We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #254 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

6,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,221
    3,050
    1,131
    318
    200
See reviews for
1,723
2,467
371
790
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The New Yorker was in a great location, was very clean and amenities were good.
I was travelling with my son who got jet lag and I didn't. I was able to use the gym,diner and Cooper's Tavern when he was sleeping, and everything was accessible when he was awake.
The cleanliness of this hotel, excellent security staff and its location made it good value. We arrived at 1.30 am and everyone was kind and attentive.
The room was small but adequate. We were only there for four days and spent most of the time outside the room in a well-appointed hotel so this was not as bad as it first seemed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eight floor looking south and had a view of the Empire State, little noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The bad experience started when we walked in the door, between the terrible service, the tiny rooms, the cramped beds, and the shower that burned and then froze you no matter what setting you chose, but the main event happened on our last night. My colleague and I were getting ready for a dinner reservation, and a voice came over the loudspeaker to our floor and said, "Attention please: we have received an activated device. Remain where you are and await further instruction." This was repeated again, and at that point, we were terrified. An "activated device" sounds a lot like a bomb to me, and apparently to everyone on our floor. We all stuck our heads out of our doors to see what other people were doing, and after realizing that our phones and TVs were cut off and elevators were inoperable (not to mention the sirens that had surrounded the building at this point), most of our floor ran down the stairs to get out. Long story short, the staff wouldn't tell us what had happened when we inquired upon returning later, and they made us all feel stupid and petty, but we decided it must be OK now since the police had left. We were told "that all seems safe...for now." Since it was late, and we were exhausted, we decided to believe them. Then it happened again later in the night as we went to bed -- this time there were fire marshals in the stairwells -- and they were still super rude and uninformative, so we told them we felt unsafe and wanted to leave. We basically had to beg for a refund for the night to cover the cost of a room elsewhere, and the manager fought us every step of the way. I have never felt more unsafe, scared, and mistreated. Bottom line: STAY ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the New Yorker in early November 2013. The hotel was very busy as it was the weekend of the NYC Marathon. I found the property to be very nice. It is not the most modern of hotels, but has loads of charm. The lobby area is wonderful. The hotel staff was very helpful, although I did have minor communication issues with the front desk personnel, who appeared to be mostly non-native english speaking. The room was spacious by NYC standards. Loved the Tick Tock Diner. Will definitely book again, particularly when proximity to Penn Station is a necessity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 4th of July week. Staff were lovely, very helpful!
Special mention to the staff in the adjoining 'Tik Tok Diner,' quick and efficient, and absolutely nothing was a bother!
Would definitely return here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Wyndham, Amex, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.