We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FiDi Escape for Two
Ranked #38 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really liked this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Sure, this hotel is located in the Financial District which can be a little bit of a pain if you have meetings in Midtown, but it is very close to a subway stop and I really liked this place.

Got a great deal on this place on JetSetter and was able to get a very large room which I loved. Room was very big for NYC and clean. Had a kitchenette, microwave, and a Keurig coffee maker.

Only minor things are the location (but not that big of a deal), the gym was small and stuffy, think walk-in closet sized, but they did have 2 others to choose from. Worked for me.

Other than that, was a home run.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our King Suites are simply wonderful and quite spacious as mentioned. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Bjoern Blaha
Executive Assistant Manager
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
bblaha@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    281
    71
    30
    13
See reviews for
110
368
86
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is pretty nice. The rooms are small but quite comfortable. Super expensive. I'd give it a rave review if price was around $300 but cost was excessive. Neighborhood isn't much and I was disappointed that the roof of the hotel isn't open like their hotel in Soho.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Please note that prices do vary depending on occupancy and demand. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this cool little gem of a hotel after seeing the photo of the lobby on the website. We were in NY for the weekend and going between there and Brooklyn so the location was perfect and over the weekend - quiet! The room was very quiet and comfortable, nice furnishings and interesting front desk staff. Stay here - you will feel quite at home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our "little gem". We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found the Gild Hall via a booking website, and as I been to sister hotel 60 Thompson I figured the quality would be up there; we weren't disappointed. My wife and I received a warm welcome for our three night stay, speedy check in and good banter from a genuinely friendly and helpful front desk. Unlike some of the fake "have a nice day" types that you get, these guys seemed like it really mattered to them that you had the best time. We got upgraded on arrival which is always a nice bonus, the bed was huge and comfortable and the room, whilst minimal, was perfect for a long weekend in NY.
The hotel is a little tucked away but easy enough to remember once you know where you are, and well placed for Fulton Street subway which takes you to wherever you would want to be within 20-30 minutes.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but it was packed every night and my friend who lives nearby said she visits frequently. We were lucky enough to try some of the Italian tapas during the happy hour (only $3 a dish!) and they were excellent, especially the fig, honey and ricotta crostini! If we hadn't had such a full schedule we would have loved to have sampled the larger menu. Also the Italian wine selection was excellent and reasonably priced by NY standards. With a small baby our chances to visit NY just as a couple don't come around that often but this is a weekend we will never forget, and if the opportunity arose again we would be back in a flash.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your raving review! Thanks to you our "little hidden gem" is not going to be "hidden" any longer...

Your friends at Gild Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The lobby and upstairs lounge are unique and classy. The atmosphere feels like you've stepped into your cool uncle's classy, yet homey den. The rooms are not as small as some in NYC. If you need a good deal on a boutique Financial District hotel, give this place a shot.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into our hotel. We chose to stay in the Financial District to participate in the NYC Bike Tour. The staff immediately helped us unload our gear and checked our bikes into the basement. They informed us of their valet parking service, but they also let us know that less expensive parking was just a few blocks away. That night we ate a delicious pasta meal in the hotel restaurant. Our service was excellent from the hostess to the bus boy. We slept so good in the soft sheets and was even able to open the window a bit for some fresh air. While the bathroom was small, it had everything except body lotion. Our request for a later check-out was happily honored by the front desk. We plan to book the exact same trip next year. Gild Hall is a charming boutique hotel with exceptional service in a quiet location downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. We are looking forward to having you back - maybe even sooner than next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

So I tried to get rooms all over NYC last minute but the TriBeCa fim festival was on so ended up further south than planned but what a super place. It's boutique without trying too hard , if you like simple design with a sense of humour you'll like the decor and beds you don't want to get out of. If the wifi and bottled water were comped then you are close to perfect. Bjorn on the front desk was friendly, practical and went all out to help you- which is what you what right? Seek out this hotel and see a little bit of Manhatten you'd normally miss out.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjoern B, Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I feel flattered! As much as I appreciate your comments, please note: It's always a team effort! Hope to see you soon again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.