We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service and reasonable facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Central Park Inn to your Saves list
Central Park Inn
19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good service and reasonable facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed 2 nights around new years 2 years ago and then in may last year. Considering we booked relatively late (close to new years), I was surprised that we could get affordable accommodation around new years eve. I was satisfied with the 6 bed dorms, they were a little cramped, but as expected for price, and it wasn't unbearable.

The second time we stayed we booked a private 2 bed room. This was much nicer and well priced too. Much more comfortable and roomy. I suggest this if you are willing to fork out a little more.

The staff were great. The place has character. The facilities work. It was reasonably clean. Not much else you can ask for I suppose!

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    33
    17
    22
See reviews for
10
29
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Well first of all, don't bring guests back to this hostel - if only to straighten their hair haha! The manager nearly beat down our bedroom door at 2 in the morning to throw our friends out, he then was after a $20 fee to have overnight guests. It was all rather terrifying but quite hilarious too!

The receptionists are lovely, the cleaners need to learn how to crack a smile. The rooms were pretty small but beds were comfy.

It is pretty much in Harlem and kind of scary when wondering round at night. Takes a while to get to all the main attractions but very close the Central Park and that was where our best days were spent.

We got woken up by the wretched pigeons in the morning and could hear the drunks singing at night - I quite enjoyed that though!

I'd probably go back though; if they'd have me ahahah!

Then again - when we were leaving, at about 4 in the morning, some scary homeless guy walked in (no one was on reception, and he actually had a key to let himself into the rest of the hostel.) I mean, it's nice that they let them into the warm but this character looked really scary and threatening!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Pros: cheap & location (like other many others Hostels there). STAY HERE ONLY FOR EMERGENCIES AND NEVER PAY MORE THAN ONE NIGHT, THERE IS NOT REIMBURSE. Cons: awful tiny uncomfortable bed, tiny locker, very noisy you can hear every step around, not payment with cards only cash, very small bathroom just for one person at the time, just to beds for room and you can finish sharing the room with NOT-BACKPAKERS but New York exotic fauna, the TV room is very uncomfortable and the kitchen useless, not elevator, the list can keep going for a while but you probably have a enough for a rational decision.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day close to subway and city. Quiet enough to have a baby stay

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hostel is located on the Upper West Side on Manhattan, located just 100 meters from the 103. st metro station, so the location is very good.

The rooms and showers are OK, and there is free wi-fi internett.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

14 July 2010 we went for 7 days to the big apple. We were with 3 students. 2 of 18 years and 1 of 19. We were looking for a cheap hotel/hostel. This one was one of the cheapest and we wanted a private room. After we mailed the hostel if we could check in at the age of 18, we decided to go for it.

We came by plane from the Netherlands and landed on EWR (Newark) in new jersey. We took the NJ Transit to penn station and from there to the 103st by metro. It was really easy to find and the hostel is really close to the station.

We came in for the first time and the entrance looked a bit old fashioned. There was a man at the desk and we gave him our reservation and paid the whole stay. he gave us our key. We slept on the first floor. We went inside the room and it looked really good. There were two queen size beds and a bathroom with a shower. Also there was a small kitchen with a microwave and sink. Also the room had airco although it was a bit noisy at night so we turned it very low before we went to bed.

Overall the service was great. At night there was a guard in frond of the door so strange people couldn't get in. Also there were lockers but don't forget to bring your own lock. And everyday the room was cleaned. So that was really good.

The hostel 150meters away from central park and Times square is about 30 minutes away by metro so everything is very close and easy to find. At the other side of the street is a little supermarket were you can buy your breakfast.

If you go by metro to the hostel be careful that you don't take the express metro because it does not stop at 103 st!

For a budget I really recommend the hostel! I had a great time and I will definitely go back if I'm in New York.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUnedin New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

You guys are awesome. Your service was absolutely brilliant. Of the hostels we stayed in in the States over the last month, yours was absolutely the best. The room was great. The hostel was spotless. The staff all helpful, (despite us being such klutzes - I changed the booking twice, my luggage got lost at the airport and you guys held a spot for my bag should it eventually arrive while I was travelling, my friend left his shoes behind....sigh) but you guys were helpful, tolerant of our hopelessness, and generally, just brilliant. Your cleaners deserve a medal - the place was so clean it squeaked. The room was tidy, clean and the bed was comfy. We love you, Central Park Hostel. How else can we let other people know about how just good you guys are? Robyn, New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Central Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.