We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable and steps to subway stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Central Park Inn to your Saves list
Central Park Inn
19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“affordable and steps to subway stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Friends were visiting the US and we met in New York and stayed here for three nights. I hadn't stayed in a backpackers for many years so had to align my expectations. It seemed ok for a backpackers - usual things of rooms being very tight, window rattlers for airconditioning, I had a shared bathroom and other family had a two bed ensuite. The place seemed clean enough and staff were helpful with local directions. The Hostel is a short walk to delicatessens and other little local food shops and bars up on Columbus and Amsterdam and just a few steps away from subway stop which was perfect for our purpose of getting out and seeing the city. Overall it did the job for staying somewhere cheaper than I would nornally do but will probably be staying in a hotel or vrbo place next time in NY.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    33
    17
    22
See reviews for
10
29
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hostel has bed bugs which was an extremely expensive mistake for us.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights around new years 2 years ago and then in may last year. Considering we booked relatively late (close to new years), I was surprised that we could get affordable accommodation around new years eve. I was satisfied with the 6 bed dorms, they were a little cramped, but as expected for price, and it wasn't unbearable.

The second time we stayed we booked a private 2 bed room. This was much nicer and well priced too. Much more comfortable and roomy. I suggest this if you are willing to fork out a little more.

The staff were great. The place has character. The facilities work. It was reasonably clean. Not much else you can ask for I suppose!

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Well first of all, don't bring guests back to this hostel - if only to straighten their hair haha! The manager nearly beat down our bedroom door at 2 in the morning to throw our friends out, he then was after a $20 fee to have overnight guests. It was all rather terrifying but quite hilarious too!

The receptionists are lovely, the cleaners need to learn how to crack a smile. The rooms were pretty small but beds were comfy.

It is pretty much in Harlem and kind of scary when wondering round at night. Takes a while to get to all the main attractions but very close the Central Park and that was where our best days were spent.

We got woken up by the wretched pigeons in the morning and could hear the drunks singing at night - I quite enjoyed that though!

I'd probably go back though; if they'd have me ahahah!

Then again - when we were leaving, at about 4 in the morning, some scary homeless guy walked in (no one was on reception, and he actually had a key to let himself into the rest of the hostel.) I mean, it's nice that they let them into the warm but this character looked really scary and threatening!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Pros: cheap & location (like other many others Hostels there). STAY HERE ONLY FOR EMERGENCIES AND NEVER PAY MORE THAN ONE NIGHT, THERE IS NOT REIMBURSE. Cons: awful tiny uncomfortable bed, tiny locker, very noisy you can hear every step around, not payment with cards only cash, very small bathroom just for one person at the time, just to beds for room and you can finish sharing the room with NOT-BACKPAKERS but New York exotic fauna, the TV room is very uncomfortable and the kitchen useless, not elevator, the list can keep going for a while but you probably have a enough for a rational decision.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day close to subway and city. Quiet enough to have a baby stay

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hostel is located on the Upper West Side on Manhattan, located just 100 meters from the 103. st metro station, so the location is very good.

The rooms and showers are OK, and there is free wi-fi internett.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Central Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;