We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan Broadway Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago for 5 nights. It was in a great location within walking distance to Times Square and Macy's but other than location there aren't many plus points.
It's not what you'd call a hotel its basically a block of rooms with a chinese underneath and a small reception area. The room itself was very small, you literally fell onto the bed when you walked in the door. The bathroom was very shabby and looked like it needed a good clean.
Its ok if your on a really tight budget but i'd prefer to spend an extra few pound and stay in a more reputable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleM1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Never stay in this hotel. A terrible, mouse infested hotel. Very dirty and smelly rooms. Switched rooms 3 times in 2 nights. Changing the rooms did not make any difference to our discomfort as over all the hotel was too noisy and dirty.
There were cockroaches and mice running around in the room and their noises and scurrying kept us up for the whole night and ruined the rest of my families sleep so we had no choice but to leave the hotel.
we also requested for non-smoking room at the time of booking, but the complete hotel was smelling with the cigarette smoking and people were smoking out side their rooms and while walking on the stairs.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakuntala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I had a roomfor three people with a bed and a bunk bed. The room was very small compared to the picture that the hotel website had. I got quite disappointed but it does have a TV, a locked safe, shampoo, shower gel, a trash can, and a few towels. The bathroom was cleaned everyday and it was like a tiny version of hotel in Garment district. The location was quite in the middle of everywhere so that was nice for tourists like me. However, the street was quite ghetto.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stay some place else! Especially if you are a female traveler. it is not safe! A guy actually followed me into the hotel from the streets, There is no security, it's a dive hotel. This is the epitome of a closet sized unit in NYC. I had never actually seen a room this small. The window opens to a brick wall 2 ft out. The room wreaks of Chinese slaughtered cats first thing in the a.m. They could put air fresheners, but basic toiletries are not even supplied. There is a fixture on the tub wall for shampoo that looks like it was stolen from a bath house. And an old, worn handicap chair for the tub. The lights in the bath are so dark, it's tough to get ready. Limited towels. I was disgusted by this place and booked at another hotel, not hard to find a better one ASAP. In the a.m., they set the fire alarm off in the halls. Seriously? Then they do it a second time to annoy people. they are def doing this to make sure people are awake. How unprofessional! And the front desk attendant was smirking when I left, she def set it off intentionally. They call the room to ask if you're checking out BEFORE checkout time. And this place was pricey. Not sure what they spend the money on...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We usually get by with very little, and we do not expect anything from the budget places we travel to, but this, was an horrible experience, and I just have to share it out of principle.

During our whole stay there (3nights), everynight, someone was screaming at the receptionist all night, from about 1am to 5am. We could not get any sleep, even with ear plugs! I believe someone was training someone else because we were being trained at the same time, against our will, due to the ARMY-LIKE SHOUTING we have been exposed to. The manager (or whoever it was) was simply screaming at the employee as if he was an army general given absolute power over eveything and everyone just because they give them a few bucks per hour, punching the counter, and treating his employee like he should regret ever setting foot in this place. We don't know their story, we should not know their story, so why is he screaming it all night?!

Well, we did regret staying there. A lot. Especially while he was shouting :

"WHO PAYS WHO! HUN!!! WHO PAYS WHO!!!" to his employee.

Reminder, Captain Manager Sir:
THE CUSTOMERS PAY THE HOTEL TO SLEEP...Not to hear your power trip.

You should be ashamed to be yourself, do you understand!!? DO YOU UN-DER-STAND!?

Otherwise, our room was clean, and the staff was friendly.
Can't say anything about the other rooms, but in anycase, for this price (200$) you can find something much better elsewhere. Just keep looking, and avoid this temple of doom. Good luck! : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

1- Not clean.
2- Not clean.
3- Not clean.
4- As someone else mentioned, this is not a Hotel, this is a youth Hostel at best.
5- I stayed in Youth hostels before and this doesn't even compare.
6- for the prices they charge, IT'S A RIP OFF. Some one should actually sue them.
7- Bathroom is disgusting! With hair on the toilets and filthy bath tubs.
8- In November, minimal heating!.
9- Bed sheets, pillow sheets and covers are not what you would want to lay your head on.
10- No closets, nowhere to keep your stuff.

These guys charged me around $ 750 for 3 nights! I seariously could have stayed at the Hilton for An extra $80 per night and the difference would have been enormous.

If you are someone who require cleanliness and comfort STAY AWAY!!.
If you are on a budget, this is not a budget hotel, they are extremely expensive for what they offer, again STAY AWAY!!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I checked in a 2-bedroom suit during my last visit to NYC, 3 beds fit a whole family, I noticed that there was an extra washing sink out side of the bathroom which give us more convenience. Walking out of the hotel, heading Northeast, after 5 minutes walk, we arrived at the Times Square. The Bus Terminal is quite important for my commute around, this is the major reason for my frequent checking in this hotel. Heading south, I normally shopping in Macy's, which is also within working distance.
According to my business travel budget, and related business activities, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,986 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#264 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 466 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#305 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,155 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#374 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#298 of 466 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Address: 273 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Manhattan Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist class boutique hotel, economically priced, clean, well appointed rooms. - Heart of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manhattan Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Broadway Budget Hotel
Hotel Manhattan Broadway
Manhattan Broadway Hotel New York
Manhattan Broadway New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing