We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #210 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our honeymoon, and we were made to feel like royalty! A great welcome awaited us, and the location made it easy for us to transfer from Newark airport, as its right beside penn station.
Check in was dealt with by Mohammed, who was lovely, and made sure our room was to our liking, with a wee phone call 10 mins after we arrived. Rooms are inspected for cleanliness (faultless) and tea/coffee supplies delivered within 10 mins of request. We were lucky to secure a room with the Empire State view which made it extra special. A really central location, next to Macy's store, and above the fabulous tick tock diner.
Recommend this very highly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,140
    2,898
    964
    278
    154
See reviews for
1351
2078
292
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have mixed reviews about this hotel. The customer service was excellent ! The front desk was very helpful and the housekeeping service was excellent. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The only down fall with the hotel is, it needs updated. For the cost of this hotel, the bathrooms need to be updated. The doors are old and the bathroom had no lock. It took forever to get hot water. I had to let it run about 12 minutes before it got hot. Again, the hotel is very clean and the workers are all friendly and helpful but the cost of the hotel does not justify a four star rating. Although it is an older hotel, it simply needs updated. The location is AWESOME. I believe the money you spend on this hotel is simply for location and nothing more. Its great to have the Tick Tock Dinner attached to the hotel. Prices are affordable and the food was good. I would return to this hotel now that I know what to expect but if I have the chance to go to the Hilton for the same price, I would rather have the Hilton.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 36 floor and it was a corner room. We had the view of the Hudson. It was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great stay last month at the New Yorker hotel. We stay at New Yorker about 5-6 times a year when we there for our business trips. We actually will be staying there again next week. We love the rooms,since they did remodeling , and restaurant. The rooms are nice furnished and very clean.Great location. And the last time we where there we experienced the excelent customer service from Ronny Yagual. It's very important after long day of work to come and see a smily and friendly face, people who understand your needs. We always choose to stay at New Yorker when we plan our business trip because we know that we will get an excellent customer service and accomidations are great as well. We highly recommended to all of our friends and family that hotel when they plan the trip to New York.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here 3 nights at the of July 2013.
Keeping the review short and sweet, it was perfect.
Great location, unbelievable room on 37th floor (we were lucky to be given a corner room, views of both empire state and One World Trade Centre/Hudson). Lovely welcome at check in from Rachael (maybe wrong spelling for name, I remember it was an unusual spelling, sorry if it is!). Spotless room, comfy bed. Perfect base to explore NY.

Thank you for making it a perfect first visit to NY. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hot water was not guaranteed...but the showering facilities were not the worst thing about the room. Our metro room was smaller than a shipping container, and let about as much light in. With two double beds in there, there was just about enough space to walk to the bathroom. The window gave a lovely view of the room opposite, and without straining your neck, we had no idea what the weather was like outside. The room clearly hadn't been redecorated in years, and the paint was peeling off the walls. Other than that, it was alright! Our friends, who got a free upgrade, had an excellent room!

Room Tip: Do not get a room on floor 20 or lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

For starters the check in was smooth we stayed two nights they had our floor scheduled for work on the water plumbing so they left a note in our room saying we HAD TO BATH BEFORE 11:00. Then as a horrible treAt after returning to our room the second day there was absolutely NO WATER. AT ALL they said we had to go to a totally different floor to bathe and had to wait our turn so a bellman knocks on our door at midnight we go to the room to bathe the key doesn't work when we go down to the front desks we get another key open the door and the room is filled with water and hair from the last guest who used it. We get another room bathe and head back to our room. THEY PUT US IN A ROOM THEY KNEW HAD WATER ISSUES. WHO DOES THAT!!!! They should have paid us for all our trouble instead they offered 1/2 a days refund. Not worth all my inconvenience. YOU CAN'T MAKE THIS KIND OF THING UP.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#21 Green Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.