We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The New Yorker Hotel was in a convenient location and the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #219 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The New Yorker Hotel was in a convenient location and the...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The New Yorker Hotel was in a convenient location and the view was great and the bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    2,641
    916
    252
    156
See reviews for
1,447
2,156
312
639
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely art deco style hotel in an excellent location for sightseeing around New York.Located close to Empire State Building and Times Square across from Penn Station.We had a well decorated cosy room with two double beds which were very comfy with nice pillows.Very clean and excellent housekeeping,towels changed/folded and beds made everyday.Nice clean bathroom with bath and shower.Good facilities including gym,giftshop and on-site 24 hour diner.Nice desk staff and doormen,would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at the New Yorker for 3 nights in August 2013 and had a great time thanks to Mohammad who upgraded us to a suite complete with small balcony overlooking the river!
We were only in New York for 3 nights and just over 3 days (on route from Las Vegas) and hadn't done any research on where we wanted to go or sights we wanted to see. We arrived in Newark at 7.00pm and took a taxi into the city. The New York sky line was breath taking! The taxi driver pointed out sights along the way - Brooklyn bridge, Statue of of Liberty, Empire State Building ( on same street as hotel!) and he even pointed out the New Yorker Hotel.
Hotel is Art Deco in design and Mohammad at Reception very kindly upgraded us to a suite which comprised of a large bedroom with 2 queen size beds, tv, walk in wardrobe with safe plus a separate sitting area with fridge and another tv. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom is small and again, in Art Deco style. I thought this added to the charm of the hotel.
The location of hotel was brilliant - same street as Empire State, one block from Times Square where you can pick up all the tour buses, around the corner from Penn Station and Madison Garden plus a McDonalds, Starbucks and supermarket opposite.
The staff and other guests in the hotel were very friendly (all were happy to advise what we should see and do) plus the adjoining Tick Tock cafe was great for a late night drink and snack.
New York is a great place to stay - we all enjoyed our stay there and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Apparently, the View Rooms (on higher floors) as the name suggests comes with great views of the Emp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we look forward to passing on the positive feedback to them! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

From check in to check out we couldn't have asked for more. Perfectly located for all the main attractions of New York, clean rooms with a daily maid check. Mohammed at check in was lovely even giving me a gift for my husband who's birthday it was and upgrading our room for a view of the Empire State Building.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this hotel as it would accommodate our family of 5. We stayed in June for a week and then came back 3 weeks later for another few days. It was like staying in 2 different hotels. The first time we were greeted by a lovely friendly lady on reception who explained everything to us about breakfast vouchers, wi fi and had staff attend to making up the sofa bed right away. We found the room to be a good size and the sofa bed area fine. The 2nd time we found the whole experience very different. The man on reception was less than welcoming. The room, although the same type booked the first time, was a much smaller room which was not really big enough for 5. The breakfast procedure was completely different and we had to ask about it. We waited for over an hour for someone to make up the bed despite the fact that it was already midnight. Our first experience was great but we did not enjoy our 2nd visit. The foyer of the hotel is lovely and the location is a great base for exploring New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

2 blocks from Time square, large bedroom perfect for family , 27 floors, wonderful views,
But very very small bathroom and needed renovation.....
.
Staff very nice and helpful. special thanks to Mohammed at the reception desk and Anthany at the assistance desk.

Restaurant downstairs, very good and open 24/24.

Room Tip: Ask for room south east vue to Empire state and Chrisler at 27 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.