We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best rates, book direct!
Ranked #1 of 447 hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“So welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had the pleasure of staying here in late August. The Chelsea Pines Inn is not only in a fantastic location (just a couple of minutes walk to the Chelsea Market, the High Line and the subway station is about a hundred metres away) but has the most accommodating staff I have ever encountered.
We had no issues of finding things to do as Jay and the rest of the staff always had helpful suggestions and pointers.
The breakfast every morning is delicious with homemade bread, fresh fruit and pastries and the hotel cat is very cute.
If you don't like walking up stairs then I would request a low floor room.
Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,040
    209
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
148
715
145
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I highly recommend Chelsea Pines Inn for your stay in NYC! The location is amazing for this inn, right at the 14th Street subway station, one block from the amazing Chelsea Market and the Highline. The inn is very quiet and the soundproofing is great from city street noise. They offer a complimentery breakfast each day with cheese, yogurt, bread, jam cereal, etc...and the outdoor patio area is very nice. The staff was wonderful, they carried our luggage up to our suite on the 5th floor. Whatever we needed, they would help us out. Troy is very helpful and was a joy to deal with! I rarely ever give a hotel a 5 star rating, but the Chelsea Pines Inn is deserving!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Another stay at the PInes. If we cant get a room here we wont go to NYC. This place is that good!. Thought twice about posting on here as it means we might not get a room but Jay and his great family of staff deserve the review.
I love movies and love the rooms named after stars and the posters. Jay, Troy and the staff are always eager to hear what the guests have done to see whther it is worth putting in the Chelsea Morning. They love feedback. We went to a crap show and Jay was wanting to hear our experience, it was a good story, ask him lol.
All in all a fantastic hotel in a great location and a great price. But please dont all rush there as we want to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

...you'll love the rooms here. I was in the Jeff Chandler room on the 2nd Floor facing the garden. It was perfect for one person, but would be too small for two. Updated bath was excellent and amenities were replaced daily. The continental breakfast is top notch and European in style, but the space is tight, which means you'll often bump into fellow guests. Location is perfect with a subway stop 1/2 block away, the High Line about 3 blocks away and the wonderful Chelsea Market about 2 blocks away. (Definitely plan to dine at least once at one of the several venues in the Chelsea Market, but be aware that they close fairly early - 9:00 or so.)
Staff were excellent without exception and very eager to provide neighborhood and beyond suggestions. They even arranged for fixed price car service to JFK. Highly recommended for a solo traveler or, in a larger room, a couple.

Room Tip: Unless you prefer urban noise, ask for a room facing the rear garden. As others have noted - no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Chelsea Pines Inn is the place I recommend ever since my wife and i spent a wonderful week in this special place: quality and customized services, dedicated team (caring, professional and passionate). This hotel has the size of a boutique hotel, the services any business traveler needs and touch of "i'm home" that few B&B manage to reach. Congratulations to Jay and his team, l look forward to my next stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very friendly, good service and helpful staff, room is not to big but is very clean.
Small breakfast is very good : cheese, bread, jam, some fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffe, tea, soft cheese.
Bathroom is separated WC from shower (practical).
The bed is too soft for us. Be aware that there is no elevator, so going up or down with luggage is hard even hotel staff is very kind to help.
Safe box in your room as well a small refigerator, also have a internet room so you can print your boarding pass (no charge)
Rooms are named after old American movie stars, room with the old film posters of the movie star.
Neighbordhood is nice, half block to subway lines A,C,E and 2 blocks for lines 1,2,3
Near High Line Park, that we didn´t know about and they recomended
We recomend the Pizza restaurant Rockys almost crossing the street from the hotel, they are open until 5:00 am

Room Tip: We staid in first floor (no elevator) and in the back so it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raalte, Overijssel, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Located in the Meatpacking district, which is vibrant and gorgeous & a great place to explore from. The subway is right out front. All the rooms are named after famous movie stars and you are treated like one of the family. Very friendly & dedicated staff who make you feel right at home & are very helpful. We loved the breakfast with all the fresh fruit, joghurt, all kinds of tea and coffee, bagels, muffins and cereals. The garden is like an italian patio.
Wonderful location, wonderful place, wonderful staff!
I hope to come back.
Great Place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Chelsea Pines Hotel
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.