We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like coming home, after our busy sight seeing days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was like coming home, after our busy sight seeing days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were so glad that we had heard about Chelsea Pines from Trip Advisor. It was beyond our expectations! Our room was small but perfectly thought out. My husband even had a desk to do necessary e-mail/downloading pictures etc. In our reservations, we were asked whether we wanted a room facing the garden and I believe we could request a floor. We are over 60 so did not want to be slogging suitcases up flights of stairs but the staff offered to do this for us, so it wasn't a problem. We found it very quiet. The first day we were welcomed warmly by Anna and she gave us a brochure of area businesses, which was helpful. We did the Highline from one end to the other and back and it was a great introduction to people watching in New York and the unique use of space. The vegetation was lovely and it was great to have a vigorous walk. It is busier at the start but the crowd thins as you go further. The Chelsea market is just around the corner. Our son and his wife stayed in the Times Square area and it was certainly a lot more hectic... we were always glad to "head home" to Chelsea Pines. We ate breakfast ourdoors every morning and throroughly enjoyed that. Food was great, daily news sheet and great help by Jay and everyone else to manoeuvre the subway and buses. One tip, get a Metro pass if you are there for a while...it is invaluable!! Being animal lovers we thought Charlie, the cat, was a welcome addition.

Room Tip: Probably overlooking the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    244
    42
    9
    10
See reviews for
193
881
192
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we rang the door bell our stay was memorable as Jay and his staff treated us as family. The room was spotless, breakfast foodstuffs were a great way to fuel a frenetic day but most importantly Jay's advice was priceless. From restaurant suggestions to transit advice, the Chelsea Pines Team helped make our NYC stay a magical experience. Highly recommended. And try the Lobster Roll at Chelsea Market - it's to die for!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Being a frequent visitor to New York since the 80's and normally staying in Central Manhattan, we fancied a change and having read previous reviews how could we not try the Chelsea Pines. The reviews were spot on, from the moment we arrived to the day we left everyone was so helpful and friendly. We stayed for 5 nights and this place is so handy for getting to all places in New York, uptown and downtown as the subway is a short walk away. Walking (and boy did we walk) is so easy from here too and it is a fantastic neighbourhood, great restaurants, shops and The Highline is a stroll away as is Chelsea Market which shouldn't be missed.
Carol fell in love with Charlie the cat (and not just any old cat - he is famous around the globe!)
Our room was on the top floor and as there is no lift, not recommended if you do have problems with tackling several flights of stairs, it didn't put us off though and we are in our late 60's. Troy and Jay are so knowledgeable about New York, they can give great tips on what's hot and what's not. We hope to return again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited the Chelsea Pines Inn during our honeymoon in September. We were really impressed with the hotel, and it was exactly what we wanted - a quirky relaxed environment as a base for exploring the city. We were in the Debbie Reynolds suite - which wasn't massive, but exactly what we expected for NYC. The best thing about the hotel is all of the little touches - espresso makers in the rooms, free cookies and freshly made drinks liked ice tea and lemonade available all day. Breakfast was also fab! Lots on offer and I ate far too much every day. Jay, the owner was really lovely and gave us lots of good tips about the area. He also gave us a lovely card and chocolates to congratulate us on our honeymoon. On our first morning he also made 'honeymoon' bread, which was delicious! All of the other staff were fab too, on checking in we were given a fantastic list of local restaurants and a map of local shops. We'd definitely recommend the Spice Market restaurant, and the local ink stamp shop. My only slight criticism was that the rooms were noisy at night due to road noise - but we got used to it. Plus the location was so great that it really didn't matter.

I was a little cautious of all the positive reviews to begin with, as it seemed a bit too good to be true - but I would urge you to book if you're visiting NYC. It isn't a perfect swanky hotel, but it has bags of character - which is much more important to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had a lovely stay here, and looking at the (very few) negative reviews I can only assume they didn't read the description carefully enough - yes, there's no lift, and yes, the rooms billed as single occupancy are small - that can't be a surprise! I found my top-floor room plenty large enough for me, with a good-sized shower, but if I come back with my partner I will probably ask for a larger one and pay a little more. The staff were friendly, the room cosy and the resident cat very sweet. And I ate so much while in New York that 4 flights of stairs probably did me good! The location is great, I can't fault anything really.

Room Tip: Room 506 is a decent size for a single (and has double bed). It overlooks the garden so is quiet. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed here twice recently as part of our 25th wedding anniversary holiday, both times were brilliant from the stylish rooms which were really cosy and romantic with good showers but overall it was Jay and the staff who made it, we were warmly welcomed and Jay spent 10 minutes talking us through places locally to see, provided a list of recommended restaurants and offered to sort out anything we needed. The small breakfast room had water , tea and coffee with afternoon cake and was lovely to sit after a hard days sightseeing. There is a small garden if the weather it was good. We had wondered about the area as few hotels etc but we were steps from a subway stop, there were tons of different restaurants and less than 5 mins walk from the fabulous highline trail. The only downside was we were on the top floor which was 78 steps up and no elevator but we were certainly a lot fitte when we left !

Room Tip: our room at the back was lovely and quiet not sure if there would be traffic noise from those over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've stayed at the Chelsea Pines every year for the last 15 years, and it's just the friendliest place. It's so convenient for the West Village and Chelsea, and there are loads of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff couldn't be more helpful or welcoming, and we call the CPI our home in NYC. Looking forward to our next stay in 2014!

Room Tip: 'Paul Newman' is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#11 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.