave some room for us.

Room Tip: no restaurant or fitness center. no elevator if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went in March and the staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and I really felt as if they wanted my first trip to the city to be very special. The bed was especially comfortable and the room clean and spacious. The stairs are quite steep and there is no lift, but that didn't matter even after a long day of walking.
It was especially lovely to be able to help yourself to teas and coffees up until 11pm at night with usually some cake or other food to nibble if peckish. It really is an intimate hotel and located near to lots of restaurants.
I would definitely go back..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Before we stayed at CPI the first time 1.5 years ago I asked a business partner and friend for a recommendation for a hotel in NYC.

He highly recommended CPI as a charming hotel with a friendly and caring staff, located in the meatpacking district, the place to be/stay when you are in NYC. What we experienced during our first and second stay exceeded our expextations by far.

The staff not only cared for us, they made us feel at home. We got recommendations for places to see like the Highline, for shows, restaurants and little shops and cafes.

The rooms are charming and quiet, every single of which named after a Hollywood actress or actor with movie posters hanging on the walls. We enjoyed breakfast inside or on the nice garden terrace between flowers and trees (from time to time togehter with Charly, the cute CPI cat, living in the hotel all his life).

The location of the CPI is phantastic. The entrance to the Metro is just 20 metres away, the area is not only packed with restaurants, bars and shops but also charming and safe day and night.

We highly recommend the CPI to all nice and open-minded travellers from all over the world who are looking for a charming non-standard hotel and staff and a stay to remember!

Marc & Deborah

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This place offers the best value for money in New York. The location is excellent, really near the subway and walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and they provide great bath products. We absolutely love Jay (the owner), who is so friendly and helpful, and gave us good recommendations for restaurants and things-to-do around the area. He even lent us an umbrella for a rainy New York day and when we left in a taxi after checking out, he sent us out to the car and gave us a bottle of mineral water each for the journey. Such thoughtfulness and attention-to-detail are what distinguishes Chelsea Pines from a generic and conventional hotel. We would definitely stay here the next time we're in New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great location, great people, great premises; wonderful welcome to this most fantastic of cities. The welcome was very warm and the accommodation was certainly large enough and very comfortable. Breakfast was well prepared and tasted great. There was a great choice and the kitchen/dining area has a very nice conservatory/garden area.The staff couldn't do enough to help and make the most of my (all too short) stay but at the same time I felt I had all the freedom I needed to come and go as I pleased. The location was ideal for me, the neighbourhood is interesting, attractive and nowhere in the city is too far to travel with a subway station at the end of the block. I loved that Chelsea Pines is not one of those huge hotels, this is a much more personal experience and in a much quieter area than others you may consider. This was my first visit to NYC and I fell in love; I will be back and would certainly hope to stay again at the Chelsea Pines.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor and it's a walk up - if that is likely to be too much for you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My family and I spent six wonderful nights at the CPI recently. Thanks to Jay and his all-around excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff for all they did to make us comfortable and happy. We loved the Rock Hudson room, which was perfect for our family of three. Everything about the CPI was perfect for our needs, the location, the accommodations, the breakfast room, the spot on advice and, yes, even the hike to the 5th floor! You can eat your way through NYC and work it off at the same time. We are looking forward to our next trip and to seeing all the new friends we made at the CPI.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean more stairs but don't let that deter you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;