We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #255 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheltenham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed four nights in January 2009, on fourth trip to New York. Hotel is safe, clean and friendly and within great walking distance of MSG and Macys. You can navigate pretty much anywhere around Midtwown without hitting the subway. Tick tock diner is good value, Triple Crown pub near MSG is busy when sport is on a MSG.Expect small rooms in NYC, you get them in every big city, try Brussels in the week or Geneva- that's expensive

Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for the compliment, PinoCheltenham! Please do come and stay with us again soon, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,221
    3,052
    1,135
    319
    201
See reviews for
1,724
2,469
372
793
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

hotel staff friendly and helpful, great rooms and the beds fantastic you get a great nights sleep, couldn't ask for a better location and amenities well its all there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thank you for the compliment, oclag! We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel was right by Penn Station and Madison Square Gardens. It was about 10 blocks from Times Square (easy walking). The hotel is old and our room was very small. New beds, central ac/heat, and flat screen tv. The tub and tile in the bathoom was old and simply painted over. If you don't mind a smaller room I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Everything was a 10 about this hotel. Just couple blocks from Penn Station, it wasn't a far walk from Times Square, either. Very clean, very well run, very comfortable. Diner off lobby made breakfast easy. Price was about $300 nightly, but that's New York. It's reasonable compared to other hotels. A definite recommendation and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

One thing you cant fault this hotel on is its location. It is on the same street as Macy's and the Empire State Building, opposite Madison Square Gardens and just 7 blocks from Tmes Square. Opposite is a local chemist/convenience store which is very useful for picking up bottles of drink or any last minute toiletries (as rooms to not have drink making facilities). The tick tock diner attached to the Hotel was nice but was a little pricey and the service was not fantatic.

One big fault however was the size of the rooms and noise levels. The sound of the next room flushing their toilet was so loud it felt like it was in the same room as us and even though we were on the 29th floor we could still hear the street outside. The rooms were very small, there was about 2 feet of room around 2 sides of the bed and the toilet was about 6 foot from the bed on the other side. WIth 2 suitcases and 2 hand luggage bags on the floor there was alot of climbing over things.

We were given a free upgrade from a Metro Room to a View Room (due to early check in which they happily accommodated) but the view was mainly of the hotel on the otherside of the road and not of Manhattan. We would have been very dissapointed if we had paid for a View Room.

If like us you are going to sightsee and will just be sleeping in the hotel rather than spending any considerable time there then it is an adequate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
While we're glad you appreciated our location, we apologize your stay at The New Yorker Hotel did not meet your expectations with respect to the noise and room size. Unfortunately, this is common in New York as their is a premium on space and it is always a bustling place.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to be able to better serve you in the future given the opportunity.

Sincerely,

Glenn Merone
Front Office Manager
212-244-0719 x7793
gmerone@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackworth, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

this hotel is without doubt a great art deco hotel in a great location in midtown manhatten
the room we got was very large with 2 bathrooms
but unfortunatly for me i was with my wife and daughter and still had to wait to use one of them
the room number was ?????? sorry i cannot give this away as i will book again and will request this room
it is nice to go to a hotel where every member of staff was helpful
the tick tock diner which is attached to the hotel had a good range of food at a very good price
i would reccomend this hotel to anyone going to new york and would use it again
the only down side is that there is no facility in the room to make a drink but the diner is open 24/7 and drinks can be taken up to the room

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Thank you for the endorsement, ukconchords! We're glad you had a good time in New York. Please do come and stay with us again soon, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

In summary we enjoyed our stay at the New Yorker Hotel. Room was very small and limited cupboard space to put clothes for 2 persons but overall a very modern room and extremely comfortable bed with high quality bedding. We heard no one's voices in neighbouring rooms only heard people in hallway as they passed the room but no big deal. Nice flat screen TV on wall mounted in front of bed made nighttime watching TV comfortable. We opened the window on our 23rd floor room to get breeze rather than running AC all the time. Bathroom very small with very little space to leave toiletries but overall everything was operational with good shower pressure albeit the temperature never got too hot so I just ran the hot water which was warm enough for our showers. Nice towels and replenished soaps, lotions, shampoos mid way through our stay. Location of hotel is just around corner of the 34th St./Penn Station Subway stop and across road from Pennsylvania Main Rail station. Macy's is 2 large blocks away and Empire state Building is 3 large blocks away but all walkable. We walked lots and lots and used the 1 week Metro pass costing just $27 which was a great value. Times Square is 1 metro stop away and was awesome too. The Tick Tock Diner is located directly next door to hotel which was a great diner to catch daily breakfasts and lunches at and they are open 24 hours/day. Hotel doesn't offer room service but most local restaurants will deliver to your room if you want to stay in now and again. I do recommend the New Yorker as I do think it offers good value for the money due to cleanliness of rooms, bed, location and service of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Thank you for the compliment, Barblovestotravel! Please do come and stay with us again soon, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Amex, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.