We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing gem on Gold Street.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Fans-Save 15%
Ranked #38 of 453 Hotels in New York City
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An amazing gem on Gold Street.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Gild Hall will become a regular place for Mrs and Me. They took amazing care of us. I can't thank them enough. David, Shimmy and the entire crew. The hotel is a short walk from South Street Seaport and The Freedom Tower. It's a slightly longer walk to the Brooklyn Bridge. It's a great place to make a home base while exploring NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We are so happy to welcome you as another addition to our Gild Hall family. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly in order to arrange your next stay with us.

Kindest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    238
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
90
305
74
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Gild Hall while we were in town to join in the 5boro bike ride in May. We chose this hotel for its convenient location to the ride start but were wowed by its great atmosphere, the comfortable rooms, and especially the attentiveness and genuine friendliness of the staff. It realy seemed there was no need to large or to trivial for any one of them to take care of. The location was easily walkable to some terrific low key restaurants that bustled despite the neighborhood emptying out for the week-end so it was still a vibrant NYC experience. We were particularly impressed by the barista who made sure to make us some terrific coffee in time for our early ride start and the bellhops who took such good care of storing our bikes. I'd love to come back soon.

Room Tip: the top floors are very quiet for a city locale
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and your very nice comments about our staff going above and beyond. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Maybe even sooner that for the next 5 Boro Bike Tour?

Warmest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

An excellent hotel that definitely has the best value for money during our stay. Nicely located and friendly place with rooms which, while not huge, are definitely comfortable. We had no issue and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Pascal L,

Thank you for your kind comments. We would love to welcome you back on your next trip to New York City...

Kind regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms are nice and quiet for NYC. The location is great, near by The Brooklyn Bridge and the 911 memorial. This area is busy during the week but quiet on the weekends. The staff are attentive and the atmosphere is modern and funky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments. Please come back soon...

Kindest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Gild Hall when we were in town for a family wedding. It was my first time staying in the financial district of NYC (all other times I've stayed in mid-town), so some pros and cons:
Pros:
--Much quieter than most hotels in mid-town - most other hotels, even if you're on a high floor in a good hotel, you still hear constant street noise all night. Here, it's pretty quiet after about 7pm (and completely quiet all weekend). Also, the hotel attracts business people for the most part, so not a lot of young kids running around making noise.
--Convenient to the subway (about a block and a half walk to Fulton St. station), then only about a 10 minute ride to midtown. Also plenty of good coffee/bagel places , as well as several drug stores and convenience stores within a block or two.
--Excellent service. Whether we needed a cab, theatre tickets, recommendations on good restaurants nearby, or a bandaid after a long day of walking, the front desk staff was ready to help, and among the friendliest hotel staff I've ever encountered in New York. Tomo in particular was awesome.
--My husband still has not stopped raving about the great gelato at the hotel restaurant.

Cons:
--The financial district shuts down in the early evening, so if you want to be in the midst of NY nightlife and hotspots, it's not the best location. But again, it's only a short subway ride to mid-town.
--Most cabbies in NY have never heard of the hotel (since it's a smaller boutique hotel), so make sure you know the address and cross street if you're taking a cab to the hotel.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend it! Thank you to the staff there for being so friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear TravelingDiva51,

Your detailed and amazing review is very much appreciated. Your kind comment about our friendly staff was already forwarded and put a smile on all their faces...

Thank you again,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay was a combination of business and pleasure. The staff was extremely attentive to our needs. They were a tremendous help by providing directions, assistance, recommendations for dining and sightseeing - anything we needed. I would love to find a reason to get back to NY and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jim A,

Our staff was thrilled to read about your raving review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Your friends at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel...

Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's convenient to the subway for anywhere you might need to go in NYC. I went on the weekend and found it refreshing to have good coffee shops for breakfast close by without the lines and crowds you find elsewhere in Manhattan.

My hands were full (with hot coffees) and a front desk staffer pushed my elevator button without my asking so I give them credit for great customer service.

Rooms were clean and beds were comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance in the future.

Best wishes,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.