We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to times sq” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Manhattan Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
Manhattan Broadway Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #377 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Near to times sq”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very, very basic hotel and very near to times sq- which is why we picked it. Also lots of Groups of lads and girls shouting all the time in the middle of the night. Don't waste your money, stay a few blocks further out and get a much nicer hotel for your money. What has upset me the most about our stay, was we were stranded during hurricane sandy and the hotel charged us 50% more to stay extra nights. This was after quoting us a lower price when we initially asked when we heard our flight was cancelled. What a rip off. 300 dollars plus taxes as they knew we had nowhere else to go. We heard them quoting people 499 dollars on the 'phone - atrocious behaviour. When I complained to the manager he couldn't care less and told us if we didn't want to pay then leave - knowing full well we wouldn't get in anywhere. I have never left a review before but feel so strongly about this that I have just registered to be able to leave a review. Shame on you Manhattan Broadway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    96
    101
    55
    195
See reviews for
76
100
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week at the start of October, Its has some very bad reviews but in my opinion, why try spoil a holiday by looking for all the negatives!
Its on west 38th street between 7th and 8th ave, So only 4 blocks away from Time Sq, 20 min walk from central park. and right around the block from port authority if you're looking to get a bus somewhere, like Jersey Gardens like myself!
The hotel itself is small with small rooms, but if you're just over for a tourist holiday you wont be in the hotel much anyway.
The staff were always nice to us, had a small issue with the wifi, which is $5 for 24 hours, and the hotel staff kindly gave us a free day because of it.
Stayed on the 2nd floor so could easily walk or take the lift. If you are up early there is a dunken doughnut and starbucks right around the corner. Over all I would gladly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week at the start of October, Its has some very bad reviews but in my opinion, why try spoil a holiday by looking for all the negatives!
Its on west 38th street between 7th and 8th ave, So only 4 blocks away from Time Sq, 20 min walk from central park. and right around the block from port authority if you're looking to get a bus somewhere, like Jersey Gardens like myself!
The hotel itself is small with small rooms, but if you're just over for a tourist holiday you wont be in the hotel much anyway.
The staff were always nice to us, had a small issue with the wifi, which is $5 for 24 hours, and the hotel staff kindly gave us a free day because of it.
Stayed on the 2nd floor so could easily walk or take the lift. If you are up early there is a dunken doughnut and starbucks right around the corner. Over all I would gladly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This should not be classified as a hotel. It is, as mentioned in another review, along the lines of a dirty youth hostel. The photos on the website are not at all what this truly looks like. They are either really old or really staged photos. Entry is a tiny hallway that leads you far back into the check in desk. There is no lobby or public space to hang out in, just a dirty unorganized check in desk. Tiny elevator up to floor 4 where I was 'upgraded' to a king size bedroom. Opened door (which was all grungy around the handle), turned on the fluorescent overhead light (only lighting option, no lamps or other lighting). I could not believe my eyes. Dirty walls and floor. Literally the drywall had nicks and dirt on all 4 sides. Narrow window that appeared to be boarded up on the outside with an old dirty looking a/c unit that looked like roaches could crawl out of anytime. Instant claustrophobia with no view to outside. Bed (no headboard) was pushed into the corner and linens did not look clean. There was a mess of old tangled up wire hangers for one to hang clothes from. Appeared to be duct tape or something along those lines in the bathtub I'm guessing for traction but not sure. Used bathroom, washed hands, grabbed hand towel to dry and was full of stains (if you're not going to keep white linens white then just use dark colored ones so at least the stains aren't clearly visible!). The room was dim and dirty and I would definitely have checked for bedbugs had I stayed but I didn't. This place was uncomfortable enough that I called another hotel 8 blocks up toward Times Square, got a 'normal' nice room for $30 less per night with breakfast included. I am by no means wealthy but even though I still had to pay the $289 charge for the first night it was well worth getting a good nights sleep in a comfortable space elsewhere. Do not stay here unless you are comfortable with unsanitary conditions. If you do the research you can find many more hotels in the area with similar rates and much better accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went to New York for a weekend of theatre and stayed at the Manhattan. We were very happy with the hotel It was a perfect location near all the Broadway theaters. Out room had a very comfortable king size bed with nice linens The hotel is not five star but the staff was very friendly there is adjacent parking at a reasonable rate. We were also able to book a room through Hotwire at a big discount.so it was a great deal

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is a great deal if you are looking for a well located and friendly place to stay. The rooms are not impressive, but they match the price charged and most of the staff is really Nice and thoghtfull. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Broadway Hotel

Address: 273 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manhattan Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist class boutique hotel, economically priced, clean, well appointed rooms. - Heart of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manhattan Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Broadway Budget Hotel
Hotel Manhattan Broadway
Manhattan Broadway Hotel New York
Manhattan Broadway New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Broadway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.