We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special pre-holiday rates
Ranked #1 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Assuming you are not looking for a cookie-cutter hotel in Times Square, there is nothing bad to say about the Chelsea Pines Inn. Clean rooms and common areas, wonderful service, helpful staff, great breakfasts to start the day and a nice location. We didn't use the subway, but if it's not within walking distance (and, really, there's a lot to see and do in CP's neighbourhood) there is nowhere to get to that's not more than a $10-15 cab ride away. The suites are fine for a small family, if you want separate sleeping areas. And if it's suggested that the bathrooms are small, the trade-off is a good shower and big fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Check the website to know where your selected room type is located. We got our suite on the third (r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    235
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
182
836
175
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend went to NYC for the first time, and chose this hotel based on reviews. I actually proposed to my girlfriend there and lovely Jay and Anna prepared amazing breakfast for us and made our stay an unforgettable experience! The area is also one of the best in NYC for food and drink, even if you are staying somewhere else in the City you will go back to the neighbourhood in the evenings. We are definitely going back to the City and we will definitely stay in Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stay overnight in NYC several times during a month and when our usual hotel was booked, we were eager to try a highly rated TA recommendation. We stayed for several nights and we were frankly disappointed with the cramped room (the Albert Finney) and being awakened very early every morning by staff preparing the kitchen. I love the location, but you can find better accommodation in NYC for the money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in New York City in March 2014 and it was the best holiday we've ever had. And thanks goes, in no small part, to Jay and all the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn.

Think of the accommodation itself as a fine European hotel, quirky and wonderful, impeccably clean, serving up a terrific breakfast and snacks throughout the day, located in the perfect part of the city (Chelsea and Greenwich Village, a few minutes subway ride to the theatre district, Times Square or Central Park or wherever you want to be, pleasant walking all around the neighbourhood and The Highline Park and Chelsea Market are right at the doorstep).

And then let's add the service... What can I say about the service that hasn't already been said? Let me just say this: everyone there is extremely knowledgeable about the city and its delights: the theatre, the restaurants, the transit, the boroughs, the off-the-beaten-track sights, the restaurants, the music, the restaurants, (did I mention the restaurants?!!) They know their stuff and they're generous with their knowledge and their time. And most importantly, they truly enjoy helping to make your stay a perfect experience. In a word, Jay and all the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn are this: they're genuine.

I recommend Chelsea Pines Inn strongly and whole-heartedly. Stay there; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I read the reviews on TripAdvisor before making my reservation and it was everything and more than expected. We were looking for a low key place to stay during our daughter's Juilliard audition and this was the perfect spot! My husband traveled with my daughter and they just loved the "at home feel" of the Inn. Charlie the cat was a wonderful addition to their stay. My daughter and husband commented on how clean the Inn is and they really enjoyed the breakfast and coffee.The Inn was a short subway ride to Manhattan which made for a stress free audition. Thank you for the kind hospitality you extended to my family!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chelsea Pines is in a killer location near the highline, Chelsea and Greenwich. We walked pretty much everywhere. Friendly hotel with clean and functional rooms. Not glamorous but very nice. No lift so ask for a 2/3 floor room. Long walk up higher than that!!!!!!

Room Tip: Floors 2 and 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

As most reviews will tell, the hospitality of the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn is impeccable. They really set the standard for customer service. They will do anything for you with such a good attitude and vast knowledge of the city.

My two cents about the stairs: you only walk up the stairs about once or twice a day because you will be out in the city as you're not staying in an all inclusive resort all day long, do not worry about your bags they will gladly carry your bags up and down the stairs, and if you have a problem with a few flights of stairs then NYC is probably not the place for you.

The cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding, and the location is great because Chelsea is a nice neighborhood and you are steps away from the subway. Of course, if you're looking for something in Times Square then obviously you would not consider it a good location, but hopefully you have the intellect to understand that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.