We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Union

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Union
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 451 hotels in New York City
Liverpool, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We got a great rate, the room was clean and neat, and the hotel was central to all the places we wanted to be. The staff was great: very friendly and helpful. And a modest breakfast was included each morning-- we would highly recommend Hotel Grand Union. It isn't luxury accommodations, but it does the trick with no shortcomings.

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the higher floors with a room that did not face the street, and there was very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    117
    84
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
102
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The price, location, and the the triple-bed room were the draws for us. The hotel is like a "hole in the wall", with not even an ice or vending machine for cold water on a hot day, and one tiny elevator which, after a 10 minute wait, was too full to accommodate us with all our luggage anyway. The room was depressing: grey walls, weird fluorescent lights, a worn carpet and out-dated furniture... but it was clean and had a fridge, and we were only there to sleep between very busy and active days exploring the city. The Wi-fi was free, but weak and inconsistent. The free continental breakfast consisted of coffee, fruit and stale donuts. Instead, go to the Captain's Cafe next door for a decent. reasonably priced breakfast. Would i stay here again? Eh, maybe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn959, General Manager at Hotel Grand Union, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest - We are truly sorry for your past stay with us, please try us again and we will do our best to ensure a great stay. The hotel is planning a huge renovation for early 2015 and the change to the product will be significant. Please give me a call when you have a moment so I may try and fix your previous stay with us.

Our Apologies,
Shawn
212-683-5890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very helpful and polite and the hotel spaces and rooms very clean.

Furthermore, the hotel was located very close to the beach and seaside road and also close to a supermarket. In case you visit the island with your car or if you decide to hire one, there is parking space and the hotel has a direct access to the main road so as to avoid the driving through the busy city center.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn959, General Manager at Hotel Grand Union, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest - Hi, I believe you may of reviewed my hotel by accident? The one you reviewed seems to be on a beach, we can only wish. Yours truly from New York City.

Shawn
212-683-5890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good things first. Good location ( near Empire state building), cleanliness and nice staff. Probably the most important things. Especially cleanliness. But there are issues. Hotel is quite worn-out; old beds, furniture and equipment. And no wardrobes in the rooms. Just hangers on the pole. Tiny showers. Room with a bath is much better option. Elevator is painfully slow. So is wi-fi; in lobby,wi-fi is OK, on the 10th floor- forget about it.
Complimentary breakfast was poor. OK, it's complimentary, but it would be better, if they served just coffee and juice. Concept of breakfast in that facilities is no go. People are eating in lobby with a plastic cultlery. There is Captain's cafe in the same building, where family of 3 can eat nice breakfast for 20$. Too much? Don't come to New York.
So, if you are looking for basic, clean hotel, with a good location and nice staff, then you will be satisfied. If you have higher demands, than don't.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn959, General Manager at Hotel Grand Union, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest - Thanks for your feedback, we are fortunately going through a large renovation and all the items listed will be rectified so we do hope you will try us again. If that is a possibility or if not please give me a call directly.

Many Thanks,
Shawn
212-683-5890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

- central location, walking distance to sights (empire st.building, times square, flation ...)
- subway station (6) right next to it
- rooms at the back (e.g. 605) very quiet at night (except for air conditions that you hear from other rooms), but quite dark (very little natural light, windows open only slightly, so you can't really get fresh air)
- small refrigerator in the room is very welcome, but it's very noisy, so we had to turn it off at night
- the bathroom is a good size, but the shower isn't the most convenient (the showerhead is fixed to the wall, it takes a while to get the water temperature right)
- the breakfast room is too small at times, but you have the option of taking breakfast to your room
- breakfast is basic but nice, croissants were stale on a few occasions
- wifi in room is a great feature of this hotel, very welcome (although sometimes the internet doesn't work properly)
- the staff very friendly and helpful (they make reservations for you, e.g. for helicopter rides...)

I would recommend this hotel to all travellers who want a clean, basic room without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn959, General Manager at Hotel Grand Union, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest - Thanks for sending us your feedback, we truly appreciate it. With our scheduled renovations you will see a vast improvement to the product and we hope this will bring you back to try us again, if that is a possibility please give us a ring directly to assist with your reservation.

Many Thanks,
Shawn
212-683-5890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located to many attractions. It is within walking distance of some great shopping. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very little street noise. The elevator is too small for this hotel and you have to wait a while for it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a good surprise.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor on the back of the building. We hardly heard any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn959, General Manager at Hotel Grand Union, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest - Many Thanks for your comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be adding another elevator during the renovation so I hope you will try us again. If you could give us a call directly we would truly appreciate it, many thanks.

Shawn
212-683-5890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, Northern Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel Grand Union is an ideal hotel for a city break. It is only 5-10 mins walk to Empire State and about 2 mins walk from 34th Street, great for shopping. The hotel is very clean and our room was cleaned everyday. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Beds were very comfortable and we had issues getting a great nights sleep. My only 2 complaints would be that the breakfast room as not big enough at times for the amount of people staying and we had to sit in the corridor at reception area to eat out breakfast and the airconditioning was very noisy so we had to turn it off at nights. For the cost of this hotel is a great find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn959, General Manager at Hotel Grand Union, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest - Many thanks for your feedback, with the renovations set we will be able to both upgrade the AC system in the hotel by providing a centralized system and we will also have a larger space for breakfast. Many thanks for trying us and we hope you will try again very soon. Please call us direct if you decide New York would be a nice place to visit once again.

Many Thanks,
Shawn
212-683-5890
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Union

Address: 34 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Union 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grand Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Union Hotel New York
Grand Union New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.