We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Pines Inn to your Saves list
Chelsea Pines Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Lowest rates of the year!
Ranked #1 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I visit New York City multiple times a year and the only hotel I will stay in is Chelsea Pines Inn. Why? Because the attention to service is outstanding. They treat me as a regular yet I'm left alone to do my own thing. Jay, Al and the rest of the team including Charlie the cat are superb. The rooms are great, the bed is comfortable and the breakfast is outstanding. Location is ideal for the Highline, Meatpacking District, Greenwich Village and Chelsea, also the rest of the City is only minutes away thanks to the Subway which is less than a minute walk from the hotel front door.

Do yourself a favour, when visiting New York City, make Chelsea Pines Inn your sleeping destination.

Room Tip: Enjoy bread baked daily by Jay the owner of CPINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    239
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
183
848
179
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location. A wonderful ambience. A quiet night for a good night's sleep. and to awaken to such a wonderful array for breakfast! And of course your morning greeting from Charlie!!! The only place we'll stay in NYC.

John Hern and Ed Jeske

Room Tip: The Albert Finney room on the rear first floor is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am a cat lover & when we were greeted in the lobby by Charlie...it was love @ first sight!!! jay & his staff went above & beyond to help make my 45th birthday one I will never forget!! They made our stay feel as though we were @ a home away from home or staying we dear friends!!! we have found our place to stay in nyc!!! THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

my wife and I spent 5 nights at the Chelsea Pines recently. It was even better than we expected. we felt welcome and at home throughout our stay. we will now never stay anywhere else when we visit our favorite city in the world. Now the staff what can I say that has not been said before ...... they are fantastic , after only 5 days I cried all the way to the airport as I truly felt I was leaving home . Charlie is a delight and met us on our arrival and came out to say goodbye when we left. Location perfect, rooms clean, breakfast amazing but the people are absolutely outstanding.

we will be back there is no doubt about that. Already planning ........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at Chelsea Pines for the second time in November 2012, and had an even better stay the second time round! This Inn deserves all of the hype. The staff not only go above and beyond to make sure every guest has a comfortable stay, but a great time in New York, with a daily newsletter and restaurant and entertainment recommendations. Breakfast every morning is delicious, and such a nice change to the typical breakfast in chain hotels. Yes the rooms are on the small side but considering how little time you're likely to spend there given you're in New York this is not a problem. There are also stairs, but we welcomed the exercise given how much food we were enjoying! The resident cat Charlie is delightful. I hope we are lucky enough to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnessjoen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 7 nights at Chelsea Pines Inn, and we really enjoyed it! The location is great, the decor at the hotel is eccentric and cool, the tasty breakfast is a perfect kickstart of a new day and the owner and the staff really knows how to make their guests feel like home. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at Chelsea Pines. This was our second visit and it was even better than the first one. What other hotel can you walk into and be hugged hello by the owner? What other hotel remembers your name after one visit? The people who run this hotel go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and will help you with reservations, tickets to shows, etc. The breakfast is such a treat and there is certainly something for everyone to eat -- and it's included in the price of your room. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. And have I mentioned Charlie? He's the mascot cat who is always on hand to greet you. This has become our go-to place when we're in New York. We will never stay anywhere else. I recommend that you get yourselves over to the Chelsea Pines Hotel. You will not be sorry -- you might even get a hug!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Pines Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.