We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Manhattan Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Broadway Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #373 of 452 hotels in New York City
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ok for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago for 5 nights. It was in a great location within walking distance to Times Square and Macy's but other than location there aren't many plus points.
It's not what you'd call a hotel its basically a block of rooms with a chinese underneath and a small reception area. The room itself was very small, you literally fell onto the bed when you walked in the door. The bathroom was very shabby and looked like it needed a good clean.
Its ok if your on a really tight budget but i'd prefer to spend an extra few pound and stay in a more reputable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    86
    94
    51
    188
See reviews for
72
89
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Never stay in this hotel. A terrible, mouse infested hotel. Very dirty and smelly rooms. Switched rooms 3 times in 2 nights. Changing the rooms did not make any difference to our discomfort as over all the hotel was too noisy and dirty.
There were cockroaches and mice running around in the room and their noises and scurrying kept us up for the whole night and ruined the rest of my families sleep so we had no choice but to leave the hotel.
we also requested for non-smoking room at the time of booking, but the complete hotel was smelling with the cigarette smoking and people were smoking out side their rooms and while walking on the stairs.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I had a roomfor three people with a bed and a bunk bed. The room was very small compared to the picture that the hotel website had. I got quite disappointed but it does have a TV, a locked safe, shampoo, shower gel, a trash can, and a few towels. The bathroom was cleaned everyday and it was like a tiny version of hotel in Garment district. The location was quite in the middle of everywhere so that was nice for tourists like me. However, the street was quite ghetto.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stay some place else! Especially if you are a female traveler. it is not safe! A guy actually followed me into the hotel from the streets, There is no security, it's a dive hotel. This is the epitome of a closet sized unit in NYC. I had never actually seen a room this small. The window opens to a brick wall 2 ft out. The room wreaks of Chinese slaughtered cats first thing in the a.m. They could put air fresheners, but basic toiletries are not even supplied. There is a fixture on the tub wall for shampoo that looks like it was stolen from a bath house. And an old, worn handicap chair for the tub. The lights in the bath are so dark, it's tough to get ready. Limited towels. I was disgusted by this place and booked at another hotel, not hard to find a better one ASAP. In the a.m., they set the fire alarm off in the halls. Seriously? Then they do it a second time to annoy people. they are def doing this to make sure people are awake. How unprofessional! And the front desk attendant was smirking when I left, she def set it off intentionally. They call the room to ask if you're checking out BEFORE checkout time. And this place was pricey. Not sure what they spend the money on...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We usually get by with very little, and we do not expect anything from the budget places we travel to, but this, was an horrible experience, and I just have to share it out of principle.

During our whole stay there (3nights), everynight, someone was screaming at the receptionist all night, from about 1am to 5am. We could not get any sleep, even with ear plugs! I believe someone was training someone else because we were being trained at the same time, against our will, due to the ARMY-LIKE SHOUTING we have been exposed to. The manager (or whoever it was) was simply screaming at the employee as if he was an army general given absolute power over eveything and everyone just because they give them a few bucks per hour, punching the counter, and treating his employee like he should regret ever setting foot in this place. We don't know their story, we should not know their story, so why is he screaming it all night?!

Well, we did regret staying there. A lot. Especially while he was shouting :

"WHO PAYS WHO! HUN!!! WHO PAYS WHO!!!" to his employee.

Reminder, Captain Manager Sir:
THE CUSTOMERS PAY THE HOTEL TO SLEEP...Not to hear your power trip.

You should be ashamed to be yourself, do you understand!!? DO YOU UN-DER-STAND!?

Otherwise, our room was clean, and the staff was friendly.
Can't say anything about the other rooms, but in anycase, for this price (200$) you can find something much better elsewhere. Just keep looking, and avoid this temple of doom. Good luck! : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

1- Not clean.
2- Not clean.
3- Not clean.
4- As someone else mentioned, this is not a Hotel, this is a youth Hostel at best.
5- I stayed in Youth hostels before and this doesn't even compare.
6- for the prices they charge, IT'S A RIP OFF. Some one should actually sue them.
7- Bathroom is disgusting! With hair on the toilets and filthy bath tubs.
8- In November, minimal heating!.
9- Bed sheets, pillow sheets and covers are not what you would want to lay your head on.
10- No closets, nowhere to keep your stuff.

These guys charged me around $ 750 for 3 nights! I seariously could have stayed at the Hilton for An extra $80 per night and the difference would have been enormous.

If you are someone who require cleanliness and comfort STAY AWAY!!.
If you are on a budget, this is not a budget hotel, they are extremely expensive for what they offer, again STAY AWAY!!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I checked in a 2-bedroom suit during my last visit to NYC, 3 beds fit a whole family, I noticed that there was an extra washing sink out side of the bathroom which give us more convenience. Walking out of the hotel, heading Northeast, after 5 minutes walk, we arrived at the Times Square. The Bus Terminal is quite important for my commute around, this is the major reason for my frequent checking in this hotel. Heading south, I normally shopping in Macy's, which is also within working distance.
According to my business travel budget, and related business activities, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Address: 273 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Manhattan Broadway Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist class boutique hotel, economically priced, clean, well appointed rooms. - Heart of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Manhattan Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Broadway Budget Hotel
Hotel Manhattan Broadway
Manhattan Broadway Hotel New York
Manhattan Broadway New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Broadway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.