We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolerable.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Central Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Park Inn
19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tolerable.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Unless you have no other choice, I would recommend staying somewhere else. The bathrooms are horrible, the area noisy, and quite honestly rough. The staff are okay, the beds are okay. The bars on the window don't fill you with confidence. Overall, it's actually okay, but I would avoid staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    33
    17
    22
See reviews for
10
29
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all , this is not a hostel anymore! Now they only accept extended stay.
They have single room , couples room and 2 bed room.
The place is one block from Central Park and Subway station (B,C) .
The most part of rooms have , tv , small kitchen with a small fridge and internet.
The staff are very nice.

So if you'll stay in NY for a month or more and doesn't want to pay the expensive fees to rent a place , this could be a good choice to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is not a hostel anymore, but a great place to rent a room for long terms (30 days or more).
They re-did everything last year, and the studio apts are as news!
I really enjoyed the 4 months I stayed there: the room were great, the staff working there is more than very nice and were very helpful to me, maids did a great job cleaning. The building is located near the subway (line 1, 2, 3, B, C) and central park! very convenient.
If a return to NYC, I definetely go back to this place! Only bad thing: no laundry in the building, although there is one near the apts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

To all those who have been there I'm sure they agree with me. BTW they changed their name to central park inn don't let them fool you. Definitely the worst place you'll stay in while visiting New York or any city for that matter. I walked in to a disgusting studio I uploaded photos of the state I found it in given that I paid for cleaning fee. I haven't slept a day at that place nor will I ever pass by it. I hope this will be of value to anyone who would ever consider staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had to stay here one night when some other plans fell through about a year ago. These people are scammers. They told me one price over the phone and then raised it when I got there. The clerk tried to ask for a big tip after he grabbed my bag up the stairs without asking. Just pay for a cheap hotel instead.

Also this is not in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed at this hostel for 4 nights, Good location, near to the subway and places to eat aswell as newsagents close, also close to the road where Starbucks coffee is!!!

I would come back again!! as its very good value for money!!.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Friends were visiting the US and we met in New York and stayed here for three nights. I hadn't stayed in a backpackers for many years so had to align my expectations. It seemed ok for a backpackers - usual things of rooms being very tight, window rattlers for airconditioning, I had a shared bathroom and other family had a two bed ensuite. The place seemed clean enough and staff were helpful with local directions. The Hostel is a short walk to delicatessens and other little local food shops and bars up on Columbus and Amsterdam and just a few steps away from subway stop which was perfect for our purpose of getting out and seeing the city. Overall it did the job for staying somewhere cheaper than I would nornally do but will probably be staying in a hotel or vrbo place next time in NY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 184 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Central Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.