We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - good for a base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #229 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location - good for a base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I came here with friends for 4 nights and we were aiming to be out a lot (which we were) this was a great place for us as it seemed every cab we got was $10 to and from. Fantastic location and really next door to Madison Sq and we did a lot of walking to other destinations such as the shopping and to the bottom of the Empire State Building.
Rooms are small, but as I said, as a base fine and we had 3 of us to a room with 2 double beds, just enough space for all the shoes and bags.
It was a little run down in the public areas and the rooms- and the bathroom needed up dating, but a refurb is happening at the moment (which will most likely impact what was a VERY reasonably priced hotel). And for the price and location it wasnt in anyway bad!
Hopefully the upgrade going on now will not make this affordable hotel into something more exclusive.
ideal for friend trips, or those wanting to just sleep and dress in the hotel room.
There is a diner next door, which is OKAY - one of the least interesting meals we had, was fine for a hangover boost pre-shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    2,751
    995
    275
    170
See reviews for
1,513
2,247
332
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms on the 8th floor of the hotel and thought it was outstanding. From a design perspective, I loved how the light sconces have picked up on the overall art deco and traditional design elements of the hotel. I also liked how the wall sconces and the desk lamp were similar in desig and tied the room together very nicely…Even the design of the drawer pulls on the night stands and dresser worked with the overall design…

I worked for an hour or so at the desk and it is perfect sized and the chair extremely comfortable. The bed was firm, the linens were high-quality and I love the beaded leather headboard. The size of the room was very generous by NYC standards and the stall shower and pedestal in the bathroom were great…I’m less of a TV guy but wow…the room comes complete with a sizable flat screen TV. The bathroom linens were the right combination of soft but absorbent.

Overall, the room, and whole experience at the hotel, was very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastopol, ca
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A great rate allowed us to upgrade to the Tower Suite, which is super roomy with a separate livingroom and bedroom, each with its own tv. Stayed a week. What we loved about room 4009....
-Amazing views out all windows.(see pictures)
-Super comfy bed.
-Wonderful housekeeping staff kept it spotless and always greeted us warmly.
-Big bathtub for a soak after a long day.
-Location location... not only for walking, but for getting anywhere in the city. Cross-town bus stops across the street... ACE lines downstairs and 2,3&4 lines a block away.
-Tower suite has a roomy 'fridge with some drinks which were no charge... and they kept the coffee pods coming as we went through 6 or 8 a day!
-Free internet was good.
-Elevator to the 40th floor was amazingly fast and we rarely had to wait more than a minute max.
-Security to the elevator (don't understand why this bothers some... It's NYC... good to know that people on your floor are actually staying there.)
-It was snowing and the heating was GREAT and very quiet.... also loved that the living area and bedroom had separate controls so we could keep the bedroom cool for sleeping while keeping the rest warm.
-Included breakfast on 39th floor was good enough to get you going with good variety and a little protein (cheese).
Disappointments:
-They knew it was a big birthday for hubbie, but acknowledged in no way.
-Unfriendly woman at the breakfast room check-in (but really helpful guy working the room.
-Lost all hot water for several minutes (per other warnings on this site)... it only hapened to us once during the week, but once is too much. It is clearly a problem at the hotel, so fix it already! This is the main reason for 4 instead of 5 stars.

All in, we had an amazing stay at the New Yorker Hotel. It's charming and old-world and the tower suites make you feel like you're at home. We really could have happily stayed a month. Only hope we can return one day.
-

Room Tip: Scaffolding outside of some of the hotel... call ahead to make sure you get a room where there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the New Yorker a few years ago now. This hotel is in a great location! The rooms are very nice and have everything you basically need for your stay. We did not spend very much time in our room at all as we were out every single day sight seeing!! Loved New York and will be staying again hopefully :-))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good hotel and friendly staff. We had 3 rooms between us, all of which differed greatly in size but all did what they were supposed to do- gave us a good nights sleep! The location is the biggest draw being within walking distance of Times Square, etc. and close to the Subway. A great base for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a very good experience at The New Yorker. Upon arrival at 2pm, there was a long line at check in. The line moved very quickly, and we were checked in by a very friendly clerk. We went up to our room on the 23rd floor, and the room was not the smallest we have been in in NYC. it was very nice, clean, comfortable bed, with a view of the river. This is an older hotel, so yes, the bath had some signs of mold in the grout, but the room overall was clean and comfortable.

The location was very convenient, and we walked to many local bars and eateries. We took a cab up to the Theater District upon checkout.

We bid on this hotel, and got it at a very reasonable price. So for the price we paid, it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the New Yorker Friday - Sunday nights, price was pretty good for the city, about $300/night before tax, and parking (after $400ish). We stayed on the top floor in a suite, and where not large, keeping in mind the age of the building ((c)1929), amenities ample, and views were great. Also i will note that if you're in NY, why stay in your room??? Its nothing more than a place to keep your things safe, sleep and enjoy the sunrise right? With so much to do i could have stayed a month! Central location was close to 3 Subway lines (all within 3-4 blocks 5-10mins walking), which was great. The Tick Tock Dinner right off the lobby was great for breakfast, quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Stay high up, views are better, pricier but you only live once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.