We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabtastic Chelsea Pines Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Lowest rates of the year!
Ranked #1 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabtastic Chelsea Pines Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a fantastic visit to NYC Oct 2013 with my wife for my 50th birthday, stayed at Chelsea Pines Inn , everything about this hotel is excellent staff, facilities, location and of course Charlie. Easy to get to and from JFK on Metro. Cannot find any faults with this hotel stayed for 6 nights had a great stay, Jay and ALL of his staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    239
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
183
851
179
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Chelsea Pines Inn last week and were thrilled with this hotel. Every single employee that we encountered was gracious, friendly and helpful. The owner, Jay, was a joy to meet. He went out of his way to get Bialys for Jeff and I to enjoy for breakfast. This was not upon a request from us, it was just because I mentioned in a conversation that we liked them. Our stay was booked on short notice, so in order to accommodate us we stayed in three different rooms over the four nights. The staff took care if moving everything for us and we were so happy to be able to stay here. The continental breakfast buffet was lovely. Fresh baked breads, croissants, and muffins, as well as assorted meats, cheeses and hard boiled eggs graced the buffet each morning. There were juices, espresso, coffee and teas to choose from and the jams and jellies for the toasts were top notch. Each room was comfortable and uniquely decorated. I loved that there was a fan in each room for our use. I also found the quality of the sheets, mattresses and towels to be superb. I look forward to our next visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just returned from the Chelsea Pines Inn having had a superb holiday, largely as a result of the fantastic staff at this hotel. On what was our first visit to the States, Jay, Troy, Al and Rumel (as well as all the other staff) could not have been more friendly and helpful, giving great advice on the best places to visit and the best restaurants to dine in. The hotel's location is excellent, only a five minute walk to the High Line or Chelsea Market (both well worth visiting) or a ten minute stroll to the heart of Greenwich Village with all its restaurants and bars. There is so much going on in such a small area. The subway is only two minutes away for travelling further afield, although many of the sights can be reached on foot from the hotel. The rooms are quirky, spotlessly clean and very comfortable with great en-suite facilities. The breakfasts are excellent, especially Jay's fresh bread, which changes daily. The hotel newsletter, which is delivered to each room every morning is a really nice touch. We really cannot praise this hotel enough, and will definitely stay here when we return to NYC. As I said, this is a very special hotel run by very special people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have never felt compelled to write a review before but the 7 nights stay we have just had at The Chelsea Pines is the best reason to do so.
From the moment we arrived on the Saturday night to the time we left a week later we has such wonderful service from all staff - from the lady on reception to the young chap sorting out the breakfast stuff. They couldn't do enough for you.
The breakfast was fantastic and always freshly replenished. Daily bread (all manner of different flavours) cooked by the owner owner was a real treat.
Great location, clean and homely. Wouldn't hesitate recommending The Chelsea Pines to anyone. Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here over the Summer. Simply put, the staff at this Inn makes all of the difference. While the rooms are a bit on the smaller side, they are very comfortable and make for a good night's sleep (btw, you are in NYC, who needs to sleep?).

There is a daily newsletter with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The staff is more than willing to help arrange tours and offer logistical suggestions (take free Staten Island Ferry for a view of the Statue of Liberty). Their restuarant suggestions (CookShop and Rafael) were spot on.

Location is ideal near subway and High Line. We even walked all the way to Brooklyn from the Inn and back.

Will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. NOTE: No elevator so if stairs are a problem, look elsewhere or request first floor.

Room Tip: Ground floor if climbing stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A two week holiday to celebrtate my first 50yrs booked by my wife. Starting off with 4 nights in this superb boutique style hotel.
Couldn't fault them. Great friendly service, relaxed and welcoming surroundings allowed us to feel right at home from the start.
Chelsea and the surrounding neighbourhoods turned out to be our favourite. Much to see in the area and travel beyond is easy.
They certainly deserve their Tripadvisor rating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited New York to celebrate my retirement. We had a wonderful time and this was made all the better by staying at the Chelsea Pines. It's in a great location in Chelsea right next to the West Village. The subway is a block away, the Highline at the end of the street and the area has great restaurants if you're staying local any evening. We stayed in a bedroom suite on the third floor (2nd floor for those in the UK!) - two rooms that gave the three of us plenty of space and my daughter some privacy.

Jay has assembled a great team of staff. All friendly and very helpful. A particular mention for Anna, Jason and Troy. The breakfasts are great (we ate in the garden even in October) and coffee and cakes are waiting when you return after a hard day's sightseeing. And free Wi-Fi.

We are always wary of giving recommendations. But if you are looking for a really friendly place with excellent service in a great location downtown then we would highly recommend the Chelsea Pines. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else when we go back to New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.