We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #194 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake George, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The employees were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were able to get into our room within 45 minutes. The room we had a great view of the river and the city lights. It was nice being so close to Penn Station and lots of wonderful restaurants within walking distance. I suggest Keens Steakhouse for one. It was perfect weekend for the two of us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. It was very quiet up there also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,017
    2,700
    871
    253
    140
See reviews for
1236
1935
262
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I came in on a red-eye from California and arrived at the New Yorker at 0730. The desk clerk was extremely helpful - she explained that the hotel had been full the night before and no rooms were available. However, she said she would call me as soon as a room opened up - she called at 1030. We had a very nice corner room with two beds on the 35th floor, with a view of the Empire State Building three blocks away..

We were in the hotel for five days, with a tour group. Evidently the size and quality of rooms varies quite a bit. Rooms with 2 beds are bigger than rooms with one. Some in our group had two beds and two baths, but an alley view and no heat. Others found their room too small and asked - and received - a bigger room. Ask at the desk about your room, and don't be afraid to request another.

Our room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom where mold and mildew is often a problem. Beds and sheets were clean too, and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly.

The hotel has several elevators - one bank for floors 1-20 and another express for 2-40. Waiting and over crowding was rarely an issue. Security guards stand at the elevators and, especially later at night, ask to see room keys to prevent unwanted visitors.

We had one meal at the adjacent Cooper Tavern - salmon, which was very good - and several meals at the adjacent Tick Tock Diner. The Tick Tock is open 24 hours a day. Food is average but it comes quick.

From JFK to Manhattan by taxi is a flat $52. We had to get to Queens, near JFK, and got several rates quoted by cab drivers and by Dial7 car service. The transportation desk at the hotel quoted the highest rate. Ultimately I booked a car from Dial7 for $50.

The New Yorker offers free wifi. You can pay extra for faster broadband but we used the free. The service is good for only 12 hours, so you need to reconnect often. Wifi was fine in the room, but erratic elsewhere in the hotel or at the Tick Tock.

The hotel is on the subway line and across from Penn Station. Macy's and Herald Square is just 2 blocks, Times Square 6 blocks, any number of markets and eateries nearby. DuaneRead is right across the street, open 24 hours, with a small market and pharmacy. We never felt uncomfortable walking at night, at least from 8th Ave to 5th and from 34th Street to 47th. We had a Metro card and used the subway frequently, which we found to be fast, easy and safe. Of course we we not out in the wee hours either.

Give the New Yorker a try - I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask many questions about the room, tell the desk clerk what your preferences are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The New Yorker is a typical New York hotel. Small room, big price. It is very old and we loved the architecture and the history. When walk in, you feel like you are going back in time. It is in a great location if you are there for a conference. You can walk to the Javits Center and Empire State Building. If you like to walk, you can walk to Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the New Yorker in early September. This was our first stay in the city so we were nervous about chosing the right hotel. Once we arrived, and met the hotel staff all our worries went out the door. From the valet, to the front desk, security and housekeeping, all the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. At check-in we were automatically upgraded free of charge, to a room with a view. We didn't even have to ask! It was such a nice, unexpected gesture and we were grateful to have a larger room with a view of the Hudson. We had no issues with the room. It was nicely decorated and very clean.
At the end of our stay when valet returned our car, there were no issues.
We've already booked our next stay at the New Yorker in December and are looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The New Yorker's location is great. It is an old hotel but very clean and the rooms are a nice size and clean as well. The elevators are fast and there is hardly any waiting (12 elevators!). We just needed a view to make it better. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and major attractions. Staff is nice and attentive. Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise get a room above the 20th floor. A/C is central and great (no window un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Also Known As:
New Yorker Hotel
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New Yorker
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New York
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York
Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.