We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at New Yorker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #221 of 453 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

5,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    2,656
    922
    254
    157
See reviews for
1,453
2,168
314
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

From check in to check out we couldn't have asked for more. Perfectly located for all the main attractions of New York, clean rooms with a daily maid check. Mohammed at check in was lovely even giving me a gift for my husband who's birthday it was and upgrading our room for a view of the Empire State Building.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this hotel as it would accommodate our family of 5. We stayed in June for a week and then came back 3 weeks later for another few days. It was like staying in 2 different hotels. The first time we were greeted by a lovely friendly lady on reception who explained everything to us about breakfast vouchers, wi fi and had staff attend to making up the sofa bed right away. We found the room to be a good size and the sofa bed area fine. The 2nd time we found the whole experience very different. The man on reception was less than welcoming. The room, although the same type booked the first time, was a much smaller room which was not really big enough for 5. The breakfast procedure was completely different and we had to ask about it. We waited for over an hour for someone to make up the bed despite the fact that it was already midnight. Our first experience was great but we did not enjoy our 2nd visit. The foyer of the hotel is lovely and the location is a great base for exploring New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

2 blocks from Time square, large bedroom perfect for family , 27 floors, wonderful views,
But very very small bathroom and needed renovation.....
.
Staff very nice and helpful. special thanks to Mohammed at the reception desk and Anthany at the assistance desk.

Restaurant downstairs, very good and open 24/24.

Room Tip: Ask for room south east vue to Empire state and Chrisler at 27 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed there twice. I would stay there again. It has been refurbished since my last visit in 2006. The rooms were nice snd clean. It is located close to Times Square and Madison Square Gardens. Bloomingdales is a walk away. Close to the Fashion District .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had planned a short ish visit and the combination of relatively affodable prices and the central location made this a good choice. The staff are super helpful, the rooms ( in our case we spent a bit more and had one of the 40th floor Tower Suites) were great and the art deco theme throughout the reception, hallways and rooms was just great.
The 24 hour Tick Tock diner has food to sustain you whenever you want, and to be able to get anywhere in Manhattan via the subway, which is literally 50 yards from the hotel entrance, made it a fantastic choice
Highly recommended - it you are thinking about this hotel, then book it. You won't be disappointed

Room Tip: The higher the better - the traffic noise anywhere in Manhattan is a problem from time to time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I was looked after from start to finish! The rooms were immaculate and quite spacious, the bath is amazing as was the view of the empire state building! It dont get much better, the staff were very very helpful and friendly.
Honestly it really is worth staying in :-)
I hope to go back one day and would definitely stay at the new yorker as well as recommend it xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.