We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just This Once... Go for the Tower Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #210 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
sebastopol, ca
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Just This Once... Go for the Tower Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A great rate allowed us to upgrade to the Tower Suite, which is super roomy with a separate livingroom and bedroom, each with its own tv. Stayed a week. What we loved about room 4009....
-Amazing views out all windows.(see pictures)
-Super comfy bed.
-Wonderful housekeeping staff kept it spotless and always greeted us warmly.
-Big bathtub for a soak after a long day.
-Location location... not only for walking, but for getting anywhere in the city. Cross-town bus stops across the street... ACE lines downstairs and 2,3&4 lines a block away.
-Tower suite has a roomy 'fridge with some drinks which were no charge... and they kept the coffee pods coming as we went through 6 or 8 a day!
-Free internet was good.
-Elevator to the 40th floor was amazingly fast and we rarely had to wait more than a minute max.
-Security to the elevator (don't understand why this bothers some... It's NYC... good to know that people on your floor are actually staying there.)
-It was snowing and the heating was GREAT and very quiet.... also loved that the living area and bedroom had separate controls so we could keep the bedroom cool for sleeping while keeping the rest warm.
-Included breakfast on 39th floor was good enough to get you going with good variety and a little protein (cheese).
Disappointments:
-They knew it was a big birthday for hubbie, but acknowledged in no way.
-Unfriendly woman at the breakfast room check-in (but really helpful guy working the room.
-Lost all hot water for several minutes (per other warnings on this site)... it only hapened to us once during the week, but once is too much. It is clearly a problem at the hotel, so fix it already! This is the main reason for 4 instead of 5 stars.

All in, we had an amazing stay at the New Yorker Hotel. It's charming and old-world and the tower suites make you feel like you're at home. We really could have happily stayed a month. Only hope we can return one day.
-

Room Tip: Scaffolding outside of some of the hotel... call ahead to make sure you get a room where there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,826
    2,510
    875
    236
    147
See reviews for
1356
2079
293
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the New Yorker a few years ago now. This hotel is in a great location! The rooms are very nice and have everything you basically need for your stay. We did not spend very much time in our room at all as we were out every single day sight seeing!! Loved New York and will be staying again hopefully :-))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good hotel and friendly staff. We had 3 rooms between us, all of which differed greatly in size but all did what they were supposed to do- gave us a good nights sleep! The location is the biggest draw being within walking distance of Times Square, etc. and close to the Subway. A great base for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a very good experience at The New Yorker. Upon arrival at 2pm, there was a long line at check in. The line moved very quickly, and we were checked in by a very friendly clerk. We went up to our room on the 23rd floor, and the room was not the smallest we have been in in NYC. it was very nice, clean, comfortable bed, with a view of the river. This is an older hotel, so yes, the bath had some signs of mold in the grout, but the room overall was clean and comfortable.

The location was very convenient, and we walked to many local bars and eateries. We took a cab up to the Theater District upon checkout.

We bid on this hotel, and got it at a very reasonable price. So for the price we paid, it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the New Yorker Friday - Sunday nights, price was pretty good for the city, about $300/night before tax, and parking (after $400ish). We stayed on the top floor in a suite, and where not large, keeping in mind the age of the building ((c)1929), amenities ample, and views were great. Also i will note that if you're in NY, why stay in your room??? Its nothing more than a place to keep your things safe, sleep and enjoy the sunrise right? With so much to do i could have stayed a month! Central location was close to 3 Subway lines (all within 3-4 blocks 5-10mins walking), which was great. The Tick Tock Dinner right off the lobby was great for breakfast, quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Stay high up, views are better, pricier but you only live once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Because of the proximity to Madison Square Garden, where we were attending a rock concert, and after reading the reviews for the New Yorker we decided to try it on Valentines Day for an overnight stay. Some of the poor reviews did make us apprehensive but the good were many more than the bad so we decided to give it a try. We are very happy we did. We had a one bedroom suite that included breakfast for two for $261 for the night. In NYC that is quite a bargain. The room was very comfortable and offered amenities that included two flat screen tv's, a Keurig coffee maker that included complimentary k-cups, a refrigerator that contained complimentary bottled water and soda and a magnificent view of the Empire State Building. The staff was professional, accommodating and friendly. Would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom suite and stay on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

For my first time to New York City, I went for 5 nights over new years eve 2013. This hotel was an ideal 3* hotel in a good central location! It's just a couple of minutes from Macy's and also Times Square!

The rooms are quite small but they are comfortable and ideal as your only sleeping in them! With the package we got we got breakfast included in the 24 hour cafe attached to the hotel which was brilliant, because the breakfast options were huge!!!!

If it's your first time in New York I would recommend you to do the 'Hop on, hop off buses' and the water taxi because both will give you a good chance too see all around Manhattan and you can get off for a couple of hours and then pick it back up and carry on the tour as they run a couple of times an hour!

Also if it's a special occasion I would recommend you go to 'The View' at the Marriott because it rotates as your having dinner to give you an amazing view of the city at night! It's not a cheap night out but it's worth the money if it's a special occasion!

Would definitely go to this hotel again if I went back to New York! And I would recommend going over New years is amazing as you can see the famous Ball Drop in Times Square, see it snow and also go shopping when they have all their big sales!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#133 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;