We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #207 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was looking for a hotel that was close to Penn station for a trip to NYC for our granddaughter's 13th birthday and decided on The New Yorker. It could not have been more perfect! When we got out of Penn station we could see the hotel, making it very easy for us. We checked in and they upgraded our room to a suite, which was VERY sweet! We were on the 38th floor with a great view of the city and more room than my son's NYC apartment! We plan on taking each of our granddaughters to NYC for their 13th birthdays and this will be our go to hotel for visits in the city. Thank you to the New Yorker for a wonderful NYC experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,115
    2,861
    952
    272
    150
See reviews for
1322
2055
285
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My family of 4 stayed at this lovely hotel during the Christmas period and we loved it. The hotel has great concierge service and friendly front desk staff. Our rooms were clean and we were happy with it. The hotel is in a great location, close to Penn subway station. It was walking distance to the financial district and lots of shopping places. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel is in a good location and very busy. Rooms could do with updating, particularly the bathrooms.The diner is great for breakfast.
As students live on the lower floors the lobby is busy and security high but it's perfect for a NYC short break

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my first time to New York and was recommended this hotel from the travel agents. Prior to coming I was put off some of the reviews but I can honestly say there was no need to be. This hotel is perfect for those who want to explore the city. It is in a fantastic location whether your trip is for shopping or exploring the city.
Any requests we had they were dealt with straight away. The staff were so helpful with helping us with our bearings and suggesting places to eat and where to go. If you are looking for a good base in Manhattan this is definitely your hotel. It is not overpriced and the rooms were not bad all.
I am not one for staying at the same hotel twice but I would come back here because it is just a perfect base. One thing I always look at is the customer service and this hotel delivered on that. I would like to make reference to Carlos in Security whose service was fantastic and the concierge team who were always happy to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed five nights on 34th floor in a one bedroomed suite - it was huge - with the Empire State Building directly opposite our bedroom and a large balcony off the lounge. Just lovely and so reasonably priced. Excellent location for accessing all the sights and a 24 hour diner plus a smart restaurant on site. I slept on a sofa bed in the lounge and it was amazingly comfortable. Two enormous walk in wardrobes and really well sound proofed, didn't hear any other guests during the entire time. I suppose if I was being really picky I'd say the bathroom was a bit dated but the shower was fine and always hot and towels and toiletries were replenished daily. We were there during the heat wave but the air conditioning was excellent. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I came here with friends for 4 nights and we were aiming to be out a lot (which we were) this was a great place for us as it seemed every cab we got was $10 to and from. Fantastic location and really next door to Madison Sq and we did a lot of walking to other destinations such as the shopping and to the bottom of the Empire State Building.
Rooms are small, but as I said, as a base fine and we had 3 of us to a room with 2 double beds, just enough space for all the shoes and bags.
It was a little run down in the public areas and the rooms- and the bathroom needed up dating, but a refurb is happening at the moment (which will most likely impact what was a VERY reasonably priced hotel). And for the price and location it wasnt in anyway bad!
Hopefully the upgrade going on now will not make this affordable hotel into something more exclusive.
ideal for friend trips, or those wanting to just sleep and dress in the hotel room.
There is a diner next door, which is OKAY - one of the least interesting meals we had, was fine for a hangover boost pre-shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms on the 8th floor of the hotel and thought it was outstanding. From a design perspective, I loved how the light sconces have picked up on the overall art deco and traditional design elements of the hotel. I also liked how the wall sconces and the desk lamp were similar in desig and tied the room together very nicely…Even the design of the drawer pulls on the night stands and dresser worked with the overall design…

I worked for an hour or so at the desk and it is perfect sized and the chair extremely comfortable. The bed was firm, the linens were high-quality and I love the beaded leather headboard. The size of the room was very generous by NYC standards and the stall shower and pedestal in the bathroom were great…I’m less of a TV guy but wow…the room comes complete with a sizable flat screen TV. The bathroom linens were the right combination of soft but absorbent.

Overall, the room, and whole experience at the hotel, was very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#18 Green Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.