We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Grand, but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Union

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 452 hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not Grand, but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room on 8th floor facing the street was quite comfortable, but not luxurious by any measure. We noticed no street noise, with the in-window airconditioner on, and the
mini fridge was well appreciated.
In New York, where there's so much to see and do in the city, we didn't want to spend much time in the hotel room, so the fact that the "wardrobe" consisted of a metal rail attached to the wall didn't bother us too much. The bathroom is basic, but the housekeeping was fine and everything was kept clean during our 10-night stay.
There was a coffee machine, and free wifi which was a bit unreliable in our room, but worked most of the time. No safe in the room, but we could deposit valuables in a locked box at reception.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the location very good with plenty of food options and transport available nearby. It's an easy walk to the Empire State Building, from where we got the hop-on-hop off bus.

The free breakfast is OK, but the breakfast room is small, and crowded with the food and drinks squashed in one corner, making it difficult to access things with people lined up in front of them. However the Captain's Cafe adjacent to the hotel serves a very nice, cheap breakfast as an alternative, and the staff are cheery and efficient.

We appreciated being able to use the big scales in the foyer to weigh our suitcases ready for our flight home (but weighing ourselves after a wonderful holiday eating and drinking was not such a fun experience!).

The only real criticism is the same as everyone else's......the lift/elevator is ridiculously slow and small. All in all, though, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as good value.

Room Tip: Low floors best to avoid having to use the lift, which is too slow.. Not sure about the noise leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    123
    88
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
106
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice clean basic hotel. Nice polite staff. When in NYC you really only need somewhere to put your head as there is so much to do/see during the day. Absolutely fantastic location to visit all the major tourist attractions of NYC. Would easily stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

good location at the hearth of NY. clean room, good housekeeping. friendly staff. 10 floors hotel with one lift only. u can imagine the crowd until 11am. some rooms with no view. stay at floors that you can walk. very basic breakfast. if you will not spend your whole day in the room then it is a clever vhoice...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This very reasonably priced hotel was such a delight to find. On arrival we were told they didn't have two rooms for our family of four, they were very apologetic and offered a 'Jack&Jill' room with connecting door for the price of one of the original rooms we had booked, or we could have a very large family room,again at the price of one double. We accepted their offer and although the staff offered to change us to two rooms the next day we kept to the same on. So on departure we paid half of the expected cost. Having read some of the reviews we felt they were unjustified. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble from arranging our departure vehicle to advising on tours, shows and restaurants. Yes the lift does take a while but we used the staircase quite often, the rooms are well equipped and the linen was clean and beds comfortable. The free WiFi was great. Breakfast was well provided and although the breakfast room does get a bit crowded around 8.30 ish we still managed to get seated. The hotel is near the sights and easy to find as well as being a great price so we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You do have to wait a bit for the lift,mid this is a problem ask to be placed nearer the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in July 2014. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the 24 hour reception is good. The location is great, walking distance of most of the attractions you may want to visit, we used the sub way too. The rooms were cleaned daily and had every thing we needed. The complimentary breakfast was good. Would stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in July. The hotel is in a very good location, 2 blocks from the empire state building and the green subway line is on the corner if you go right when you leave the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful on check in and throughout my time there . The hotel itself and the rooms are very dated. My room overlooked the street so we had a lot of noise coming in. There is free WiFi available but the reception in my room wasn't great. There is a free breakfast included in the room price which is essentially pastries and cereal. All in all I had a pleasant stay. On the last day I had a late flight so they let me leave my suitcase in a room just off the lobby so I could go around New York on my last day not dragging bags around which was brilliant! If I came back to New York I would stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street as the street noise is very loud. Also try get a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted just a place to sleep for the night and there were 4 of us. It is hard to find a room for 4 so I booked this hotel. I think it is way over priced for the condition it is in. The "one" elevator is very painful to wait for. We ended up carrying our luggage, 3 year old and stroller down 7 flights of stairs. The rooms have old furniture, beds and carpet. The hallways are extremely warm, they do have fans in them but it didn't help. The staff at the desk was pleasant, the bathroom was decent and there was a small refrigerator in the room, which as nice to have.

The offer a free breakfast however we did not check it out, it was busy, no where to sit and not much offerings. I didn't hear noise from other rooms which is a plus. We were able to leave our luggage in a room while we continued to sightsee but it is not locked and no one is there. We had no problems with anything missing, just not sure how safe it is.

I would not stay here again for the price of the room and the outdated rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Union

Address: 34 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Union 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grand Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Union Hotel New York
Grand Union New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.