We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 449 hotels in New York City
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Chelsea Pines Inn, in the beginning of june. It was our first time in New York and it could not have been better. Everything was just perfect at Chelsea Pines. The neighboorhood is fantastic, with great restaurants, stores and subway just a few steps away. The hotel is cozy and beautifully decorated. The breakfest is marvelous: all fresh and delicious. Last but not least, the staff is something else. Everyone treats you as if a guest in their own home. You barely remember you're in a hotel. Troy, Jay and Anna are the sweetest. When we get back to New Yor, we'll definitely stay at Chelsea Pines again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,107
    220
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
159
760
158
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chelsea Pines Inn was a wonderful place to stay to really have a taste of what it's like to live in the City. The rooms are very nice and homey, the staff personal and very accommodating. Very easy access to any place you want to go. It was just terrific staying in such a personal hotel. It really made my trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A personal hotel with extremely helpful staff. Rooms are also rather big for NYC, and the location is good with the E- and L-train stations right next to the hotel. The breakfast is also good and sufficient, which is rather exceptional in the US/NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wonderful sums up the Chelsea Pines just fine. Excellent location,comfortable accommodations, extraordinary staff. After the great included breakfast,the entire city is easily accessible by subway located minutes from the inn,or, you can just enjoy the neighborhood that contains many fine restaurants, shops, art galleries, and, the lovely Highline, an urban park.When in New York, the Chelsea Pines Inn is always our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Chelsea Pines Inn from June 23rd to June 27th in the Ann-Margaret room, and everything good that you read here is true, the Chelsea Pines is an absolute gem. The owner Jay has assembled a fabulous team of people to work here, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful and really seems to enjoy working here. If you're like me and place a priority on cleanliness, you will be completely satisfied. We loved the old-Hollywood celebrity themed rooms, and the breakfast each morning was fantastic (my husband particularly enjoyed the fresh-baked 'bread of the day' each morning). We also appreciated the cookie jar and the lemonade or iced tea made available all day in the kitchen. And we loved Charlie, who is a delight.

The location is excellent, it's located on the same block as a subway station, and within easy walking distance to the Highline, fabulous shopping, and incredible restaurants.

We are planning to return to New York next year and we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We started out our vacation knowing it would be an excellent adventure but little did we know how much the staff at Chelsea Pines Inn would take it over the top. We received a warm welcome, never had to worry about how to get from one place to another. Their restaurant recommendations were on the money. We felt at home especially coming down for breakfast in the mornings. It felt like the other guests were family as we shared our previous day's experiences. Jay and his staff are awesome!! Wouldn't have changed anything about our trip. Thanks again, Jay, Anna, Romel, and Troy, for sharing in our celebration. This will always be our "home away from home" when in NY.

Room Tip: If you can't walk stairs, please be sure to let them know as there is no elevator due to the age...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling to New York City for the first time, we have used Trip Advisor before to independently book a hotel so thought we would use Trip Advisor again.
When I read the Trip Advisor reviews I always hope they are accurate,but I always have that anxious wait until I see the hotel and room where I will be staying and call 'home' for the next few days/weeks, so when my wife and I arrived at The Chelsea Pines Inn we wasn't disappointed. We received a warm welcome from Jay, and once the formalities of credit cards and hair dryers was sorted ( lthough the rooms don't have a hair dryer they are available on request) Jay gave us a thorough description of places of interest, bars, restaurants and shops local to the area including maps. Our room was on the second floor (UK first floor) The Susan Haywood room, to be honest I thought the room was very competitively priced (basing this on London Hotels), it was clean, the bed was firm and very comfy (we stayed for 15 nights) and it was just what we needed for a City holiday - somewhere to eat breakfast, sleep and shower, I was surprised to find a fridge which came in very handy(especially when there wasn't a hair dryer as standard in the room). The breakfast was excellent (some plain bread for toasting would be a good addition for the British visitors) and convenient, it certainly stopped us wasting time looking for somewhere to get breakfast each day. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Rumel and Anna. I would defiantly recommend this Hotel to stay in, it is ideally located, only 2 minutes from the Subway station. The Meat Packing area is very vibrant, and the Highline beautifully planted like an English Country Garden - All of New York is very accessable from this professionally run hotel just make sure you pack some comfy shoes, New York is a giant city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.