We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 449 hotels in New York City
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here over the Summer. Simply put, the staff at this Inn makes all of the difference. While the rooms are a bit on the smaller side, they are very comfortable and make for a good night's sleep (btw, you are in NYC, who needs to sleep?).

There is a daily newsletter with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. The staff is more than willing to help arrange tours and offer logistical suggestions (take free Staten Island Ferry for a view of the Statue of Liberty). Their restuarant suggestions (CookShop and Rafael) were spot on.

Location is ideal near subway and High Line. We even walked all the way to Brooklyn from the Inn and back.

Will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. NOTE: No elevator so if stairs are a problem, look elsewhere or request first floor.

Room Tip: Ground floor if climbing stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,107
    220
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
159
760
158
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A two week holiday to celebrtate my first 50yrs booked by my wife. Starting off with 4 nights in this superb boutique style hotel.
Couldn't fault them. Great friendly service, relaxed and welcoming surroundings allowed us to feel right at home from the start.
Chelsea and the surrounding neighbourhoods turned out to be our favourite. Much to see in the area and travel beyond is easy.
They certainly deserve their Tripadvisor rating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited New York to celebrate my retirement. We had a wonderful time and this was made all the better by staying at the Chelsea Pines. It's in a great location in Chelsea right next to the West Village. The subway is a block away, the Highline at the end of the street and the area has great restaurants if you're staying local any evening. We stayed in a bedroom suite on the third floor (2nd floor for those in the UK!) - two rooms that gave the three of us plenty of space and my daughter some privacy.

Jay has assembled a great team of staff. All friendly and very helpful. A particular mention for Anna, Jason and Troy. The breakfasts are great (we ate in the garden even in October) and coffee and cakes are waiting when you return after a hard day's sightseeing. And free Wi-Fi.

We are always wary of giving recommendations. But if you are looking for a really friendly place with excellent service in a great location downtown then we would highly recommend the Chelsea Pines. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else when we go back to New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would agree that this hotel had excellent service and personnel, as well as a great location. I found the rooms to be VERY small, even by NYC standards - and I stayed in an upgraded room. The bathroom was so small it was hard for even one small person to maneuver. The furnishings were just average. But I definitely enjoyed my stay thanks to the very pleasant service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First visit to Chelsea Pines to celebrate our Golden Wedding in the big Apple. Warm, welcoming and very helpful check-in after a long flight. Great room with comfortable bed and splendid shower. Plus a surprise; a card, chocolates and flowers! Super breakfast. Central for easy visiting of New York's attractions and easy travel from JFK. What could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I sincerely cannot think of a better place to stay in New York than Chelsea Pines Inn. This was my fifth trip to New York and I wanted to stay somewhere small with a personal touch where we could get to know the staff and ask them about the hidden gems of their city. Chelsea Pines Inn is JUST that place.

Every member of staff was courteous, helpful and took a real pride in making Chelsea Pines Inn a great home for holidaymakers. Jay greeted us with warmth, humour and interest in our impressions of his city, Lewis helped us to find spoken word nights and ukulele clubs so we could indulge in our passion whilst on holiday, Jason kept the breakfast coming every morning, Anna chatted to us about her time in Leeds and it felt like we were all part of the family.

The Inn is beautifully decorated, comfortable and within walking distance of some of New York's gems, The Highline, Chelsea Market, West Village, The Hudson River Waterfront are just a short walk away.

We will definitely come back to Chelsea Pines Inn. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were attracted to this hotel by the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed by this charming bed and breakfast. We had a great welcome from Louis, who like others on the staff took an interest in all that we did and gave helpful advice. We found the whole place positively quirky, with the film star named rooms and the posters everywhere.

Breakfast was good and someone was always there to make sure plenty of food was available. We were encouraged to help ourselves all day long and fell into the habit of returning in the afternoon for tea and whatever cake or pie was laid out. The location was excellent, very close to the subway and lots of interesting restaurants, especially in Chelsea Market. The High Line is a splendid walk and Greenwich Village is good just to wander.

We also found the Chelsea Pines quiet. In such a busy city this is unusual, but we slept deeply and comfortably. You should be conscious of the lack of a lift (elevator!), but for any reasonably active person this is not a problem.

Overall, we had a great stay and would certainly stay here again without hesitation; thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.