We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Lowest rates of the year!
Ranked #1 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Wheaton, I
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My friends and I returned to the Chelsea Pines in July. The staff is always so warm and welcoming, we feel like old friends. Breakfast every morning out on the terrace is delicious and relaxing.! Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was wonderful. The location is perfect. The staff is always so kind and helpful with good suggestions of where to visit and dine. My friend lost her tennis bracelet on our way back to the airport. I called and the staff searched for it , even going out to the street and that is where they found it! Can't wait to come back and visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    239
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
183
851
179
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I spent one night at the Chelsea Pines Inn and my stay was perfect! The staff were so friendly and helpful starting from the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Everybody is smiling and ready to answer your questions. The hotel is very close to the Chelsea market and the area surrounding the hotel is beautiful. There is a metro station very close to the hotel, you can get directions from the front desk and get going! The room and the bathroom were very clean which is very important to me. The facilities in the hotel in general were very clean. The breakfast area and the terrace were also nice and cozy. I checked out the next day and left my baggage at the hotel until the time I had to leave to the bus station which was a great service offered by the hotel at no extra charge. I would definitely stay at the Chelsea Pines Inn on my next trip to New York and would highly recommend it to everyone else.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator so if you don't like climbing stairs then try to book a room at the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of this absolute gem - had a fantastic time exploring New York City from this base. The staff were so helpful and friendly, and their tips on things to see and places to eat in the area were pure gold. Will definitely be singing the praises of Chelsea Pines Inn to all our friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family spent a few days in NYC and our visit was made that much more special with our stay at this little special place in Chelsea. Jay, the owner, is what makes this place so special. He is very knowledgeable about all the things to see and the best local places to eat and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We felt like coming home each evening and waking up in our home each day with a nice relaxing simple breakfast.

Please note that if you enjoy the uniformity of a large chain hotel, this is not the place for you. However, if you want to stay at a place where you truly feel that the owner wants and enjoys you being there, then I highly recommend Chelsea Pines Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic 4 night stay. The attention to detail & welcome from all staff is unsurpassed. Rooms small but quirky, it really is a hidden gem. Location very good. We spent 15 nights travelling around the States & this was the best hotel experience of our whole trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Chelsea Pines Inn in New York City is the best kept secret in New York. The quaint rooms are splendidly decorated, comfortable and clean while offering all of the amenities you could possibly ask for. The staff assists up and beyond in recommending entertainment and sites off the beaten path that would have remained unknown without their help. We stay exclusively at Chelsea Pines Inn and have never been disappointed. Once you try them you will never stay anywhere else. It is truly our home away from home.

Debra
Portland, OR

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were New York first-timers and our son found us this Inn. 'Yeah, It'll be great, trust me...' The Reception staff had arranged for a car to collect us from the airport and we were soon in the Jeff Chandler Room making plans. What to see? Where to go? Ask Reception! Throughout our stay they were faultless. Nothing was too much trouble and all of their restaurant recommendations were first class. And how many hotels have their own daily newspaper? And their own daily bread, made by the owner? And a cat that looks like Charlie Chaplin (or, in a different light, Hitler)? The al-fresco breakfast set us up every day and the staff were always interested to hear of our exploits when we arrived back. It was like staying with good friends that you have known for years. Jay, the owner, is worth the trip on his own! He spent his time teaching me how to say New York' properly (NU YAWK), but had to admit that I had 'Noo Joisey' down pat! The party to welcome summer was a blast and everyone working at the Inn was unfailingly charming and helpful. The location is brilliant - next to the subway, in Chelsea, a couple of streets from the Village and in walking distance (I know - we did it) of every location you could want to visit in this great city. But it's the owner and staff that make this place SO special. Wonderful, warm, amusing and intelligent. Maybe one day all hotels will be like this. But in the meantime, we'll keep this place to ourselves.....

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlook the small garden/patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.