We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“iconic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #225 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay in one of the tower suites, lovely views over the Hudson just a bit too windy to venture out onto the balcony.

Hotel itself is well worth the money, the restaurant onsite served stunning food and the staff were extremely helpful

Would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,948
    2,690
    956
    263
    162
See reviews for
1,480
2,207
317
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Having just spent 5 nights there we are still buzzing from our stay. It is the perfect cross of history and a modern standard. Suzy our concierge was great with no question too big or too small. Even finding Mohammad Ali's room number for a saddo like me. Food at the tick tock diner was good and priced the same as most other places and coopers bar was friendly and a nice place to relax. It really seemed to be central to all sight seeing and shopping. I really don't want to gush but I could not fault it at all

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My mum and I stayed at the New Yorker for 3 nights in February. It was perfect! It was my 1st visit to the USA so had no idea what to expect. I'd e-mailed the hotel to explain it was my mum's special birthday so if they could lay on any treats that would be great...we ended up with a room with 2 huge beds on the 35th floor looking out at the Empire State building...perfect! The room was a good size and just right for the 2 of us. Bathroom was a bit dated but had a functioning toilet, bath, shower and sink and was very clean, so really they're the important things rather than what colour it was! Top Tip...Run water for a while before getting in...takes a while to warm up.
The staff were always helpful and check in/out was painless. We left our cases in the special area for $2 each until we left which was useful. We had breakfast in the Tick Tock diner...a proper Amercian diner and quite reasonable; they do everything all day long.
The location of the hotel was great, opposite Madison Square Gardens and Penn Station and about a 5 minute walk from Port Authority, the main bus/coach station. Times Square was about 7/8 mins walk and Macys & Empire State Building about 5 mins walk. Everything is so easy to find and the grid system is so easy to understand, you can't get lost.
There are plenty of places to find breakfast close by, there's a McDonalds opposite and cafes and starbucks everywhere!

All in all this was a great hotel, perfect for our 1st trip to New York....we'll be back!

Room Tip: Go higher, you get fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was looking for a hotel that was close to Penn station for a trip to NYC for our granddaughter's 13th birthday and decided on The New Yorker. It could not have been more perfect! When we got out of Penn station we could see the hotel, making it very easy for us. We checked in and they upgraded our room to a suite, which was VERY sweet! We were on the 38th floor with a great view of the city and more room than my son's NYC apartment! We plan on taking each of our granddaughters to NYC for their 13th birthdays and this will be our go to hotel for visits in the city. Thank you to the New Yorker for a wonderful NYC experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My family of 4 stayed at this lovely hotel during the Christmas period and we loved it. The hotel has great concierge service and friendly front desk staff. Our rooms were clean and we were happy with it. The hotel is in a great location, close to Penn subway station. It was walking distance to the financial district and lots of shopping places. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel is in a good location and very busy. Rooms could do with updating, particularly the bathrooms.The diner is great for breakfast.
As students live on the lower floors the lobby is busy and security high but it's perfect for a NYC short break

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my first time to New York and was recommended this hotel from the travel agents. Prior to coming I was put off some of the reviews but I can honestly say there was no need to be. This hotel is perfect for those who want to explore the city. It is in a fantastic location whether your trip is for shopping or exploring the city.
Any requests we had they were dealt with straight away. The staff were so helpful with helping us with our bearings and suggesting places to eat and where to go. If you are looking for a good base in Manhattan this is definitely your hotel. It is not overpriced and the rooms were not bad all.
I am not one for staying at the same hotel twice but I would come back here because it is just a perfect base. One thing I always look at is the customer service and this hotel delivered on that. I would like to make reference to Carlos in Security whose service was fantastic and the concierge team who were always happy to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.