We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Save Saved
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 452 hotels in New York City
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hands down, this is my favorite place I have ever stayed in New York City. The rooms are spotless, the decor is fun, the location perfect, and the service impeccable. Most delightful is the sense of welcoming and warmth--we felt we belonged there even though our stay lasted only a few days. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: There is no elevator; so if climbing stairs is an issue, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,155
    228
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
169
788
164
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed a few weeks ago while looking for an apartment for my son, who will be starting graduate school. Chelsea Pines made an otherwise daunting experience pleasant. The location and relaxed atmosphere were major bonuses. We could eat a wonderful (and included) breakfast before pounding the pavement, stop back mid-day for coffee and biscotti (also on the house) and enjoy the use of free Wi-Fi at night to contact relators. A true bargain for the excellent location.
Not your average place to stay, rather a unique experience. Clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly and awesome breakfasts, which alone would cost $20 in the city.
Convenient parking garage right next door, really met all our needs. My son found a great apartment, we learned a lot about the neighborhood, and will surely be back when we visit him.

Room Tip: Compact, yet comfortable. You're in NYC...how much time are you going to spend in your room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Chelsea is located in a fantastic part of NY and has a beautiful garden and kitchen facility. Also, I noticed at some hotels they love to give you an expensive looking room but the place just isn't scrubbed and clean. This place really cleaned their bathrooms nicely.

I really liked how much character it had but what really made it for me was the service, they were incredibly thoughtful and friendly. I happened to mention to one member of the staff that I was going to a birthday dinner and when I got back to my room in the evening, I had such a lovely surprise from the staff!

It really made me feel special and was such a wonderful end to the day. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberrohrdorf
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

you guys are amazing! location is perfect, close to nice restaurants, the subway and the beautiful greenwich village! staff is very friendly, charming and helpful with everything you want! we will come back for sure, there's no better place to stay in nyc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and daughter spent a week in NY for tourism and shopping and based on Trypadvisor booked in Chelsea Pines Inn, the experience was great, located in a very convenient place with a nice set up of the rooms and the best was a very nice attidute of all the staff of the hotel. everything was settled promptly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holstein, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First trip to NYC for my wife, so we chose Chelsea Pines due to the many positive reviews!
I have traveled quite a lot over the years. I have found this place to be a nice change of pace from the larger hotels uptown or the other dispassionate lay-your-head-down operations in the city.
One way I have found over the years to get the sense of place is to say, “Yes, it is my first visit here and what would you recommend.” From here it doesn't take long to measure up a place or the staff that runs it. I found them to be knowledgeable, honest, and helpful…very much the genuine article!
Chelsea Pines Inn does live up to the many expectations given from previous reviews, and that takes very special people to make that happen week in and week out!
It is simply in the details and customer attentiveness that Chelsea Pines separates it from the rest, and I would say that comes from the excellent hiring choices made by the owner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our week at this fantastic and friendly hotel with its wonderful staff. Family feeling and always a nice word and caring questions. Unexpected services are for example the nice breakfast (and it's included in the room rate) and the "office room" with possibilities to surf on the internet and even use the printer, all for free. Free wifi on the rooms, of course. Most af all we enjoyed the atmosphere. We will never choose another hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.