We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly cool hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #209 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fairly cool hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in June.
Unfortunately the outside of this hotel at the time we stayed was covered in scaffold, not a problem but it didn't do it any favours on first impressions.
However, when you enter the reception you really get a feel for the style of this hotel.
Our room was small, a little tired but the 1930's style helped you to see past it.
The staff were great, friendly and security seemed good.
The adjoining tick tock diner was a cool place to grab a burger or a fab New York breakfast but the bar on the other side of the lobby needs attention. No atmosphere and the drinks weren't great.
Location is really good I recommend a short walk from here to the high line then breakfast in the meat packing district as a cool start to the day. It's also very handy for ESB, Times Square and maceys. Overall, it's a fairly cool hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,119
    2,865
    955
    273
    150
See reviews for
1323
2060
285
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the New Yorker with my granddaughter for 5 days & found it an excellent location for getting to Broadway & whereever else we wanted to go. We came be Amtrk so it was nearby. There were Metro stations on several corners so we could go as we pleased. We were high enough up so the noise of the city was not a problem. Our room was comfprtable & the staff was helpful in suggesting sightseeing trips. We didn't book theatre tickets with them as it was cheaper to do it directly with the box office or the discount place. However Louis at the sightseeing desk booked our harbor tour & helped us with our taxi. Tick Tock Diner was good for breakfast but wouldn't suggest it otherwise.

Green Features: great towel reuse, sheet only changed as requested
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel was a recommendation from a family friend and we were not disappointed. It was in the perfect location for everything we wanted to do on our trip to New York. We had a suite between two couples which worked out a lot cheaper than having two bedrooms. Although it was small and one couple had to sleep on the sofa bed (which was very comfy), having a very large balcony made up for it, which gave us views over all of manhattan, it was amazing. As a bonus we got included cold drinks in the fridge and continental breakfast, will definately be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of this hotel is amazing. Madison Square Garden and Penn Station are both only a short walk from the hotel. In addition, there are many places to dine also a short walk form the hotel. During our trip, we found it very convenient to travel from the hotel to nearly any designation in Manhattan. The main lobby was very nice and inviting. All the staff were helpful and willing to assist as needed. Our room was clean and tidy. One note, the rooms are small and cozy. In addition, the bathrooms are very small and not as cozy. We actually had to maneuver carefully to get in and out of the bathroom. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the New Yorker.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed for several days in June and enjoyed the New Yorker. The staff were courteous and helpful, the hotel and rooms were neat and clean. It was our first visit to NYC and the New Yorkers convenient location made it very simple to walk to the main tourist destinations in Manhattan.

The only thing to be improved on is the design of the shower doors. We stayed in a renovated room and the shower door allowed water to run out into the floor of the bathroom. Other than having to put a towel down to catch the water our stay was quite enjoyable.

We spent the majority of our time out enjoying everything Manhattan and NYC has to offer so our time in the room was limited to sleeping and getting ready to go back out!
The Tick Tock Diner has a spectacular breakfast and since it is in the lobby there was no sense in going anywhere else in the mornings!

We would definitely consider staying in the New Yorker again and would recommend it to any friends looking for a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

We appreciate your valuable business and thank you for your positive comments. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the shower. I am delighted to read your interaction with the staff was as expected.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel when your travels find you returning to New York City.

Thank you again for the positive comments.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was clean but the rooms are very small. The bed was not as comfortable as I would hope and the sheets were kind of gritty. Overall not bad for the price considering it is New York City. Note: The room was about 10 by 13

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

Please accept my apologies you did not find your assigned room comfortable. As I do not have your contact information, please email me at brauch@nyhotel.com so we may discuss your stay further.

I look forward to your email.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the new yorker in April for 5 nights.
The location is fine, the hotel is pleasant, and yes, rooms are quite small, but if you're in NYC to have fun and walk around, this could be easily overlooked.
We were assigned a room that became quite noisy all through the day, due to renovations the hotel was going under. If you're planning to sleep in the morning, forget it... Better sleep earlier in the night. The agent at front desk didn't mention that small detail about the room.. we were very tired upon arrival, and front desk was very full, so we'd rather stick to the room instead of complaining...
Also, we had a problem with delivery of packages, though, and a very unpleasant experience with manager Ronny.
I wasn't aware that the hotel "closes" on Saturdays for deliveries. Being a foreigner, I called the hotel and asked about their policy for handling packages, and not once was I aware that the hotel doesn't receive packages after 4 pm on Saturdays. This is their "businness hours", and we should presumably know that.
When I addressesd the manager in charge, he was very arrogant and unpleasant, and despite all, gave me wrong information about how to solve my problem (I was leaving the country on Sunday).
Had to go the USPS to find a solution (where I was given proper information about what to do).
All things considered, we've been to NYC quite a few times and never, ever, where given such a poor treatment from a single employee in any hotel we stayed at.
We were quite distressed and dissapointed, and had to spend a considerable amount of time solving a problem the hotel could easily have avoided by providing guests with the correct information about their storing privacy (not very nice when you're celebrating your wedding anniversary!)
Wrote to general manager, who offered us back a discount should we ever come back to the New Yorker, which isn't in our plans quite too soon...
You could do better in NYC for the price you pay for the New Yorker.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyorkerhotel, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel while you were in New York City.

Please accept my apologies you experienced an issue during your stay. Our package room is available 24-hours a day, 7 days a week.

I would like to discuss your stay with you further and you would ask for you to reach out to me at brauch@nyhotel.com and reference your review.

I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Mr. Barry Rauch
Director of Operations
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#18 Green Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.