We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #221 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
B'ham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the New Yorker mainly because of its location, close to Penn Station. We took the train from Newark Airport, so we didn't want to go far from Penn. The location is very good in that sense, however, we found that it was extremely busy all the time around the hotel - yes, I know its New York and it was August, but we had been before and stayed nearer to Central Park where it was much quieter. You had to fight your way through the crowds every time you left The New Yorker.

The lobby of the hotel is magnificient - however, the rooms are pokey, dated and disappointing - have seen better days. The first room we were booked into proved to have a huge wet patch by the bathroom door, so we had to ask to be moved - which the hotel accommodated very quickly.

Whilst wi-fi is free, we never managed to log onto in the room - it just went round and round - except for in the lobby - so a bit of a waste of time saying its free in the rooms. There were enormous queues to book in luggage with the concierge in the mornings and reception was generally slow.

The final straw was when we came back from an evening out to find the toilet wouldn't flush - when we phoned down to reception we were told there was a problem with the water which was switched off till 5am. We had to request that someone brought us bottled water to brush our teeth. There was no apology, but we decided to forget it till the next evening, when we came back to find a note under the door to say that there was no water again till 5 am. This time were were annoyed and, having phoned the numbers on the hotel's letter and had the phone put down on us, we went down to reception.

The long and the short is that, once we were successful in speaking to a manager, we were given a fair hearing and promised a refund of one night's charges, which we did eventually get.

Overall, the rooms were disappointing and the response of the management to the crisis with the water (which affected several hundred people) was slow, unapologetic and unsympathetic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    2,634
    913
    252
    154
See reviews for
1443
2150
311
637
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The first room we were given STUNK like cigarette smoke, after having signed our life away that we wouldn't smoke in the room upon check-in, it was disappointing. We were moved to another room. After having lived in the heart of downtown of a major city, I can say that noise doesn't bother me - but it was INCREDIBLY loud, and we may as well have been sleeping on the street. The bathroom was dreadful. It was circa 1960, with mold in the shower. The bed was hard, and the sheets were very creased, it looked like it had been slept in! The staff were very nice and friendly, but they never remitted a final folio on check-out and we had to chase the hotel for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The employees were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were able to get into our room within 45 minutes. The room we had a great view of the river and the city lights. It was nice being so close to Penn Station and lots of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. I suggest Keens Steakhouse for one. It was perfect weekend for the two of us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. It was very quiet up there also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I came in on a red-eye from California and arrived at the New Yorker at 0730. The desk clerk was extremely helpful - she explained that the hotel had been full the night before and no rooms were available. However, she said she would call me as soon as a room opened up - she called at 1030. We had a very nice corner room with two beds on the 35th floor, with a view of the Empire State Building three blocks away..

We were in the hotel for five days, with a tour group. Evidently the size and quality of rooms varies quite a bit. Rooms with 2 beds are bigger than rooms with one. Some in our group had two beds and two baths, but an alley view and no heat. Others found their room too small and asked - and received - a bigger room. Ask at the desk about your room, and don't be afraid to request another.

Our room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom where mold and mildew is often a problem. Beds and sheets were clean too, and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly.

The hotel has several elevators - one bank for floors 1-20 and another express for 2-40. Waiting and over crowding was rarely an issue. Security guards stand at the elevators and, especially later at night, ask to see room keys to prevent unwanted visitors.

We had one meal at the adjacent Cooper Tavern - salmon, which was very good - and several meals at the adjacent Tick Tock Diner. The Tick Tock is open 24 hours a day. Food is average but it comes quick.

From JFK to Manhattan by taxi is a flat $52. We had to get to Queens, near JFK, and got several rates quoted by cab drivers and by Dial7 car service. The transportation desk at the hotel quoted the highest rate. Ultimately I booked a car from Dial7 for $50.

The New Yorker offers free wifi. You can pay extra for faster broadband but we used the free. The service is good for only 12 hours, so you need to reconnect often. Wifi was fine in the room, but erratic elsewhere in the hotel or at the Tick Tock.

The hotel is on the subway line and across from Penn Station. Macy's and Herald Square is just 2 blocks, Times Square 6 blocks, any number of markets and eateries nearby. DuaneRead is right across the street, open 24 hours, with a small market and pharmacy. We never felt uncomfortable walking at night, at least from 8th Ave to 5th and from 34th Street to 47th. We had a Metro card and used the subway frequently, which we found to be fast, easy and safe. Of course we we not out in the wee hours either.

Give the New Yorker a try - I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask many questions about the room, tell the desk clerk what your preferences are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The New Yorker is a typical New York hotel. Small room, big price. It is very old and we loved the architecture and the history. When walk in, you feel like you are going back in time. It is in a great location if you are there for a conference. You can walk to the Javits Center and Empire State Building. If you like to walk, you can walk to Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.