We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great New Years experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #254 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great New Years experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The New Yoker Hotel is an excellent value hotel in the Art Noveau Style. Great location for sight seeing, shopping and the hop on, hop off buses pick up points. All the staff were pleasant and extremely helpful and the breakfast from the 24 hour diner was good.
Our group of 4 spent 5 nights there from 30th Jan to 4th January and had a great time.
The bedrooms are small but clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,220
    3,048
    1,131
    318
    199
See reviews for
1,723
2,466
371
789
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
droitwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed from New Year's Day until 6th jan so were caught up in the bizarre polar vortex , New York was beautiful but cold in the snow , the hotel was always warm and tidy during the weather staff were polite and ready to help , everywhere was spotless and like I said certain staff were so helpfull :) beds were comfy and the maids kept the rooms spotless , quiet good for location and view from our room was amazing I'd stop here again no problem xx

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just returned from our 7 day stay in New York City. Stayed at The New Yorker Hotel , The Hotel is Art deco styled and is in the process of having a refurbishment , The room was a good size for two people as we were out sight seeing most of the time, It was one of the rooms that had been refurbished , We were on the 33rd floor, bathroom had new appliances and re decorated , very clean, nice towels and the bed linen was changed again during our week there. The New Yorker is Ideally situated for all the places to visit ,It's on 34th street and eight Ave. Macy's Store and Empire States Building and Madison Square gardens are all in very close proximity as is Time square. The Hotel has a good restaurant bar and also a diner. The staff were very helpful and friendly. A wonderful Christmas experience .

Room Tip: All rooms are above the eighteenth floor , some traffic noise but it is New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here while on Honeymoon, location could not be better with Hop on Hop off Stop nearby. Also Macys is directly across the street & empire state building is within 5 mins walking distance.
Bcoz we were honeymooners we got a room on 34th floor so great view of the city. Room was basic but clean, staff were friendly. Free wifi in room. The Tick Tock Diner was very good for breakfast. Would definitely stay here again when returning to NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you want a place just to sleep in downtown this hotel is perfect. It's close to the Rockefeller Center and multiple restaurants and stores. But if you mind the room space, the hygiene, and the decoration this would not be a good idea. I stayed there for a weekend and I wasn't so pleased. My room was very small, my view was another room window because I happened to be at their worst spot of the hotel. My bathroom has hair and stains in the bathtoop and there was no fridge or microwave in the room. I paid 376 dollars per night with taxes included which I don't think is a good value for my money even though it was Christmas season. This a very old hotel and I think it needs to be remodeled or redecorated. The staff was outstanding, very friendly and helpful all the time. I loved that they have room service from a restaurant next door that connects with the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at the New Yorker Hotel, downtown Manhattan. Room was what I expected. Average size by NYC standards. Bathroom could use some updating and repair. Horrible shower head, which must be throughout the hotel because my son was in a different room with the same shower head. Leaked and could have taken paint off a surface. Staff was very helpful. Hector, the doorman was great. Front desk was efficient. Lobby is beautiful. Local is key here, terrific for getting around on foot or by subway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the New Yorker. We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is located opposite penn station which is ideal getting the train from Newark airport. Check in was quick and easy and the staff were pleasant. We booked a metro room and was fine for us. Clean modern and comfortable. There was good free wifi and a good heating system in the room. The 2 downsides are there is no hot drink facilities and the bathroom could do with updating. The tick dock diner was excellent for breakfast. Best pancakes I have ever had. The bedroom was quite small but more than adequate for our use. We would recommend the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, Wyndham, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.