We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend: Ultimate Luxury thanks to Gild Hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Fans-Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 454 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wedding Weekend: Ultimate Luxury thanks to Gild Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I spent a few nights here prior to and during my wedding weekend, and the staff at Gild Hall could not have been more accomodating. They upgraded my room and greeted us with a congratulations note and bottle of bubbly. Our room was the perfect size with high ceilings and a huge comfy bed, perfect for pre-wedding resting. Our room was spotless and the bathroom was the perfect size. The location is on a cozy Financial District block, that makes you feel like you're in another city, away from the bustle of NY life, but not far from anything of necessity. The awesome decor is that of a neo-British hunting lodge and was the perfect backdrop to feel transported to another world. Thank you Gild Hall, your hospitality will not be forgotten and I will recommend this hotel to anyone I know travelling to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear andeedee2,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we love hearing from our guests. We appreciate your kind words and compliments regarding your stay and we’re honored to know you had a fantastic visit. We’re grateful you chose Gild Hall for your pre-wedding relaxation and that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with superior accommodations. Also, we were very happy to provide you with a special gift for this joyous occasion.

We appreciate your willingness to recommend us -we’re glad we’ve made you a fan of Thompson. Most importantly, we look forward to providing you with another wonderful stay in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    244
    67
    29
    14
See reviews for
92
315
75
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Gild Hall really impressed when my girlfriend and I stayed there last month. The service was great, room was spacious and bed was super comfortable.

This hotel is located in the heart of the financial district, but succeeded in making us feel like we were at home. It was convenient for all of the trains b/c they all basically converge on Wall St and Fulton St.

Far and above better than a standard chain like the Hilton or Hyatt and a great deal, too. Highly recommended - we'll be staying there next time we're in NYC.

Room Tip: They're sometimes on hotelstonight (app)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear timothy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re grateful to know you had an exceptional stay at Gild Hall and we appreciate your numerous compliments. We’re glad we’ve made you a fan of Thompson and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

New York is tight on space. At Gild Hall, a boutique hotel, allows me to forget that space is an issue.

Booked a king bed on the 5th floor and would return on my next visit. Here's why:

+ The room is pretty big. I had a king bed and it fit the bed without my having to skirt around it. Plenty of room to lay out luggage, get dressed, and just move around in general.
+ Bathroom is pretty modern and clean. Great water pressure. Slip into the Frette robe and wash up.
+ Flatscreen TV, desk, window seats, are all part of the room
+ Don't like "gym" then Crunch Fitness is only $10. I didn't use Crunch since I just needed a treadmill. "Gym" is in a small space that fits just that, a treadmill, a stairmaster, handheld weights and a bench. There is a water cooler and an air conditioner. Super basic.
+ Shelves by the doorway to throw your purchases, keys, etc. That came in handy.
+ Great library in the lobby area. Esconce yourself in a leather space and read up.
+ Great bed.
+ Nice reception and doormen.

And the not so +'s:
- It's in Financial District. Not know for nightlife. But it is close to the Fulton St station which may be convenient but its weekend schedule sometimes means you have to go to another further station to make it.
- Walls seem thin. I heard guests traipse down the hallway and sometimes even my neighbor. I can filter a lot out but it was a little annoying.

Overall great accomodations. I'll return because of the discount for staying at a boutique hotel that's not terribly inconvenient.
-

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear 8legged,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Gild Hall- we value your feedback and we always enjoy hearing from our guests. We’re grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your numerous compliments regarding our in-room features, gym and service.

We’re excited to be introducing a lounge atmosphere at Gild Hall that will feature live DJs, Samba music and more during happy hour and on the weekends. As well, our concierges are always happy to help suggest great venues in the area for nightlife.

We sincerely apologize for the noise inconvenience and would like to invite you to contact us -please send a message to ThompsonHotels or contact the hotel directly. Again, we appreciate your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed her with some friends for a weekend of eating and drinking. Got a very good price on priceline. Hotel is modern and clean. The bar downstairs is hip but not open super late so across the street at Harry's is a good bet for quick food and late night drinks. Overall a good experience. If you are looking to walk to NYC attractions this may not be your best bet (as it is in the financial district) but the subway is very close and easy to use to get to most spots.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear utilant,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We appreciate your kind words in reference to the quality and cleanliness of Gild Hall and we’re grateful to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable weekend of eating a drinking. Again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here for a recent business trip and was impressed by the hotel. It is in the perfect location for people who are working in the financial district. The hotel feels like a stylish boutique option against the large traditioonal hotels, the lobby is set out like an Alpine lodge and the whole hotel feels quite cool. The only issue was that I originally boked the room next to the penthouse and the soundproofing was not good. However, the front desk moved me the next night and this room was much better.
The rooms are comfortable and have all the modern technology you would expect. Overall a good hotel at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear thompj,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We appreciate your kind words regarding the location and aesthetics of Gild Hall and we hope that these attributes made your stay both convenient and enjoyable. As well, we apologize for the inconveniences that your original room may have caused, but we’re glad that we were able make the necessary adjustments in order to provide you with a superbly comfortable stay.

We hope we’ve made you a fan of Thompson and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accident, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days in the suite for a wedding at south street seaport. Very well decorated and clean room. The price was pretty pricey, but I suppose it's pretty much the same anywhere in that area. The staff was very nice and attentive. The only complaint I have is the breakfast available for $10.00 a person was aweful because there was not much to pick from and no silverware or napkins were available and the coffee was horrible. But I didn't stay there for the breakfast so really not hardly worth mentioning. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear kathyfletchall,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Gild Hall and we appreciate your compliments regarding our staff.

We apologize for the poor breakfast experience, yet we assure you that this is not our standard. We value your feedback and we’re glad you said something -our goal is to provide exceptional service throughout all aspects of your stay and we’re confident we can make the necessary changes to make your next breakfast remarkable.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we looking forward to serving you soon.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We had a great time at Gild Hall. The service was wonderful. The rooms weren't large but it was to be expected in NYC. The decor of the hotel was very chic. The kids had a wonderful time playing checker in the cool lobby. The only unusual thing about the hotel was that you could see into the bathroom because the door was cloudy glass. We would definitely stay at any Thompson Hotel again.

Room Tip: We called the hotel directly for the $199/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear 4Family_Traveling,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at Gild Hall and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and decor. We hope we’ve made you a fan of Thompson and we look forward to providing you with another exceptional stay in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.