We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #254 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

6,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,221
    3,050
    1,134
    319
    200
See reviews for
1,724
2,467
371
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

as I have said before we prefer to come to this hotel . We got here today , initially I was traveling alone , then my daughter decided to come along , we were recieved by Romana , she was able to get us a two bed room , that has two bathrooms . She was very kind, and efficient . I must say a few words abuot Mr Hall from de mail room , I ordered a few stuff by internet to the hotel , they arrived before we did , I sent a mail to the mail room , and he answered telling me some of the stuff was there waiting for me. Very helpfull and very kind .
I asked for a mini fridge , when it gets up here I'll tell you guys , Ok?

Room Tip: if the view is not important , say so.
See more room tips
Green Features: they have a shower that sprays, and have information on these practices
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel was perfect location to all the main attractions. Penn station right outside the hotel! (ideal if you are arriving by train from the airport)! Room was very small, but did not matter as you do not spend much time in there. Most importantly it was CLEAN! Hotel staff friendly. Showers could do with improvement. Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed back June 2011 for 6 nights flying from Glasgow.

The main entrance lobby is really beautiful and grand, we queued for about 15 mins to check in as there were a lot of people checking out at the time.

The room was quite small but it was what we expected with a large double bed. Small wardrobe and desk with chair. Included cable tv and view of the building next to us ( which we didnt care about as you dont go to New York to stay in your room all the time!). Bathroom at the time was an aged green ceramic suite (However this could have been updated since my visit?

We didnt use the restaurant attached but we did use the Tick Tok Diner almost ever day for breakfast and sometimes lunch or an evening meal.

As my title suggests this hotel was in the perfect location! Walking distance to everything!! Madision square Gardens on the corner, Empire state building up the road, few blocks to time square. Harbour to the boats not far at all either.

We bought a bus tour ticket set from a tour guide (You will spot these guys wearing bright coloured shirts/hats all over the place). This was the best investment I made whilst there, we werent interested in the tours itself but we used the buses to hop on and hop off all over the place (Uptown tour, downtown tour) cheaper than taxi and nicer than the underground. It was also boiling hot and melting in the UG. The tour guide that sold us the tickets had thrown in a free night tour which we werent going to bother with as you couldnt jump off it was a round trip, this was the best part of my trip it was spectacular taking us over the bridge into Brooklyn. The tour guide we had was amazing and he sang and got everyone laughing the whole time.

We also visited places like Natural History Muesem (A little boring if you ask me), Central Park, Ground zero, boat cruise around statue of liberty, Empire State Building etc.

If you aren't that bothered about fancy things and need someplace nice, clean and close to everything then the New Yorker is for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My friend and I stayed in January for both of our birthdays. We really enjoyed our time in New York I found the staff to be efficient although sometimes a bit stand offish (not only in hotel so we assumed it's just the way things are in New York) the tick Tock diner was great the bar we found to be a bit expensive but we didn't have time to sit in the bar. Hotel was clean but in need of some tlc rooms were kept clean and fresh towels daily. Concierge were amazingly helpfull and very friendly. We will be back asap

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fantastic location, friendly staff, the room was absolutely tiny though, but I think that's common in NYC. The door almost hit the bed as you walk into the room. No exhaust fan so prepare to be suffocated after having a shower. I would recommend the New Yorker and stay again if we're ever lucky enough to make it back to the states!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Amex, Wyndham, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.