We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
BEST RATES, BOOK DIRECT!
Ranked #1 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn is always a wonderful experience. This was the third time we stayed there, and we felt immediately like being back home!
The entire staff is great and extremely accomodating, and so is the owner Jay whose local recommandations are unvaluable (and who arranged for us some last-minute tickets for the show "Pippin" that we adored). The entire staff is always available for a little chat and for giving tips and recommandations.
The Chelsea Pines Inn is a very charming boutique hotel with individually decorated rooms (each one dedicated to a movie star) and all the various rooms we have booked so far have been wonderfully comfortable, nice and clean (we have been in three different rooms throughout our various trips to NYC).
Another thing we loved is the breakfast which offers a good variety of food (homemade bread variations, muffins, bagels, granola, fresh fruits...) and that can be taken in the lovely outdoor patio or in the kitchen area (yes, as we said: it really feels like being home!).
Finally, the Chelsea Pines Inn is perfectly located for exploring the city (very close to 14th Street underground station and walking distance to Greenwich village, Chelsea market and the High Line Park).
We love staying at the the Chelsea Pines Inn, and will be doing so again as soon as we have the chance to get back to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    256
    43
    9
    10
See reviews for
228
933
211
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dresden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed with my father in the Chelsea Pines Inn for some days. We both did like the place.Well, there is no elevator; for me this was no problem, but for others it maybe exhausting walking up to the fourth floor. The breakfast was nice and you could take beverages and food from the kitchen during the day. Most of the guys working there were simpathic and helpful. one of them was quite ignoring, but all the others helped us with sighseeing, maps and taxi to the airport.
the price is high for sure, but quality is good. I felt comfortable there (other guests, interior), even though I normally travel quite cheaper. it is no snobby place, and that is what I liked about it.
location betwenn chelsea and meatpacking district is also great.

Room Tip: Rooms to the street are of course much louder, we had to sleep with windows closed. We had a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When in New York I really cannot recommend anywhere else to stay but this little jewel in Chelsea. From the first moment we walked in we were treated like the many film stars on the wall, like we were the only thing that mattered! Great staff, brilliant location and you really won't find anything better.

The day starts with breakfast heaven including Jay's homemade bread which you must get up early enough so you don't miss it. The many things you can eat just set you up for the day. The chats with guests and staff over a relaxed breakfast is invaluable, you pick up travel tips, local places to eat etc. The staff will book anything for you and no request is too much.

We had the great fortune of being there for gay pride and Jay with his team did not disappoint. Pride party with lovely food right through to pride cupcakes!

Each room is themed around a film star which is fab and we went for a larger suite with seating area which we would recommend. On our last day the team gave us a room later to get ready before our night flight. We cannot thank them enough for that.

Bottom line is this is great value for money, is right by the subway, close to all areas of interest and the staff are great. Best place to stay in NY.

The jewel in the crown though was Charlie the cat who makes your stay even more homely. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My friend and I have started a tradition over the past few years of meeting up in NYC in the summertime, she's from Toronto and I live in Alabama. We've stayed at a few other hotels in New York but none of them even come close to Chelsea Pines Inn. As the other reviewers have mentioned, the staff at the Chelsea Pines Inn make you feel so welcome right from your first walk through the door. The town even takes on a whole new feeling when you get the local recommendations from Jay and his staff. We knew that whenever we had questions about the neighborhood the staff would more than willingly help us out. And, we were both excited to share our daily experiences in the big city at the end of the day with the staff. It was so much fun to get their take on all of the things that we had encountered during the day. All of this was in addition to the more than comfortable room accommodations and the wonderfully yummy daily breakfasts on the outdoor patio. We will go back without question.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had all too short a stay with Jay and his wonderful staff at the Chelsea Pines. The hotel's 'movie' decor and attention to detail make it a wonderful experience. Lovely breakfasts with Jay's homemade breads and beautiful garden courtyard are a brilliant way to start the day or unwind at the finish with afternoon tea. Although we knew most of what we wanted to do, the help in suggesting so much more was so enriching of our stay that it was the cream on the top. The appointment of the rooms is fabulous and it was worth every hour spent on the plane ride from Australia to stay at Chelsea Pines. The location of the hotel is brilliant. Very close to 14th Street underground station. We will certainly be doing so again. This is a lovely boutique hotel where you become part of the family. Love New York, love Chelsea Pines and we love Jay and the team.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The great reviews are true if you are looking for a real taste of NYC and an alternative to the blandness of the international hotel chains.
Right from the friendly welcome to the fond farewell, we felt at home. When we arrived we were given a list of recommended local restaurants and specialty shops in Greenwich Village. Jay, Al and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are quirky with their movie themes but we had plenty of space, the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. There was a beautiful bowl of fresh roses by the bed when we arrived. Every morning there was a Chelsea Morning newsletter under the door with weather forecast and suggestions for the day.
Our room faced the busy street but the soundproofing was good and there were heavy curtains. However, we are accustomed to city noise and light sleepers may not fare as well.
Beyond reception there is a breakfast area and lovely outdoor courtyard. Breakfast was excellent with a range of cereal, bread, muffins, yoghurt, fruit, meats and cheeses, everything you could want, including a coffee machine that makes excellent coffee, according to my husband. Afternoon tea is set out every day.
Yes, there is no lift so you do need to be prepared to walk up stairs but the staff will take suitcases up and down.
The location is excellent, right on the border of Chelsea, the Meatpacking District and Greenwich Village. The Highline is at the end of the street and Chelsea Market is around the corner. There are restaurants of every cuisine and price range all around. And there is a subway station at the end of the block.
Our air conditioner was noisy but we were comfortable sleeping without it.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our small family (myself, SO, and our 17-year-old daughter) stayed at the Chelsea Pines in late July for five nights. This place rocks the Casbah. While rooms are small (ours was a suite overlooking 14th) they are excellently appointed: not a detail is missed. From the plush towels to the gratifyingly comfortable beds (what a find!) to the in-room espresso machine, every amenity has been carefully considered and addressed. Then there's the breakfast: a different homemade bread every day, fruit, cereal, pastries, muffins, yogurt, and a bunch of toppings for everything. Everyone on staff is graciously friendly (Troy's the best!) and the place is constantly being scrubbed and attended to. Best of all, the location is just two blocks from the High Line, the Chelsea Pines is in a great neighborhood. Be sure to say hello to hotel cat Charlie Chaplin whose well-practiced insouciance added its own brand of charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,150 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#263 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.