We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Clean and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #213 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect! Clean and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have just got back from here after a holiday with my boyfriend in NYC (NYC is amazing by the way). If you are doing New York properly then you won't really be in your hotel that much, and I think the few negatives reviews I've read about this place are from people who spent too much time in their room. Yes the rooms are small, but all hotel rooms in NYC are small. There was plenty of room for us (and our shopping) and there was a large cupboard that fitted both our suitcases (which we could access without taking them out again). Rooms were very clean and bed was comfortable. We just got the standard room and this was fine (if you have a kid I would get a bigger one though)
Hotel has an Art Deco/40s feel which I thought gave it a charm. The only slight grumble I would have is the shower as the temperature was hard to get right, but this was only on a few occasions (we stayed for 6 nights)
It is not the kind of hotel where staff are on call and waiting around for you - it's a busy city hotel with 34 floors - people are going in and out all the time, but they ask to see your key card before going up for security.
We had breakfast most mornings at the diner attached to the hotel - we didn't need lunch after this! A real American style diner and very quick and efficient. Be careful as I've put on a good few centimetres round my waste - but the bacon was worst it.
Location couldn't have been better - Empire State is a short walk and there are loads of shops near by.
Outside the hotel are men selling bus tour tickets (in yellow shirts) we were a bit unsure but got one anyway (holiday spirit) and I couldn't recommended this enough. It included a ferry ride of the coast (to Statue of Liberty too) and buses to all the attractions - £30 each for 3 days. Well worth it.
I would stay here again and have recommended to some work colleagues who are going on holiday to stay there. At the end of the day it's New York - do it properly and you'll just be going back to recharge. Have fun (and I'm jealous as I want to go again)!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,856
    2,554
    888
    241
    149
See reviews for
1392
2102
299
616
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks , CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I love staying at older hotels that have lots of character and charm, the Wyndahm New Yorker has plenty of both. Built in the 1920's, the hotel retains much of the Art Deco décor even though it was recently totally renovated. The room furnishings and carpeting are new and very well kept. The location was perfect as we arrived from Penn Station and were attending a show on Broadway and could walk to and from each. The hotel has two restaurants we ate at both and everyone in our party enjoyed the food and service. The bar looks out onto 8th avenue and it is a perfect location for people watching. Our suite was small but the breathtaking view more than made up for that. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The standard rooms are small, as we found out when the two of us and our 2 suitcases would scarcely fit into the 1st room offered. There wasn't quite enough room to walk around the bed even. We asked to change and were offered a slightly larger room with a much better layout so we could walk around the each other.
The hotel is well located if you want to go shopping in midtown and very convenient for the penn stn subway for trips uptown and downtown.
It's a short walk to Macy's and about 10 min walk to time square.
As it's close to penn stn it's always busy on the street outside and is not comfortable to walk in the streets nearby and for that reason I don't feel I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY
The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY
The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY
The hotel is very clean, confortable, has a good localization and is a good option in NY

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We did an all round trip from East Coast to West Coast and started in NYC!

We arrived on the 21st December 2013, and were travelling as a group of three friends. We travelled from London and so arrived quite late in the evening, around 22:00. Check-in was really quick and on arrival we were upgraded to a room with a view - which was cool. We could see the Empire State Building from our room, which looked absolutely stunning at night!

The rooms were comfy, with a TV and a bathroom which is slightly dated, but nevertheless fine. The room was always cleaned to a very high standard, and the cleaning and hotel staff were always very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was not included in our room price, however just below the hotel is the Tick Tock Diner - open 365 days a year and 24/7! - even on Christmas Day which was very convenient for us! Their food was really good again service was brill.

The New Yorker Hotel is centrally located and perfect for a city break to New York. Honestly, we could walk to the Empire State Building, Macy's (and other shops/attractions) and also Penn Station is located just across the road. We also went to see the Nets v Pacers game at the Barclays Centre which was about 20 mins on the Subway!

New York is amazing during the Winter Break, and although this is not a 5* hotel, it has very high standards. The New Yorker Hotel will definitely be my first choice when I return to NYC!

Room Tip: A room high up to get a view of the Empire State!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights. The rooms are TINY. Like 150 square feet tiny. They're cleanish, but old, so you can never really get it that clean looking.

They're doing construction, which you don't find out about until you are awoken by it the next morning. Hammering, drilling, and sawing starting at 6 am. I complained and they moved us directly upstairs from our previous room, which really didn't fix the problem.

The beds are rock hard and horribly uncomfortable. And the showers had two settings: scalding hot or ice cold.

So, after 5 restless nights and mornings, I left the hotel tired, less than clean feeling, and grumpy.

Just DON'T stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

On arriving late at night we were disapointed in our room it was really small-we had booked a queen room with a view-Hotel was clean but dated but ok.when we woke up in the morning opened the curtains and found the views obstructed by scaffolds we were disapointed especially as we were there for five nights .when I mentioned it the next day tthe nice receptioist fixed it up by moving us into a much bigger room with no scaffolding great service

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.