We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in NY, NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FiDi Escape for Two
Ranked #38 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Golden, Colorado
1 review
“Best Hotel in NY, NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I visited NY, NY for the first time this past weekend. We really didn't know what to expect and were somewhat apprehensive about it. From the moment we entered Gild Hall until we left, we were treated like royalty. The staff were absolutely amazing. They made sure we were well taken care of without pestering us. The location was perfect. The hotel itself was really awesome, great decor, great setup, cool books everywhere, a chilled, but classy environment. Our room was perfect. The air was clean. We were right by the elevators, but never heard anything. Felice, the hotel restaurant, was superb with great food and excellent staff. We can't say enough good about this place. We've traveled a lot, but don't remember having such a positive stay at a hotel ever. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Ana Z,

Thank you for your amazing review and for allowing us to turn a first impression into a lasting one! It is so rewarding to hear that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. We take great pride in our team and the unrivaled service that they offer. Your review inspires us to continue in our mission of treating each guest with the utmost genuine service throughout all departments. We are so humbled to receive your affirmation of Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel being the best hotel in New York City! We will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team and we are looking forward to the privilege of welcoming you back home in the near future...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    281
    71
    30
    13
See reviews for
110
368
86
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I just finished a return visit to Gild Hall and I'm making it my go-to hotel when I visit the city. Once again, the staff was fantastic - walking around the corner with a luggage cart to help me unload my car, for instance. Our room was comfortable, stylish, and quiet. I also noticed in this visit that the neighborhood is quite convenient - there are many options for coffee and pastries within 2 blocks, for instance, which is great for me because I really need the morning jolt.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear P2Traveler,

Thank you for your continued commitment and patronage to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel! We are thrilled to hear that your experience was just as outstanding as the first. We take great pride in our amazing team and the unrivaled service that we offer. Our heartfelt belief is that our associates are our greatest asset and it is most rewarding to hear that we were able to deliver on our service promise of genuinely caring for our guests and anticipating their needs. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back home in the near future...

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

You never know what you're going to get, even when visiting websites such as Trip Advisor. But our stay at Gild Hall was an unbelievable experience! When you first walk in the lobby the smell of masculinity hits. Rich, warm, earthy. The lobby itself is decorated with dark hardwood floors, hip lighting and art, and oversized leather furniture. The staff is warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home, asking about our visit to the city and offering suggestions for eating. They were genuinely interested in the reason for our stay and offered encouragement to my 15 y.o. daughter who would be staying in the city alone for 3 weeks to dance at the Joffrey. Our room not only smelled clean but was clean, and again the décor was rich and inviting. The attached restaurant had a most delicious breakfast although a bit overpriced. I could not leave the Gild without a piece of the hotel to take home. I was able to purchase the plaid tartan blanket from the front desk. A much better token of my stay than an "I love NY" tshirt. The ONLY odd thing about the room would be the frosted glass bathroom wall. Very sexy if you are with your lover, fine if you are a family, a little weird if you are sharing a room with friends, which we were.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear MistyL1 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your exceptional experience with us! It is us who were lucky enough to welcome you and your daughter to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel. We take great pride in our team and the first class service that we offer. It is our deep belief and spirit that our employees are our greatest asset, and it is most gratifying to read that we were able to deliver such outstanding service. I am personally humbled by your kind note about how my team interacted with your daughter. We are also very thankful for your comment about our custom scent by 12.29 featured throughout the hotel, known as "Velvet". The Thompson Scent is a textural enhancement of the design elements of the hotel, playing with velvet and leather to create a engaging yet comfortable experience. Structured on an amber accord, the scent conveys the deepness of aubergine with hints of black leather, fresh tobacco, smoky cedarwood and deep patchouli. A spicy aromatic freshness finishes the aesthetic of casual luxury with geranium and violet leaves. We are currently developing a candle that will be scented with "Velvet", so that guests will be able to take a piece of Gild Hall home with them. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly at bblaha@thompsonhotels.com in order to arrange your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

id just like to thank Anthony & Jessica from the reception in this hotel. they were brilliant help on my first night in the hotel when i had issues trying to contact my bank (bank blocked mu cards). they went above and beyond for me to help get it sorted

hotel in general was great as well. would definitely stay there again and tell friends about the hotel if they were traveling to NYC

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear JCARTY3009,

We are most grateful for you taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of Anthony & Jessica, thank you for your amazing review! We are especially humbled to hear that our team went above and beyond for you helping you with your credit card issues. We are thankful for your commitment to return to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel on your next trip to New York City. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future....

Kindest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Recently I stayed at the Guild for a week during the wedding of my daughter. We chose the Gild as our wedding block even though the wedding took place at the Liberty Warehouse in Brooklyn because of its proximity to the venue. The service from the incredible staff was extremely professional and excellent, from the bell boys to the reservation people to the waitresses and host of the restaurant, Felice which is an added bonus. The "boutique" ness of the hotel provided sophisticated charm, comfort, and friendly atmosphere. The restaurant served brunch to 64 guests the morning after the wedding and seemlessly served two groups early and mid-morning. The food was hot and the service was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this property for your special event, and I look forward to returning in the near future to visit my newly married daughter!

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear maureen l,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! It was an honor to be your host for your daughter's wedding! On behalf of the entire team: Belated Congratulations!
We are so thrilled to hear that you had a such a wonderful stay with us and we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our convenient location and our superb restaurant Felice. We are especially humbled by your endorsement for our unrivaled service and our incredible staff. Thank you again for choosing Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel for this truly special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon...

Warm regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Terrific location, very near to South Street Seaport where we boarded our dance cruise to party the night away! Room was spacious and very clean. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a welcome glass of Prosecco...yes please! What a nice way to start our trip. Shortly after arriving to our room, we received a complimentary bottle of Brut to celebrate my sister's bachelorette. I loved the complimentary NY Post in the morning. The hotel staff went above and beyond to welcome us and provide for a nice time. I also have to mention the hotel restaurant/bar Felice, which had a beautiful setting and delicious food. Lovely boutique hotel in the financial district. This was my first stay at a Thompson hotel and I look forward to more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear MPMurphy00,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It was a pleasure to host you on your sister's bachelorette trip to New York City. Thank you for your beautiful comments about our location, our superior room product and our outstanding service. We are humbled by your kind words about our staff going above and beyond for you. Your review inspires us to continue in our mission of treating each guest with the utmost genuine service throughout all departments. I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team. Thank you for allowing us to turn a first impression into a lasting one...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I recently was one of approximately twenty couples that stayed at the Gild Hall for a wedding in Brooklyn. We all concluded that the incredible staff made the event even more memorable. We interacted frequently with the front desk as well as the room maids, room service and maintenance and every one of the interactions was positive and professional. My own party of three rooms included my 95 year old mother and my 2 year old grandson and they both a great experience due to the fabulous staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Alan L,

Thank you for wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that our hotel provided a perfect stay for you while attending a wedding in Brooklyn. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff as the element which truly makes our hotel superb, always greeting you with a positive and professional attitude. At Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering an unrivaled level of service in all areas of our operation and we are humbled by your affirmation. Please come back soon...

Warmest regards,
Bjoern

Bjoern Blaha
Hotel Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.